-
AuthorPosts
-
November 3, 2009 at 11:03 pm #145729
Hello,
Sorry for my English, I’ll do my best!
I have a few issues with JA Purity. I’m a beginner.
My features:
Joomla! 1.5.14
Ja Purity 1.2.0
C Panel
IE8 and Firefox
My site is now online at proklam.comAs you can see, I hacked the header, following this tutorial: http://docs.joomla.org/Ja_Purity_resize_header
Went well.
1- FIRST ISSUE: header mask to remove
I encountered a problem with the header-mask, when I tried to remove it (I do not want it).First, I followed instructions found here in your forum: http://www.joomlart.com/forums/topic/remove-header-mask/
Sorry, but it did not work! (maybe I did something wrong…) The menu went down the page, everything was “mixed up”.
MY SOLUTION
For now, I simply removed “header-mask.png” from the image file. It works, but the code is not “pure”…all references are still there in the css, index.php, etc…
QUESTION: Would it be better to leave it that way or to remove all references to the mask to avoid errors in the code? If I have to remove all, what is to be removed? :confused:2- SECOND ISSUE: text colour problem with firefox
In Firefox, the text in the left menu is too clear (almost white), so we can only see it if we hover over it. In IE8, it’s OK.
QUESTION: how can I fix it?3- THIRD ISSUE: Content alignment
In IE, some contents (I see it in FAQ, wich is category) are “merging” to the left module.
QUESTION: is it a browser problem? and again…how can I fix it? 🙂4- LAST ISSUE: colour differences even if using same RGB code
Maybe it’s a designer issue…I did a new logo with photoshop, using RGB code for colours, but the grey does appear different even if both are #333333 (site background and logo). Where did I go wrong?I thank you for your support.
regards,
JulieJohn Wesley Brett ModeratorJohn Wesley Brett
- Join date:
- July 2013
- Posts:
- 2142
- Downloads:
- 17
- Uploads:
- 26
- Thanks:
- 175
- Thanked:
- 645 times in 426 posts
November 4, 2009 at 9:47 pm #322585Hi Julie! No problem. I don’t speak Canadian! HAHA!
#1
in template.css – line 961
change the line in RED below to the following:
.ja-headermask {
-moz-background-clip:border;
-moz-background-inline-policy:continuous;
-moz-background-origin:padding;
background:transparent url(../images/header-mask.png) no-repeat scroll right top;
display:none;
height:80px;
position:absolute;
right:-1px;
top:0;
width:602px;
z-index:0
#2in template.css – line 1167
Change to the following in RED:…this will turn it solid black. And you can add the line in GREEN if you REALLY want it black.
#ja-container ul.menu li a {
color:#000000;
text-decoration:none;
text-indent:5px;
font-weight:bold;
}
#3I do not understand. Perhaps more explanation. Thanks.
#4
Make sure both are of the same format (jpg, gif, png) and if a PNG…make sure the transparancies are the same.Have fun! And welcome!
John.1 user says Thank You to John Wesley Brett for this useful post
November 5, 2009 at 8:10 pm #322690Hi John,
I appreciate your answer. Very clear, thank you!
In order:
#1: solved.
#2: I have searched all through the template.css, but did not find those lines. As a proof, your honour, here is a picture of line 1167 in my template.css. (Sure! I’ve looked above and under :D).
[/URL]To make my site “speak French”, I added a .ini file. Is it possible that it moved the lines? Anyway, I scrolled it all, and nothig looks like what you are showing me.
I found something similar in menu.css.
Looks like:/* Default Joomla! Menu */
#ja-container2 ul.menu {
margin: 0;
padding: 1px 0 0;
list-style: none;
background: url(../images/hdot2.gif) repeat-x top;If you don’t speak Canadian, I don’t speak Code 😉 Maybe I just talk nonsense. Or maybe I’m becoming a code genius. Please tell me.
#3: Here is a pic of what I mean:
The Title “FONCTIONNEMENT” is aligned to the left.
And it sometimes does that too:
The content overlaps the footer.
#4: It’s png. I’ll change it for gif. Both logo.png and logo.gif are loaded in image file. Do I have to change only this line (red) in template.css?
h1.logo a {
width: 208px;
display: block;
background: url(../images/logo.png) no-repeat;
height: 200px;
position: relative;
z-index: 100;
}Thanks again!
JulieNovember 6, 2009 at 6:33 pm #322789#4: solved.
<blockquote>#4: It’s png. I’ll change it for gif. Both logo.png and logo.gif are loaded in image file. Do I have to change only this line (red) in template.css?
