Viewing 11 posts - 1 through 11 (of 11 total)
  • Author

I have finished the first stage of my new site using JA-Pollux with Joomla 1.5
    you can see it at http:// chooknet dot com dot au
    i removed the link from here because google found it!

I am new to Joomla so the site features a very basic customisation of the logo and header graphic with a dash of bright color to suit the theme of the site, chooks! ( If you don’t already know, chook is an Australian word for chicken )

Image gallery is Simple Image Gallery Pro
    Classified Ads is AdsManager 2.1.9

TomC Moderator

I admire your integration of the AdsManager component with your site – nicely done.

So you have a system in place so as to realize revenue from either people placing ads and/or from a percentage of the sales price?

studiowest Friend

I havent launched the site yet so I am still deciding about the revenue side .. I think I will have a limit of 3 free text ads at any one time per person, and a fee for extra ads, and a fee for adding a photo.
    There is a local newspaper here which has free text ads and that is my competition, thats the only place for people to sell their chooks at the moment so I have to offer some sort of free ad system similar to theirs.
    I also have to confirm about AdsManager if the ads and their photos are deleted automatically upon expiration of the ad.
    I am also thinking I should launch it nationally with a seperate ads section for each state, with a map of the country on the home page as the entry point to the ads. So I will be working on that over the next week or two.

TomC Moderator

I haven’t been sure whether or not AdsManager allows for fees within the component – so I will be very interested in seeing/hearing if and how you are able to accomplish this.

studiowest Friend