-
AuthorPosts
-
Menalto Friend
Menalto
- Join date:
- May 2007
- Posts:
- 4736
- Downloads:
- 0
- Uploads:
- 43
- Thanks:
- 2
- Thanked:
- 531 times in 361 posts
November 23, 2010 at 8:36 pm #363964That would be how they want the end result to be regarding the images. But you can ofcourse change that easy yourself. Example for the #ja-content div you can remove the top,center and bottom image and use this here instead and get almost the same result:
-moz-box-shadow:0 0 6px #888;
background:#fff;Note that you might need to lower the width on the ja-content or ja-mainbody div a little bit to give some space between left and content and right and content.
1 user says Thank You to Menalto for this useful post
Phill ModeratorPhill
- Join date:
- February 2014
- Posts:
- 7013
- Downloads:
- 40
- Uploads:
- 77
- Thanks:
- 917
- Thanked:
- 2206 times in 1818 posts
November 23, 2010 at 8:43 pm #363967That would work well in all but IE6/7/8. IE 9 it should be OK.
TomC ModeratorTomC
- Join date:
- October 2014
- Posts:
- 14077
- Downloads:
- 58
- Uploads:
- 137
- Thanks:
- 948
- Thanked:
- 3155 times in 2495 posts
November 23, 2010 at 9:07 pm #363971<em>@phill luckhurst 204960 wrote:</em><blockquote>That would work well in all but IE6/7/8. IE 9 it should be OK.</blockquote>
Aww man, what the hell is Microsoft’s problem ??? Why do they insist on maintaining IE as such a relatively inferior browser? Let’s face it, people are pretty slow to upgrade from that which they’re used to – especially older generations.When the heck is IE 9 supposed to be released?
Phill ModeratorPhill
- Join date:
- February 2014
- Posts:
- 7013
- Downloads:
- 40
- Uploads:
- 77
- Thanks:
- 917
- Thanked:
- 2206 times in 1818 posts
November 23, 2010 at 9:14 pm #363973IE9 will be done when it is done. I tried the beta but it had too many bugs still. That was a couple of months ago so I am sure many are gone. WHat is more annoying is that M$ still are not supporting all of the things the others browsers do.
Menalto FriendMenalto
- Join date:
- May 2007
- Posts:
- 4736
- Downloads:
- 0
- Uploads:
- 43
- Thanks:
- 2
- Thanked:
- 531 times in 361 posts
November 23, 2010 at 9:48 pm #363975-moz-box-shadow: 0 0 6px #888;
-webkit-box-shadow: 0 0 6px #888;
box-shadow: 0 0 6px #888;There you have for the most up to date browsers, instead of remove the images totaly,just copy the code that have the images and add to the IE css files and you are covered.
1 user says Thank You to Menalto for this useful post
TomC ModeratorTomC
- Join date:
- October 2014
- Posts:
- 14077
- Downloads:
- 58
- Uploads:
- 137
- Thanks:
- 948
- Thanked:
- 3155 times in 2495 posts
November 23, 2010 at 9:56 pm #363976So, just so I understand correctly . . . .
Use the code you provided above in the template.css file for the non IE browsers, and then add the image-calling code blocks for the style into the ie.css file – correct? I will still have to modify the images for it to work as I want it to in IE, yes?
Css Magician FriendCss Magician
- Join date:
- October 2014
- Posts:
- 741
- Downloads:
- 43
- Uploads:
- 53
- Thanks:
- 114
- Thanked:
- 366 times in 263 posts
November 24, 2010 at 9:51 am #364092Dear tcraw1010,
Open templatesja_rutileindex.php edit from line 159 to 192 as follow:
<div id="ja-content">
<div id="ja-content-br">
<div id="ja-content-bl">
<div id="ja-content-tr">
<div id="ja-content-tl">
<div class="ja-innerpad clearfix"><jdoc:include type="message" />
<div id="ja-current-content" class="clearfix">
<?php if(!$tmpTools->isFrontPage()) : ?>
<div id="ja-pathway">
<jdoc:include type="module" name="breadcrumbs" />
</div>
<jdoc:include type="component" />
<?php endif; ?><!-- BEGIN: JAZIN -->
<div id="jazin-fp" class="clearfix">
<jdoc:include type="modules" name="ja-news" style="raw" />
</div>
<!-- END: JAZIN --><?php if($this->countModules('banner')) : ?>
<!-- BEGIN: BANNER -->
<div id="ja-banner">
<jdoc:include type="modules" name="banner" />
</div>
<!-- END: BANNER -->
<?php endif; ?>
</div></div></div></div></div></div></div>
and add the css to template.css with my attachments 9821
#ja-content-br {
background: url(../images/box-br.gif) no-repeat bottom right #FFFFFF;
}#ja-content-bl {
background: url(../images/box-bl.gif) no-repeat bottom left;
}#ja-content-tr {
padding: 0;
background: url(../images/box-tr.gif) no-repeat top right;
}#ja-content-tl {
padding: 4px 3px 4px 4px;
background: url(../images/box-tl.gif) no-repeat top left;
}
The site will ok when you change main width and col width.
