-
AuthorPosts
-
instantinlaw Friend
instantinlaw
- Join date:
- February 2007
- Posts:
- 1646
- Downloads:
- 6
- Uploads:
- 28
- Thanks:
- 68
- Thanked:
- 210 times in 62 posts
June 23, 2007 at 4:21 am #121012Please note* This fix is for the xenia II shopping template only, but the links below should be able to help you fix the problem in the template you are using.
There have been many questions regarding the question of how to make Ja-News not show up on every page when the read more link is clicked. Well, here is the long awaited solution to make Ja-News go away when it is not wanted.
Contrary to popular belief, this is not a bug of Ja-News, but rather has to do with the way Joomla processes unique URL id’s. The change was implimented in version 1.0.12, and will continue into version 1.5.
Although there is a core hack to fix the problem (in version 1.0.12 anyway) The following fix does not hack the core, but rather adds an IF statement to the index.php to make Ja-News only show on the front page.
Anyway enough technobabel here’s the fix.
Open index.php in your template folder.
On line 283 serach for;
<?php if ( mosCountModules('ja-news') ) { ?>
And change it to;
<?php if (( mosCountModules('ja-news'))&& ($option == 'com_frontpage' )) { ?>
If you want to read more about this problem/fix Click Here
And more HereThanks to swemmel who originally posted the link above, which got me interested in trying to find a fix for this.
June 27, 2007 at 9:31 am #222809My God, I’ve been looking for this everywhere! Thank you!
TomC ModeratorTomC
- Join date:
- October 2014
- Posts:
- 14077
- Downloads:
- 58
- Uploads:
- 137
- Thanks:
- 948
- Thanked:
- 3155 times in 2495 posts
June 27, 2007 at 1:48 pm #222816<em>@ncrc 19133 wrote:</em><blockquote>My God, I’ve been looking for this everywhere! Thank you!</blockquote>
Be sure to give instantlaw a shout-out ( and vote) here -> http://www.joomlart.com/forums/topic/member-of-the-month-july-2007-vote-now/
😎
instantinlaw Friendinstantinlaw
- Join date:
- February 2007
- Posts:
- 1646
- Downloads:
- 6
- Uploads:
- 28
- Thanks:
- 68
- Thanked:
- 210 times in 62 posts
June 27, 2007 at 8:52 pm #222837ncrc;19133My God, I’ve been looking for this everywhere! Thank you!
I know, so have lot of other people, but few seem to have noticed this thread. Good luck with it.
Thanks Tom. 😀June 27, 2007 at 11:10 pm #222848That deserved a vote. :p
instantinlaw Friendinstantinlaw
- Join date:
- February 2007
- Posts:
- 1646
- Downloads:
- 6
- Uploads:
- 28
- Thanks:
- 68
- Thanked:
- 210 times in 62 posts
June 28, 2007 at 2:10 am #222857Hey thanks ncrc. 😀
July 5, 2007 at 1:06 pm #223504instantinlaw, you rock.
thanks! : )
instantinlaw Friendinstantinlaw
- Join date:
- February 2007
- Posts:
- 1646
- Downloads:
- 6
- Uploads:
- 28
- Thanks:
- 68
- Thanked:
- 210 times in 62 posts
July 5, 2007 at 3:58 pm #223524Thanks mordecai,
Good luck with your site. 🙂ShannonN FriendShannonN
- Join date:
- July 2006
- Posts:
- 1947
- Downloads:
- 0
- Uploads:
- 9
- Thanks:
- 16
- Thanked:
- 172 times in 49 posts
July 5, 2007 at 4:37 pm #223529mordecai;20037instantinlaw, you rock.
thanks! : )
Don’t forget Bill, when the poll opens for member of the month if he has been his helpful self
he has my voteJuly 13, 2007 at 9:20 am #224128<em>@instantinlaw 18880 wrote:</em><blockquote>Please note*
Open index.php in your template folder.
On line 283 serach for;
<?php if ( mosCountModules('ja-news') ) { ?>
And change it to;
<?php if (( mosCountModules('ja-news'))&& ($option == 'com_frontpage' )) { ?>
If you want to read more about this problem/fix Click Here
And more Here</blockquote>
I am using the ja_quillaja template…and I followed your directions but alas 🙁 it is still showing up when you click the links…but more than that if you should try and leave a comment using aka comment it refreshes before you have a chance making it pretty much unusable. I have no idea what I am doing…or if I am doing it wrong. Is someone able to assist me. I would be very appreciative if I could get some assistance with this….
thanks in advance
Beckyinstantinlaw Friendinstantinlaw
- Join date:
- February 2007
- Posts:
- 1646
- Downloads:
- 6
- Uploads:
- 28
- Thanks:
- 68
- Thanked:
- 210 times in 62 posts
July 13, 2007 at 2:56 pm #224144sizex;20819I am using the ja_quillaja template…and I followed your directions but alas 🙁 it is still showing up when you click the links…but more than that if you should try and leave a comment using aka comment it refreshes before you have a chance making it pretty much unusable. I have no idea what I am doing…or if I am doing it wrong. Is someone able to assist me. I would be very appreciative if I could get some assistance with this….
thanks in advance
BeckyI don’t know about aka comment, but you also have to make sure that you have the parameters set to front page only as well in the JA-News module.
September 8, 2007 at 6:35 am #229098Worked like a charm. Thanks!!!!
instantinlaw Friendinstantinlaw
- Join date:
- February 2007
- Posts:
- 1646
- Downloads:
- 6
- Uploads:
- 28
- Thanks:
- 68
- Thanked:
- 210 times in 62 posts
September 8, 2007 at 2:30 pm #229117You’re welcome. 🙂
dpk Frienddpk
- Join date:
- June 2006
- Posts:
- 129
- Downloads:
- 0
- Uploads:
- 0
- Thanks:
- 19
- Thanked:
- 2 times in 1 posts
September 13, 2007 at 3:09 am #229363The JA News module packaged with Xenia currently instructs you to make the following template modification–a substitution for <?php mosMainBody(); ?>:
<?php
global $mainframe, $option;
$m_menu = $mainframe->get( "menu" );
$m_params = new mosParameters( $m_menu->params );$m_intro = $m_params->def( "intro", 4 );
$m_leading = $m_params->def( "leading", 1 );
if ( $option != "com_frontpage" || $m_intro || $m_leading) {
?>
<?php mosMainBody(); ?>
<?php } ?>
<?php if ( mosCountModules("ja-news") ) { ?>
<div id="ja-newswrap">
<?php mosLoadModules ( "ja-news", -2 ); ?>
</div>
<?php } ?>I would suggest/remind you to also add the solution posted here to restrict JA News to appearing on the font page only.
-
AuthorPosts
This topic contains 16 replies, has 10 voices, and was last updated by klazebaas 16 years, 8 months ago.
We moved to new unified forum. Please post all new support queries in our New Forum