Code:
h1.logo a {
width: 208px;
display: block;
background: url(../images/logo.png) no-repeat;
height: 200px;
position: relative;
z-index: 100;
}</blockquote>I did change .png for .gif, and it works perfectly both in Firefox and IE8.
John Wesley Brett ModeratorJohn Wesley Brett
- Join date:
- July 2013
- Posts:
- 2142
- Downloads:
- 17
- Uploads:
- 26
- Thanks:
- 175
- Thanked:
- 645 times in 426 posts
November 6, 2009 at 8:45 pm #322802<em>@djouli 151705 wrote:</em><blockquote>
#2: I have searched all through the template.css, but did not find those lines.
</blockquote>Argh! I was working off the DEMO on Joomlart site…which they have just updated to the new version. So let’s see if this looks familiar.
This is the entire left menu code for the default color:
Again…change the items in RED to read something darker if you need…and add the font-weight: bold; if you need it even darker.The First block is the Menu unhovered.
The Second block is the Menu hovered
The Third block is the Menu active.
#ja-container ul.menu li a {
color:#333333;
display:block;
outline-color:-moz-use-text-color;
outline-style:none;
outline-width:medium;
padding:6px 0;
text-decoration:none;
text-indent:5px;
}
#ja-container ul.menu li a:hover, #ja-container ul.menu li a:active, #ja-container ul.menu li a:focus {
-moz-background-clip:border;
-moz-background-inline-policy:continuous;
-moz-background-origin:padding;
background:#F6F6F6 none repeat scroll 0 0;
color:#006699;
}
#ja-container ul.menu li.active a {
color:#006699;
font-weight:bold;
}
This is an optimized template so it’s difficult to say exactly which CSS the code is in but it will be either:
typo.css, template.css, layout.css or addons.cssOptimization is GREAT for speed…but sucks when you are trying to troubleshoot something.
have fun!
John.John Wesley Brett ModeratorJohn Wesley Brett
- Join date:
- July 2013
- Posts:
- 2142
- Downloads:
- 17
- Uploads:
- 26
- Thanks:
- 175
- Thanked:
- 645 times in 426 posts
November 6, 2009 at 8:51 pm #322803<em>@djouli 151705 wrote:</em><blockquote>
#3: Here is a pic of what I mean:
The Title “FONCTIONNEMENT” is aligned to the left.
And it sometimes does that too:
The content overlaps the footer.
Julie,
Do you have a LIVE URL you can share (PM me is you would like). It would be much easier to see what’s going on and to diagnose correctly.In the meantime…please look in the Source Code of the article for Microsoft Crud. Is this from an article you cut and pasted from a Microsoft Document? If so, the Microsoft coding may have gotten in your source code and is gumming up the works.
As for the footer overlap…I’m thinking there is a problem with the <embed></embed> or <object></object> coding in the flash box above the text. Often Flash doesn’t play nice with Joomla without some extra help.
Let me know!
John.November 11, 2009 at 4:43 pm #323290Well… now that you’ve tried to help me very hard with issue #2 (menu colour in firefox), something esoteric happened. Maybe you did repair it with your thought, you’re powerful, man. Because it works perfectly now. 😀 And I did nothing in particular.
Anyway, thanks for that one too.
Sent a MP as requested for live URL. Maybe you could answer here, so we can mark this topic “solved”!
Regards
JulieJohn Wesley Brett ModeratorJohn Wesley Brett
- Join date:
- July 2013
- Posts:
- 2142
- Downloads:
- 17
- Uploads:
- 26
- Thanks:
- 175
- Thanked:
- 645 times in 426 posts
November 11, 2009 at 6:40 pm #323314Terrific! One more down…and one to go.
I’ve PM ed you a comment…as I’m still a little fuzzy on the issue we’re trying to solve.John.
November 12, 2009 at 8:45 pm #323433I finally found an answer here in this forum, about issue #3 : alignment and overlay.
http://www.joomlart.com/forums/showthread.php?p=138452#post138452
It’s an IE8 issue. Solution works perfectly.
All my gratitude to Jbrett, who helped a lot.
All 4 issues solved!
Julie
hanson2545 Friendhanson2545
- Join date:
- December 2009
- Posts:
- 26
- Downloads:
- 115
- Uploads:
- 4
- Thanks:
- 3
- Thanked:
- 5 times in 1 posts
January 27, 2010 at 12:48 am #330514ic….thanks for help
-
AuthorPosts
This topic contains 10 replies, has 3 voices, and was last updated by hanson2545 14 years, 9 months ago.
We moved to new unified forum. Please post all new support queries in our New Forum