-
AuthorPosts
-
July 23, 2010 at 2:17 am #152771
This is probably something really small that I am missing. How can I change the header text for the main com_content area on the frontpage to something other than Latest Reviews? Thanks.
July 25, 2010 at 7:51 pm #350680I need to figure out how to change the heading “LATEST REVIEWS” too. Does anyone have a answer???
Saguaros ModeratorSaguaros
- Join date:
- September 2014
- Posts:
- 31405
- Downloads:
- 237
- Uploads:
- 471
- Thanks:
- 845
- Thanked:
- 5346 times in 4964 posts
July 26, 2010 at 10:30 am #350723Hello all!
Pls let me know: Where do i find this text on your site, because i tried to find this one on demo, i could not find 🙁
Thanks
July 26, 2010 at 11:12 am #350729When you look at the frontpage of the ja anion demo, it is the main content section in the middle. Going from top to bottom, there is the large rotating image slider, the editor pick below that that has 3 horizontal images and then below that there is the main content section that starts with an article about Avatar. That main section is titled “Latest Reviews”
reedmachines Friendreedmachines
- Join date:
- December 2009
- Posts:
- 30
- Downloads:
- 0
- Uploads:
- 0
- Thanks:
- 2
- Thanked:
- 1 times in 1 posts
July 27, 2010 at 7:21 am #350838I have the same question, the text “latest reviews” is, I think, only in the quickstart version. Looks like a module title.
Saguaros ModeratorSaguaros
- Join date:
- September 2014
- Posts:
- 31405
- Downloads:
- 237
- Uploads:
- 471
- Thanks:
- 845
- Thanked:
- 5346 times in 4964 posts
July 27, 2010 at 8:16 am #350856Thanks you, i found this, here is code rending this text which you can find in the templates/ja_anion/html/com_content/frontpage/default.php file:
[PHP]
<?php if ($this->params->get(‘show_page_title’,1)) : ?><h1 class=”componentheading<?php echo $this->escape($this->params->get(‘pageclass_sfx’)); ?>”>
<span><span><?php echo JText::_(‘HOME_PAGE_TITLE’) ?></span></span>
</h1>
<?php endif; ?>
[/PHP]pls translate this text in the language/en-GB/en-GB.tpl_ja_anion.ini file , if you would like to disable this you choose “NO” for the Page Title” parameter of the module
Thanks
reedmachines Friendreedmachines
- Join date:
- December 2009
- Posts:
- 30
- Downloads:
- 0
- Uploads:
- 0
- Thanks:
- 2
- Thanked:
- 1 times in 1 posts
July 27, 2010 at 8:38 am #350867I used the en-GB.ini file. There is no tpl_ja_anion.ini file in my language folder!
In the en-GB file you find HOME_PAGE_TITLE=Latest Reviews on line 246reedmachines Friendreedmachines
- Join date:
- December 2009
- Posts:
- 30
- Downloads:
- 0
- Uploads:
- 0
- Thanks:
- 2
- Thanked:
- 1 times in 1 posts
July 27, 2010 at 8:53 am #350874what module is this?
Saguaros ModeratorSaguaros
- Join date:
- September 2014
- Posts:
- 31405
- Downloads:
- 237
- Uploads:
- 471
- Thanks:
- 845
- Thanked:
- 5346 times in 4964 posts
July 28, 2010 at 9:50 am #351034Hello
This is a override title for front-page layout,
you can translate[PHP]
<span><span><?php echo JText::_(‘HOME_PAGE_TITLE’) ?></span></span>[/PHP]
=>
[PHP]<span><span>MY TEXT</span></span>
[/PHP]treybraid Friendtreybraid
- Join date:
- May 2008
- Posts:
- 302
- Downloads:
- 0
- Uploads:
- 23
- Thanks:
- 43
- Thanked:
- 14 times in 1 posts
August 16, 2010 at 3:13 pm #352835Why in the world would you go and hard-code something like this in the template… makes no sense really…. I am glad I found this thread to resolve my issue… I just deleted the content which I’ve highlighted in green and that took care of the issue…
<?php if ($this->params->get(‘show_page_title’,1)) : ?>
<h1 class=”componentheading<?php echo $this->escape($this->params->get(‘pageclass_sfx’)); ?>”>
<span><span><?php echo JText::_(‘HOME_PAGE_TITLE’) ?></span></span>
</h1>
<?php endif; ?>
Trey
2 users say Thank You to treybraid for this useful post
smitheringale Friendsmitheringale
- Join date:
- December 2009
- Posts:
- 236
- Downloads:
- 0
- Uploads:
- 0
- Thanks:
- 63
- Thanked:
- 44 times in 18 posts
August 16, 2010 at 3:39 pm #352841I can give you a reason.
