Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Author

I was told to paste google analytics code inside the index.php file of my website (I am sure this file is used to edit all kinds of things, I am a beginner) but when I try to edit this file i get this:

<?php
    if (class_exists(‘T3Template’)) {
    $tmpl = T3Template::getInstance($this);
    $tmpl->render();
    return;
    } else {
    //Need to install or enable JAT3 Plugin
    echo JText::_(‘Missing jat3 framework plugin’);
    }

From this, I understand that the T3 plugin is missing? However, I used the quickstart package installer which I assume installs the T3 framework already? I would really appreciate any help given on this confusing issue. Thanks a lot in advance.

TomC Moderator

Here is the simplest way to add Google or any other analytics/tracking code to this template although there are plugins available on the JED that will aslo do the job if you do not like playing with the code.

Copy the file plugins>system>jat3>jat3>base-themes>default>page>default.php

into

templates>ja_your-template-name>page>default.php and insert your analytics code just before the </head> tag as per below.

<head> <?php //gen head base on theme info $this->showBlock (‘head’); ?> <?php $blocks = T3Common::node_children($this->getBlocksXML (‘head’), ‘block’); foreach ($blocks as $block) : $this->showBlock ($block); endforeach; ?> <?php echo $this->showBlock (‘css’) ?>************YOUR ANALYTICS CODE HERE*************</head>

benmont86 Friend

<em>@TomC 301647 wrote:</em><blockquote>Here is the simplest way to add Google or any other analytics/tracking code to this template although there are plugins available on the JED that will aslo do the job if you do not like playing with the code.

Copy the file plugins>system>jat3>jat3>base-themes>default>page>default.php

into

templates>ja_your-template-name>page>default.php and insert your analytics code just before the </head> tag as per below.</blockquote>