-
AuthorPosts
-
March 16, 2009 at 7:47 pm #139203
Hi there,
Very general advice needed and am working from the ‘out of the box’ rutile template, so have left the details blank (hope you don’t mind!) 😀
Instead I figured a picture would describe what I’m trying to do best:
I’m trying to add an extra module in the right nav for advertising – can you advise how you guys would do it? Have been playing with a few options in the css/html, but as you guys have made the template I figured you’d probably be able to show why you’re the experts! 😉
Anonymous ModeratorJA Developer
- Join date:
- September 2014
- Posts:
- 9914
- Downloads:
- 207
- Uploads:
- 152
- Thanks:
- 1789
- Thanked:
- 2008 times in 1700 posts
March 18, 2009 at 4:34 am #296588Hi,
For this case, please open templatesja_rutileindex.php file, at about line 252, find following code;
<jdoc:include type="modules" name="debug" />
and change to:
<?php if($this->countModules('right_right')) : ?>
<!-- BEGIN: right right -->
<div id="ja-right_right">
<jdoc:include type="modules" name="right_right" />
</div>
<!-- END: right right -->
<?php endif; ?>
<jdoc:include type="modules" name="debug" />+ Open template.css file, at about line 498, find following code:
#ja-wrapper {
margin:0 auto;
width:970px;
}and change to:
#ja-wrapper {
float:left;
margin:0 auto;
width:970px;
}– Add following code to the end of file:
#ja-right_right {
float: left;
/*width: 200px;*/ /*You can add a width*/
}+ In Administrator, you can create new module and select right-right position for this module.
March 26, 2009 at 11:36 am #298191Hi there!
If I still want the template to be centered, but still want the extra module NOT to show show this ad to ALL other than users that use a screen resolution at 1024×768 or lower?Is it possible to have the ad showing, but to be sure that it is not showed to those with 1024×768 screen resolution or less?
What if I make a “gap” between the “site” and the Ad at xxx pixles? Could this work?I’m trying to avoid the scroll and to give the best user experience available and I’m also willing to pay to get this! Monetizing the template is important and I guess this extra module (ad position) is a superb idea!
I love this template! :-*
April 13, 2009 at 12:02 am #301054I have done everything mentioned in this post, but the module position “right_right” does not show in “Module Manager”.
Any support available? :-[
we2solutions Friendwe2solutions
- Join date:
- September 2014
- Posts:
- 526
- Downloads:
- 0
- Uploads:
- 21
- Thanks:
- 136
- Thanked:
- 100 times in 1 posts
April 13, 2009 at 1:25 am #301061We also have to add <position>right_right</position> to the templateDetails.xml under <positions>.
ShannonN FriendShannonN
- Join date:
- July 2006
- Posts:
- 1947
- Downloads:
- 0
- Uploads:
- 9
- Thanks:
- 16
- Thanked:
- 172 times in 49 posts
April 13, 2009 at 1:33 am #301063datatrond;124012We also have to add <position>right_right</position> to the templateDetails.xml under <positions>.
All this research has taken a lot of time.
I hope that the Joomlart support may tell us this very basic details so that we don’t have to waste too much time :-* The next time :pthere is virtually no Joomlart support, nearly all who ‘support’ Joomlart templates are in fact unpaid community members just because some have moderator next to their name doesn’t mean they are joomlart employees. and the ‘very basic details you mention are so basic, that any aspiring Joomla user should know them or get off their butt and read about Joomla templates module positions etc it’s all free at Joomla.org in their well wriitten docs? So be nice to the community
The problem with ppl here is they want others to do the reseach on Joomla and provide them with the code to cut and paste or explanations on Joomla, This is a template club not Joomla basic training 101
scotty Friendscotty
- Join date:
- March 2008
- Posts:
- 2339
- Downloads:
- 0
- Uploads:
- 13
- Thanks:
- 76
- Thanked:
- 827 times in 595 posts
April 13, 2009 at 2:17 am #301064datatrond;124012We also have to add <position>right_right</position> to the templateDetails.xml under <positions>.
All this research has taken a lot of time.
I hope that the Joomlart support may tell us this very basic details so that we don’t have to waste too much time :-* :pNo you don’t have to edit the xml file! JA Developers post is correct.
When you have created the new module position in the index.php file and you want to assign a module to that position simply TYPE the new position into the positions selection box. This is not just a dropdown menu. You can also type into it. The XML is really only used for installation and inital setup.
As Shannon said…. it’s not JA’s fault if you don’t know something.
“All this research has taken a lot of time.” – Yep… learning Joomla takes time but you learned something new today. Remember it and learn something new again tomorrow. 🙂 In no time at all you’ll know your way round Joomla like a pro! 😀
-
AuthorPosts
This topic contains 9 replies, has 6 voices, and was last updated by datatrond 15 years, 7 months ago.
We moved to new unified forum. Please post all new support queries in our New Forum