-
AuthorPosts
-
we2solutions Friend
we2solutions
- Join date:
- September 2014
- Posts:
- 526
- Downloads:
- 0
- Uploads:
- 21
- Thanks:
- 136
- Thanked:
- 100 times in 1 posts
December 2, 2011 at 10:33 am #171370pixelzombie Friendpixelzombie
- Join date:
- August 2010
- Posts:
- 339
- Downloads:
- 2
- Uploads:
- 49
- Thanks:
- 32
- Thanked:
- 168 times in 107 posts
December 2, 2011 at 3:53 pm #427587If I get you right, you want the new module position to overlay the slideshow right?
To do this you have to:1. Add the new module position between
<block name="mainnav" type="mainnav" main-inner="2"></block>
<block name="slideshow" main-inner="2">slideshow,sidenews</block>
I choose the module position “test” and it should look like this:
<block name="mainnav" type="mainnav" main-inner="2"></block>
<block name="test">test</block>
<block name="slideshow" main-inner="2">slideshow,sidenews</block>
2. Add & publish a module of your choice to the new position “test”
I think everybody knows how to do this. Take any module you like. Type in the new position “test”
3. Edit your template.css
Now you have to add the css for your new module position. I commented a little bit.
#ja-test {
position: absolute; /* display the container above the slideshow */
z-index: 12; /* move it above the content & menu */
}
#ja-test .main {
position: relative;
}
#ja-test .main-inner1 {
width: auto;
position: absolute;
right: 10px; /* move the module 10px away from the right */
}
The downside is, the module displays over the menu flyouts. To avoid this add / change
#ja-mainnav {
line-height: 1;
position: relative;
z-index: 13;
}
Now the Logo displays under the mainnav. To avoid that add / change
#ja-header {
z-index: 14;
}
4. Hit the Thank you Button 😛
If you want to display the module in another way you have to edit the value right: 10px; @ #ja-test .main-inner1.
Cheers!
Frank-
1 user says Thank You to pixelzombie for this useful post
we2solutions Friendwe2solutions
- Join date:
- September 2014
- Posts:
- 526
- Downloads:
- 0
- Uploads:
- 21
- Thanks:
- 136
- Thanked:
- 100 times in 1 posts
December 3, 2011 at 3:40 pm #427748Thanks lot mate.but there is a issue.when i do that all the module contents only align to left.if i move it using css then browser window width increased with a scrolling.
Any how thank you very much for your help
we2solutions Friendwe2solutions
- Join date:
- September 2014
- Posts:
- 526
- Downloads:
- 0
- Uploads:
- 21
- Thanks:
- 136
- Thanked:
- 100 times in 1 posts
December 3, 2011 at 8:14 pm #427802Any one there to help me for figure this out 😎
TomC ModeratorTomC
- Join date:
- October 2014
- Posts:
- 14077
- Downloads:
- 58
- Uploads:
- 137
- Thanks:
- 948
- Thanked:
- 3155 times in 2495 posts
December 3, 2011 at 10:06 pm #427831I’m not sure why anyone hasn’t provided you with THIS RESOURCE yet.
Introducing Layouts and Blocks
Concepts and ideas behind
- Layouts are the files to hold the HTML generation of your front-end design. They load other files called blocks to perform various functions. By using various styles and positions for these blocks you can create unlimited layouts your users can select and use for best convenience. These layouts are then loaded by the new template index.php file.
- Blocks are files to hold module positions, perform specific script calls and prepare the HTML generation of the content. As you know, the most popular elements: header, footer, left, right, spotlights, pathway, etc. these are now separate files, no longer HTML elements defined in the index.php file.
- The idea is to have a website to use a single template, but having a unique design for your homepage, another custom design for your Blog and another for your forums. In other cases you may want your users to pick the most convenient layout.
- Layouts can be switched in front-end from the UserTools Panel.
- Layouts can be customized in the back-end using the built in editor.
- Layouts and blocks in theme variations or user created themes can override those in the blank core theme.
- Blocks typology:
- blocks as separate files to hold specific module positions: footer, mainnav, middle;
- blocks that are automatically generated according to layout settings: spotlights, left & right, content-mass & column-mass;
- blocks that manage specific functions such as a few user-tools, or the IE6warning that cannot be customized inside the layout configuration;
- blocks that call for dynamically generated content such as: system messages or content component body;
- blocks that call for javascripts and stylesheets
Of course, at this point, you’re not finished yet . . . How Do You Add A New Module Position in Joomla
😎
1 user says Thank You to TomC for this useful post
we2solutions Friendwe2solutions
- Join date:
- September 2014
- Posts:
- 526
- Downloads:
- 0
- Uploads:
- 21
- Thanks:
- 136
- Thanked:
- 100 times in 1 posts
December 4, 2011 at 4:06 am #427850@ TOC
i have normal idea about how to create new module in joomlart templates.but some how here the solution is not working for me.simply what i want to do is add new module before slideshow.it means overlay the slideshow bit and add new module position there.and also see this screen shot
thanks
AuthorPostsViewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)This topic contains 6 replies, has 3 voices, and was last updated by we2solutions 12 years, 11 months ago.
We moved to new unified forum. Please post all new support queries in our New Forum
Jump to forum