-
AuthorPosts
-
synapsis Friend
synapsis
- Join date:
- April 2007
- Posts:
- 234
- Downloads:
- 18
- Uploads:
- 28
- Thanks:
- 58
- Thanked:
- 19 times in 1 posts
March 3, 2013 at 7:03 am #185454I want to create a new module position in the header of my JA Mero template.
IF I were using the right column, I would have just used the Search position, but since I’m not using the right column, the search position isn’t an option.
What I need is a module position to the right of the logo, and to the left of where the Search module WOULD have been.
I’ve attached a diagram so you can see EXACTLY what I’m referring to:
So far, I am only able to get the module to appear on a second row below the logo row, pushing the Side News modules down, but not sharing the same row as the logo.
On the mobile layout, I want this new module to appear directly beneath the logo, centered, and above the first of the JA Side News modules.
I’ve tried several things, but none seem to get it on the same row as the logo.
I’ve already tried what’s outlined in this related thread here: http://www.joomlart.com/forums/topic/trying-to-create-a-new-module-position-next-to-logo/ — but I wonder if that’s not working because of the responsive nature of JA Mero?
I’ve included admin and FTP access to the staff, so if you think you can get it to appear on the same row as the logo, as in my diagram, then please go for it. Just please reply here with what you did, so that I can learn from you.
My sincere appreciation to anyone who can help.
Thanks!
Ninja Lead ModeratorNinja Lead
- Join date:
- November 2014
- Posts:
- 16064
- Downloads:
- 310
- Uploads:
- 2864
- Thanks:
- 341
- Thanked:
- 3854 times in 3563 posts
March 4, 2013 at 10:44 am #485247You can do that on this way
Open templates/ja_mero/tpls/blocks/header.php file
from
<!-- LOGO -->
<div class="span8">
<div class="logo logo-<?php echo $logotype ?>">
<h1>
<a href="<?php echo JURI::base(true) ?>" title="<?php echo strip_tags($sitename) ?>"<?php echo $logoimage ?>>
<span><?php echo $sitename ?></span>
</a>
<small class="site-slogan hidden-phone"><?php echo $slogan ?></small>
</h1>
</div>
</div>
<!-- //LOGO -->
change to
<!-- LOGO -->
<div class="span8">
<div class="logo logo-<?php echo $logotype ?>">
<h1>
<a href="<?php echo JURI::base(true) ?>" title="<?php echo strip_tags($sitename) ?>"<?php echo $logoimage ?>>
<span><?php echo $sitename ?></span>
</a>
<small class="site-slogan hidden-phone"><?php echo $slogan ?></small>
</h1>
</div>
</div>
<!-- //LOGO -->
<div class="span4">
<?php if ($this->countModules('add_new_position')) : ?>
<jdoc:include type="modules" name="<?php $this->_p('add_new_position') ?>" style="T3Xhtml" />
<?php endif ?>
</div>
1 user says Thank You to Ninja Lead for this useful post
synapsis Friendsynapsis
- Join date:
- April 2007
- Posts:
- 234
- Downloads:
- 18
- Uploads:
- 28
- Thanks:
- 58
- Thanked:
- 19 times in 1 posts
March 5, 2013 at 2:14 am #485337Bump… really need some eyes on this, please. Thanks.
synapsis Friendsynapsis
- Join date:
- April 2007
- Posts:
- 234
- Downloads:
- 18
- Uploads:
- 28
- Thanks:
- 58
- Thanked:
- 19 times in 1 posts
March 5, 2013 at 10:18 pm #485473Well that gets the image I’m trying to place using a custom html module on the same row as the logo. But it’s sizing the image I’m placing there via customHTML module to make it fit in the number of columns (span4). Since I’m not using the right column, the responsive columns are sized a bit different than in the default template. So, if I change your span4 to span6 and change the logo div’s span8 to span6, that gets a much closer to what I wanted, and still looks great on the mobile.
Thanks so much @ninja Lead. Much appreciated. This responsive layout stuff is fun but tricky at times. Appreciate you pointing me in the right direction.
1 user says Thank You to synapsis for this useful post
AuthorPostsViewing 4 posts - 1 through 4 (of 4 total)This topic contains 4 replies, has 2 voices, and was last updated by synapsis 11 years, 8 months ago.
We moved to new unified forum. Please post all new support queries in our New Forum
Create new module position in header to right of logo, but left of the right column
Viewing 4 posts - 1 through 4 (of 4 total)