Lets say that you want your page title to be “City of La Grange Website – Americas Greatest Little City” and you want the text in the bit of anion to say “Latest Reviews” or simply “City of La Grange” – in that case this seems to work.
I’ve found with other Joomla templates you can either have a good title of the page and not have it displayed on the home page, or have it displayed on the home page but the title has to be really short and not ideal.
I think this is a very nice idea. I don’t know if it was the intention – but it works the way I want it. And to be honest it only takes a second to change it in the server control panel – but I agree, there should be some easier way of changing it through the admin panel if possible.
<em>@treybraid 190510 wrote:</em><blockquote>Why in the world would you go and hard-code something like this in the template… makes no sense really…. I am glad I found this thread to resolve my issue… I just deleted the content which I’ve highlighted in green and that took care of the issue…
<?php if ($this->params->get(‘show_page_title’,1)) : ?>
<h1 class=”componentheading<?php echo $this->escape($this->params->get(‘pageclass_sfx’)); ?>”>
<span><span><?php echo JText::_(‘HOME_PAGE_TITLE’) ?></span></span>
</h1>
<?php endif; ?>
Trey</blockquote>
1 user says Thank You to smitheringale for this useful post
smitheringale Friendsmitheringale
- Join date:
- December 2009
- Posts:
- 236
- Downloads:
- 0
- Uploads:
- 0
- Thanks:
- 63
- Thanked:
- 44 times in 18 posts
August 16, 2010 at 3:40 pm #352842trey, you can also put whatever you want between the spans, see in bold in your quote in this post
<em>@treybraid 190510 wrote:</em><blockquote>Why in the world would you go and hard-code something like this in the template… makes no sense really…. I am glad I found this thread to resolve my issue… I just deleted the content which I’ve highlighted in green and that took care of the issue…
<?php if ($this->params->get(‘show_page_title’,1)) : ?>
<h1 class=”componentheading<?php echo $this->escape($this->params->get(‘pageclass_sfx’)); ?>”>
<span><span>THIS IS THE TEXT I WANT TO DISPLAY INSTEAD OF LATEST REVIEWS</span></span>
</h1>
<?php endif; ?>
Trey</blockquote>
2 users say Thank You to smitheringale for this useful post
treybraid Friendtreybraid
- Join date:
- May 2008
- Posts:
- 302
- Downloads:
- 0
- Uploads:
- 23
- Thanks:
- 43
- Thanked:
- 14 times in 1 posts
August 16, 2010 at 3:57 pm #352844smitheringale– you’ve got a good point…
thankstrey
August 20, 2010 at 10:58 pm #353291I find whoever design this template should make things easier, that is, disabling a module should not display it…going into the code is a HEADACHE!!! especially, those of us who don’t code well.
For instance…I SHOULD NOT have to dig in the code to remove “Latest Reviews” and I SHOULDN’T have to dig in the code to remove the “You are here:” either…these should all be done in the Modules manager.
I hope it will be redesign, and the newer templates should follow the same design…no one should have to mess with the codes….August 21, 2010 at 3:13 am #353301<em>@smitheringale 190517 wrote:</em><blockquote>I can give you a reason.
Lets say that you want your page title to be “City of La Grange Website – Americas Greatest Little City” and you want the text in the bit of anion to say “Latest Reviews” or simply “City of La Grange” – in that case this seems to work.
I’ve found with other Joomla templates you can either have a good title of the page and not have it displayed on the home page, or have it displayed on the home page but the title has to be really short and not ideal.
I think this is a very nice idea. I don’t know if it was the intention – but it works the way I want it. And to be honest it only takes a second to change it in the server control panel – but I agree, there should be some easier way of changing it through the admin panel if possible.</blockquote>
I completely disagree…that’s what parameters are for…no one should EVER have to go into the code if it’s just a simple change in the template as displaying it or not…if you’re making complex changes, I can see that you might have to go into the code, but everything else is but a placement of modules & displaying it or not; it’s ridiculous that I have to find the file & modify the code… this Latest Reviews & the breadcrumbs at the bottom… should be simple…display or NOT…gives me a HEADACHE that I have to find the code, delete & all that stuff….as of now, I still can’t get rid of “You are here:” at the bottom….disabling it doesn’t work…now I have to dig!!!! WASTE of TIME & NOT good planning or design at all…the whole purpose of Joomla to be simple…& the structure should be consistent…templates change—I get that…but the backbone shouldn’t—simple on/off or fill in the parameters should be enough!!!>:(
-
AuthorPosts
This topic contains 18 replies, has 10 voices, and was last updated by cybernun 14 years, 1 month ago.
We moved to new unified forum. Please post all new support queries in our New Forum