-
AuthorPosts
-
jkriordan Friend
jkriordan
- Join date:
- June 2012
- Posts:
- 59
- Downloads:
- 0
- Uploads:
- 8
- Thanks:
- 8
- Thanked:
- 1 times in 1 posts
November 23, 2012 at 11:32 pm #182542A few characters are not displaying correctly in JA Wall, such as ellipsis, quotes, apostrophes–and tildes in Spanish text. The problem is particularly bad in photo captions. I think perhaps installing a Spanish language pack will solve some of this problem. But it’s common in English too. See attachments.
On checking my server error logs, I see a number of errors to do with UTF-8. Could this be part of the problem? Any suggestions on fixing these problems?
- Ninja Lead Moderator
Ninja Lead
- Join date:
- November 2014
- Posts:
- 16064
- Downloads:
- 310
- Uploads:
- 2864
- Thanks:
- 341
- Thanked:
- 3854 times in 3563 posts
November 24, 2012 at 7:55 am #474098I would need to take a closer look at your site. Please include your site URL here for further investigation. I will help you check it
jkriordan Friendjkriordan
- Join date:
- June 2012
- Posts:
- 59
- Downloads:
- 0
- Uploads:
- 8
- Thanks:
- 8
- Thanked:
- 1 times in 1 posts
November 27, 2012 at 6:52 pm #474412The problem occurs in captions and headlines, not in the body of articles. Here’s an example of an apostrophe that’s screwed up in a headline:
http://pilgrimpeople.com/index.php/facebook/22156-facebook-id-3f9975c31044eaf6527e90fbfb374fe4
It seems to be more prevalent in Facebooks, but it happens in blogs too. Here’s an example of a caption where the quote marks are messed up. Look for the article in the center column entitled “Those people” Gazans are not human.
Ninja Lead ModeratorNinja Lead
- Join date:
- November 2014
- Posts:
- 16064
- Downloads:
- 310
- Uploads:
- 2864
- Thanks:
- 341
- Thanked:
- 3854 times in 3563 posts
November 28, 2012 at 8:55 am #474504You can fix the problem with my suggestion as follows:
<blockquote>Open templates/ja_wall/html/com_content/article/default.php file</blockquote>
from
<?php echo $this->escape($this->item->title); ?>
change to
<?php echo html_entity_decode($this->escape($this->item->title)); ?>
jkriordan Friendjkriordan
- Join date:
- June 2012
- Posts:
- 59
- Downloads:
- 0
- Uploads:
- 8
- Thanks:
- 8
- Thanked:
- 1 times in 1 posts
November 30, 2012 at 4:21 pm #474838It didn’t work. The bad characters still display in the introtext, and when I try to open the article, I get a white screen.
The snippet of code appears twice in default.php. I changed both. Any suggestions?
Ninja Lead ModeratorNinja Lead
- Join date:
- November 2014
- Posts:
- 16064
- Downloads:
- 310
- Uploads:
- 2864
- Thanks:
- 341
- Thanked:
- 3854 times in 3563 posts
December 3, 2012 at 4:52 am #474979<em>@jkriordan 348688 wrote:</em><blockquote>It didn’t work. The bad characters still display in the introtext, and when I try to open the article, I get a white screen.
The snippet of code appears twice in default.php. I changed both. Any suggestions?</blockquote>
Please send pm me with url, admin access and ftp account. I will help you out of
Ninja Lead ModeratorNinja Lead
- Join date:
- November 2014
- Posts:
- 16064
- Downloads:
- 310
- Uploads:
- 2864
- Thanks:
- 341
- Thanked:
- 3854 times in 3563 posts
December 4, 2012 at 11:14 am #475154This issue occured with content retrieved from another site, pls download new version JA Social Feed plugin here: http://www.joomlart.com/forums/downloads.php?do=cat&id=20454, we fixed this problem with this new version.
With old existing content, please try to ocheck it manually.
For example, with this article The Deacon’s Bench
Example:
<blockquote>Go to admin > Article > and find “The Deacon’s Bench”</blockquote>
from
<blockquote>The Deacon’s Bench</blockquote>
change
<blockquote>The Deacon’s Bench</blockquote>Save and clear cache
jkriordan Friendjkriordan
- Join date:
- June 2012
- Posts:
- 59
- Downloads:
- 0
- Uploads:
- 8
- Thanks:
- 8
- Thanked:
- 1 times in 1 posts
December 7, 2012 at 12:59 am #475396But I’m using JA Social Feed v. 1.0.5. I’ve been using it since October. :((
Ninja Lead ModeratorNinja Lead
- Join date:
- November 2014
- Posts:
- 16064
- Downloads:
- 310
- Uploads:
- 2864
- Thanks:
- 341
- Thanked:
- 3854 times in 3563 posts
December 7, 2012 at 8:53 am #475429I just updated new version from our dev version for your site. You can re-check it.
<blockquote>Admin site->Extensions->Plug-in Manager->JA System Social Feed plugin</blockquote>
All special characters (supported UTF-8) are supported on your site.
Ninja Lead ModeratorNinja Lead
- Join date:
- November 2014
- Posts:
- 16064
- Downloads:
- 310
- Uploads:
- 2864
- Thanks:
- 341
- Thanked:
- 3854 times in 3563 posts
December 8, 2012 at 11:03 am #475547With the article posted before, i found this solution to fix it.
<blockquote>templates/ja_wall/html/com_content/article/default.php</blockquote>
from
<?php if ($params->get('link_titles') && !empty($this->item->readmore_link)) : ?>
<a href="<?php echo $this->item->readmore_link; ?>">
<?php echo $this->escape($this->item->title); ?></a>
<?php else : ?>
<?php echo $this->escape($this->item->title); ?>
<?php endif; ?>
change to
<?php if ($params->get('link_titles') && !empty($this->item->readmore_link)) : ?>
<a href="<?php echo $this->item->readmore_link; ?>">
<?php echo html_entity_decode($this->escape($this->item->title)); ?></a>
<?php else : ?>
<?php echo html_entity_decode($this->escape($this->item->title)); ?>
<?php endif; ?>
I applied this fix on your site.Please check it on the link: http://www.pilgrimpeople.com/index.php/facebook/33042-facebook-id-bc7cb82a9fb26b10c1f3c80c84a3d27e
AuthorPostsViewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 10 total)This topic contains 10 replies, has 2 voices, and was last updated by Ninja Lead 11 years, 11 months ago.
We moved to new unified forum. Please post all new support queries in our New Forum
Jump to forum