-
AuthorPosts
-
jkriordan Friend
jkriordan
- Join date:
- June 2012
- Posts:
- 59
- Downloads:
- 0
- Uploads:
- 8
- Thanks:
- 8
- Thanked:
- 1 times in 1 posts
November 23, 2012 at 11:32 pm #182542A few characters are not displaying correctly in JA Wall, such as ellipsis, quotes, apostrophes–and tildes in Spanish text. The problem is particularly bad in photo captions. I think perhaps installing a Spanish language pack will solve some of this problem. But it’s common in English too. See attachments.
On checking my server error logs, I see a number of errors to do with UTF-8. Could this be part of the problem? Any suggestions on fixing these problems?
- Ninja Lead Moderator
Ninja Lead
- Join date:
- November 2014
- Posts:
- 16064
- Downloads:
- 310
- Uploads:
- 2864
- Thanks:
- 341
- Thanked:
- 3854 times in 3563 posts
November 24, 2012 at 7:55 am #474098I would need to take a closer look at your site. Please include your site URL here for further investigation. I will help you check it
jkriordan Friendjkriordan
- Join date:
- June 2012
- Posts:
- 59
- Downloads:
- 0
- Uploads:
- 8
- Thanks:
- 8
- Thanked:
- 1 times in 1 posts
November 27, 2012 at 6:52 pm #474412The problem occurs in captions and headlines, not in the body of articles. Here’s an example of an apostrophe that’s screwed up in a headline:
http://pilgrimpeople.com/index.php/facebook/22156-facebook-id-3f9975c31044eaf6527e90fbfb374fe4
It seems to be more prevalent in Facebooks, but it happens in blogs too. Here’s an example of a caption where the quote marks are messed up. Look for the article in the center column entitled “Those people” Gazans are not human.
Ninja Lead ModeratorNinja Lead
- Join date:
- November 2014
- Posts:
- 16064
- Downloads:
- 310
- Uploads:
- 2864
- Thanks:
- 341
- Thanked:
- 3854 times in 3563 posts
November 28, 2012 at 8:55 am #474504You can fix the problem with my suggestion as follows:
<blockquote>Open templates/ja_wall/html/com_content/article/default.php file</blockquote>
from
<?php echo $this->escape($this->item->title); ?>
change to
<?php echo html_entity_decode($this->escape($this->item->title)); ?>
jkriordan Friendjkriordan
- Join date:
- June 2012
- Posts:
- 59
- Downloads:
- 0
- Uploads:
- 8
- Thanks:
- 8
- Thanked:
- 1 times in 1 posts
November 30, 2012 at 4:21 pm #474838It didn’t work. The bad characters still display in the introtext, and when I try to open the article, I get a white screen.
The snippet of code appears twice in default.php. I changed both. Any suggestions?
Ninja Lead ModeratorNinja Lead
- Join date:
- November 2014
- Posts:
- 16064
- Downloads:
- 310
- Uploads:
- 2864
- Thanks:
- 341
- Thanked:
- 3854 times in 3563 posts
December 3, 2012 at 4:52 am #474979<em>@jkriordan 348688 wrote:</em><blockquote>It didn’t work. The bad characters still display in the introtext, and when I try to open the article, I get a white screen.
The snippet of code appears twice in default.php. I changed both. Any suggestions?</blockquote>
Please send pm me with url, admin access and ftp account. I will help you out of
Ninja Lead ModeratorNinja Lead
- Join date:
- November 2014
- Posts:
- 16064
- Downloads:
- 310
- Uploads:
- 2864
- Thanks:
- 341
- Thanked:
- 3854 times in 3563 posts
December 4, 2012 at 11:14 am #475154This issue occured with content retrieved from another site, pls download new version JA Social Feed plugin here: http://www.joomlart.com/forums/downloads.php?do=cat&id=20454, we fixed this problem with this new version.
With old existing content, please try to ocheck it manually.
For example, with this article The Deacon’s Bench
Example:
<blockquote>Go to admin > Article > and find “The Deacon’s Bench”</blockquote>
from
<blockquote>The Deacon’s Bench</blockquote>
change
<blockquote>The Deacon’s Bench</blockquote>Save and clear cache
jkriordan Friendjkriordan
- Join date:
- June 2012
- Posts:
- 59
- Downloads:
- 0
- Uploads:
- 8
- Thanks:
- 8
- Thanked:
- 1 times in 1 posts
December 7, 2012 at 12:59 am #475396But I’m using JA Social Feed v. 1.0.5. I’ve been using it since October. :((
Ninja Lead ModeratorNinja Lead
- Join date:
- November 2014
- Posts:
- 16064
- Downloads:
- 310
- Uploads:
- 2864
- Thanks:
- 341
- Thanked:
- 3854 times in 3563 posts
December 7, 2012 at 8:53 am #475429I just updated new version from our dev version for your site. You can re-check it.
<blockquote>Admin site->Extensions->Plug-in Manager->JA System Social Feed plugin</blockquote>
All special characters (supported UTF-8) are supported on your site.
Ninja Lead ModeratorNinja Lead
- Join date:
- November 2014
- Posts:
- 16064
- Downloads:
- 310
- Uploads:
- 2864
- Thanks:
- 341
- Thanked:
- 3854 times in 3563 posts
December 8, 2012 at 11:03 am #475547With the article posted before, i found this solution to fix it.
<blockquote>templates/ja_wall/html/com_content/article/default.php</blockquote>
from
<?php if ($params->get('link_titles') && !empty($this->item->readmore_link)) : ?>
<a href="<?php echo $this->item->readmore_link; ?>">
<?php echo $this->escape($this->item->title); ?></a>
<?php else : ?>
<?php echo $this->escape($this->item->title); ?>
<?php endif; ?>
change to
<?php if ($params->get('link_titles') && !empty($this->item->readmore_link)) : ?>
<a href="<?php echo $this->item->readmore_link; ?>">
<?php echo html_entity_decode($this->escape($this->item->title)); ?></a>
<?php else : ?>
<?php echo html_entity_decode($this->escape($this->item->title)); ?>
<?php endif; ?>
I applied this fix on your site.Please check it on the link: http://www.pilgrimpeople.com/index.php/facebook/33042-facebook-id-bc7cb82a9fb26b10c1f3c80c84a3d27e
AuthorPostsViewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 10 total)This topic contains 10 replies, has 2 voices, and was last updated by Ninja Lead 12 years ago.
We moved to new unified forum. Please post all new support queries in our New Forum
Jump to forum