-
AuthorPosts
-
Scott Lavelle Friend
Scott Lavelle
- Join date:
- November 2010
- Posts:
- 266
- Downloads:
- 16
- Uploads:
- 5
- Thanks:
- 6
- Thanked:
- 64 times in 27 posts
March 12, 2014 at 2:16 am #195704I’ve found an answer on my own to this before, but my previous solution doesn’t seem to work for me now.
Situation: I have custom modules in the header.php using code like this:
<div class="header-contact<?php $this->_c('header-contact')?>">
<jdoc:include type="modules" name="<?php $this->_p('header-contact') ?>" style="raw" />
</div>
It displays fine on the front end for all screen sizes.. In the admin, I see them there in the layout tab as expected. Now I want to make them go away on the smaller responsive sizes, like xtablet, tablet and mobile, so I go to each of those sections and click the little icon in the upper right of each module and save.
Then I go back to the same responsive layout and they are not “disabled”. The Red mark that was there before I saved them is now gone as if I didn’t select it. I can’t get the save to “stick”.
In the past, my solution was when I found the $this->_c(‘header-contact’) part. In fact, I copied this code from another site I built where it DOES work to completely hide a certain position when in smaller sizes. I also downloaded the Muzic template to see how it’s done there and the code is the same (except surrounded by an IF with a module count) and it works the way I expect – like with the “ticker” that’s in the header of that template.
This is a production/live site, so I can’t mess with it much. I can create a copy of it and place in a test area if needed, but I feel like I must just be missing something.
What am I missing? Please assist! 🙂
Scott Lavelle - Technical Resource Solutions, LLC
Certified Joomla AdministratorNinja Lead ModeratorNinja Lead
- Join date:
- November 2014
- Posts:
- 16064
- Downloads:
- 310
- Uploads:
- 2864
- Thanks:
- 341
- Thanked:
- 3854 times in 3563 posts
March 13, 2014 at 10:37 am #526585I’m not sure about the JA Template and T3 version on your site.
+ In case of T3 version with Bootstrap3, you need to change the header.php file:
Change
<div class="header-contact<?php $this->_c('header-contact')?>">
<jdoc:include type="modules" name="<?php $this->_p('header-contact') ?>" style="raw" />
</div>To
<div class="col-xs-12 col-sm-3 header-contact<?php $this->_c('header-contact')?>">
<jdoc:include type="modules" name="<?php $this->_p('header-contact') ?>" style="raw" />
</div>+ In case of T3 version with old Bootstrap version, you need to change the header.php file
Change
<div class="header-contact<?php $this->_c('header-contact')?>">
<jdoc:include type="modules" name="<?php $this->_p('header-contact') ?>" style="raw" />
</div>To
<div class="span12 header-contact<?php $this->_c('header-contact')?>">
<jdoc:include type="modules" name="<?php $this->_p('header-contact') ?>" style="raw" />
</div>col-sm-3, span12 are sample to define width of header-contact position.
Scott Lavelle FriendScott Lavelle
- Join date:
- November 2010
- Posts:
- 266
- Downloads:
- 16
- Uploads:
- 5
- Thanks:
- 6
- Thanked:
- 64 times in 27 posts
March 15, 2014 at 12:44 am #526780I got this resolved. Apparently my client decided to click the upgrade to Joomla 3.2 – the framework version that site is on is not compatible with it and causes all sorts of weird issues. So…
I had actually done the span thing mentioned above, but it didn’t fix it. Once I rolled back to a site backup and made the modifications I expected to need, everything worked like it was supposed to.
Thanks for you assistance.
Scott Lavelle - Technical Resource Solutions, LLC
Certified Joomla Administrator1 user says Thank You to Scott Lavelle for this useful post
-
AuthorPosts
This topic contains 3 replies, has 2 voices, and was last updated by Scott Lavelle 10 years, 9 months ago.
We moved to new unified forum. Please post all new support queries in our New Forum