Phill ModeratorPhill
- Join date:
- February 2014
- Posts:
- 7013
- Downloads:
- 40
- Uploads:
- 77
- Thanks:
- 917
- Thanked:
- 2206 times in 1818 posts
November 24, 2010 at 10:10 am #364099That is more like it and would be a good upgrade to the template download IMO.
Menalto FriendMenalto
- Join date:
- May 2007
- Posts:
- 4736
- Downloads:
- 0
- Uploads:
- 43
- Thanks:
- 2
- Thanked:
- 531 times in 361 posts
November 24, 2010 at 2:33 pm #364127Are you sure about that?
This will cause issues with the layout on your site and hopefully they do NOT add this upgrade to the template:)Phill ModeratorPhill
- Join date:
- February 2014
- Posts:
- 7013
- Downloads:
- 40
- Uploads:
- 77
- Thanks:
- 917
- Thanked:
- 2206 times in 1818 posts
November 24, 2010 at 2:50 pm #364128You are right, I was looking at the wrong test when I viewed the result. It does have problems.
TomC ModeratorTomC
- Join date:
- October 2014
- Posts:
- 14077
- Downloads:
- 58
- Uploads:
- 137
- Thanks:
- 948
- Thanked:
- 3155 times in 2495 posts
November 24, 2010 at 4:02 pm #364136Okay, I just read the lastest updated posts . . . so does that suggestion from duchh work or not?
What are the problems?
Menalto FriendMenalto
- Join date:
- May 2007
- Posts:
- 4736
- Downloads:
- 0
- Uploads:
- 43
- Thanks:
- 2
- Thanked:
- 531 times in 361 posts
November 24, 2010 at 4:33 pm #364140It will work fine if your site is not going to have any large articles, if your site will have some articles with articles and images, then the images he is using is to small as the images he uses is 3000 px in height. But then again,why need to worry about if the images are large enough when you can make a better solution out of it.
If i was him i would improve it more, edit the layout to use 4 small images for each corner and repeating images for top,left,right and bottom part, that would make it as flexible as you want it to be without any issues.
1 user says Thank You to Menalto for this useful post
TomC ModeratorTomC
- Join date:
- October 2014
- Posts:
- 14077
- Downloads:
- 58
- Uploads:
- 137
- Thanks:
- 948
- Thanked:
- 3155 times in 2495 posts
November 24, 2010 at 4:36 pm #364141<em>@Menalto 205154 wrote:</em><blockquote>
If i was him i would improve it more, edit the layout to use 4 small images for each corner and repeating images for top,left,right and bottom part, that would make it as flexible as you want it to be without any issues.</blockquote>
See, now that sounds like EXACTLY what I need and what needs to be done for this template to make it as flexible as possible. It’s a sharp template (visually), but it’s simply way too restrictive (out of the box) as it was originally designed in terms of one’s ability to adjust column and content width.Css Magician FriendCss Magician
- Join date:
- October 2014
- Posts:
- 741
- Downloads:
- 43
- Uploads:
- 53
- Thanks:
- 114
- Thanked:
- 366 times in 263 posts
November 26, 2010 at 1:57 am #364314Dear tcraw1010,
With the case, I think he has 3 solutions :
1: JA Rutile is used.
Good: It will work fine if your site is going to have any large articles. The background images is small size.
Not good: can’t change width col. ( this is your problem )
2: Css3
Good: It will work fine if your site is going to have any large articles. Not used background images. Can change width col.
Not good: not support in IE browser.
3: My solution ( 4 div )
Good: It will work fine if your site is going to have any large articles. Can change width col. Support in all browser.
Not good:
<em>@Menalto 205154 wrote:</em><blockquote>It will work fine if your site is not going to have any large articles, if your site will have some articles with articles and images, then the images he is using is to small as the images he uses is 3000 px in height. But then again,why need to worry about if the images are large enough when you can make a better solution out of it.
</blockquote>Please choice a solution.
1 user says Thank You to Css Magician for this useful post
TomC ModeratorTomC
- Join date:
- October 2014
- Posts:
- 14077
- Downloads:
- 58
- Uploads:
- 137
- Thanks:
- 948
- Thanked:
- 3155 times in 2495 posts
November 26, 2010 at 7:28 pm #364410hey duchh:
Your solution with the additional image files seems to work – THANKS !!
Menalto/Phil – Please do chime in if you figure out what the potential problems might be (cross-browser or whatever).
-
AuthorPosts
This topic contains 30 replies, has 5 voices, and was last updated by TomC 14 years ago.
We moved to new unified forum. Please post all new support queries in our New Forum