-
AuthorPosts
-
dhuelsmann Friend
dhuelsmann
- Join date:
- October 2006
- Posts:
- 36
- Downloads:
- 21
- Uploads:
- 4
- Thanks:
- 5
- Thanked:
- 1 times in 1 posts
January 25, 2011 at 4:35 pm #159296OK I am at a loss. I have tried a number of T3 templates with google fonts and I simply can’t get them to function. I just try a simple test and that is a text logo using one of the google fonts like Crafty Girls. I clear the JAT3 cache, the joomla cache and the browser cache. I don’t get the font. I have tried it locally and on a hosted site with the same results using different templates. What could be going on?
carynh Friendcarynh
- Join date:
- January 2011
- Posts:
- 25
- Downloads:
- 0
- Uploads:
- 1
- Thanks:
- 5
- Thanked:
- 2 times in 1 posts
January 25, 2011 at 5:17 pm #373727Me too, with Portfolio. I select Lobster, just to see, and even set Lobster first in the body#bd font-family. No changes, even after clearing all the caches.
It would be great if there were some Check Connectivity button in the Google Fonts area, or maybe even a red/yellow/green indicator, so that we know if we should expect some problem with the Google Fonts function. Otherwise, we’re in the dark when it doesn’t work. Then, we’d know “Oh, that’s why I am seeing Arial instead of Lobster”.
It certainly sounds like a cool feature, but it’s so new, that some troubleshooting tools seem like a good idea, at least for a while.
Thanks!
thangnn1510 Friendthangnn1510
- Join date:
- October 2014
- Posts:
- 1608
- Downloads:
- 0
- Uploads:
- 80
- Thanks:
- 73
- Thanked:
- 278 times in 256 posts
January 28, 2011 at 3:28 am #374166Dear All!
We have checked the themes and see that they’re working well with google fonts. This is the simple way to make the google font to work with our template. I use Portfolio template with Lobster font like Carynh:
1. Open: templatesja_portfoliocss edit template.css and change line 15:
body {
color: #525253;
font-family: Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif;
}
tobody {
color: #525253;
font-family: 'Lobster', arial, serif;;
}
2. Open pluginssystemjat3base-themesdefaultblockshead.php and add this code to line 18:<link href='http://fonts.googleapis.com/css?family=Lobster' rel='stylesheet' type='text/css'>
Please check all again your settings!Hope this helps and good luck! 😎
dhuelsmann Frienddhuelsmann
- Join date:
- October 2006
- Posts:
- 36
- Downloads:
- 21
- Uploads:
- 4
- Thanks:
- 5
- Thanked:
- 1 times in 1 posts
January 28, 2011 at 5:19 pm #374278@thangnn1510: Your solution is certainly doable but kind of defeats the purpose of being able to apply the fonts separately to the Logo and the slogan, to the main menu and submenu, to the modules titles, page headings and to the content heading through the template profiles. After all, that is why the t3 profiles are feature items are they not? What would be the solution and indeed the problem of why the google fonts don’t override the css as they are supposed to?
thangnn1510 Friendthangnn1510
- Join date:
- October 2014
- Posts:
- 1608
- Downloads:
- 0
- Uploads:
- 80
- Thanks:
- 73
- Thanked:
- 278 times in 256 posts
January 31, 2011 at 3:15 am #374525Dear dhuelsmann!
This isn’t a big problem. My post is demo, you could apply the google front separatly for each items:
Example for megamenu:
Change this code:
.ja-megamenu ul.level0 li.over a.mega.mega span.menu-title.menu-title, .ja-megamenu ul.level0 li.haschild-over a.mega.mega span.menu-title.menu-title {
background-position: right top;}
to:
.ja-megamenu ul.level0 li.over a.mega.mega span.menu-title.menu-title, .ja-megamenu ul.level0 li.haschild-over a.mega.mega span.menu-title.menu-title {
background-position: right top;
font-family: 'Lobster', arial, serif;;
}Please do the same for other items.
dhuelsmann Frienddhuelsmann
- Join date:
- October 2006
- Posts:
- 36
- Downloads:
- 21
- Uploads:
- 4
- Thanks:
- 5
- Thanked:
- 1 times in 1 posts
January 31, 2011 at 2:14 pm #374600Somehow I guess I am not making my point clear.
If I wanted to rewrite the CSS, I would develop my own template. However, since I essentially purchased this template, I want to know why it is not functioning as advertised. What situations would prevent the Google font choices made in the template Profile from overriding the CSS as they are supposed to? And it is not just this template. As I said, I tried this with multiple templates in both a hosted and a local environment and they simply don’t work as advertised. Is this a design flaw in the template itself?
dhuelsmann Frienddhuelsmann
- Join date:
- October 2006
- Posts:
- 36
- Downloads:
- 21
- Uploads:
- 4
- Thanks:
- 5
- Thanked:
- 1 times in 1 posts
February 2, 2011 at 4:01 pm #374868I haven’t received a satisfactory response here or to the support ticket I started on the same day as I started this thread – a week ago.:confused:
thangnn1510 Friendthangnn1510
- Join date:
- October 2014
- Posts:
- 1608
- Downloads:
- 0
- Uploads:
- 80
- Thanks:
- 73
- Thanked:
- 278 times in 256 posts
February 3, 2011 at 3:57 am #374908<em>@dhuelsmann 218684 wrote:</em><blockquote>@thangnn1510
Somehow I guess I am not making my point clear.
If I wanted to rewrite the CSS, I would develop my own template. However, since I essentially purchased this template, I want to know why it is not functioning as advertised. What situations would prevent the Google font choices made in the template Profile from overriding the CSS as they are supposed to? And it is not just this template. As I said, I tried this with multiple templates in both a hosted and a local environment and they simply don’t work as advertised. Is this a design flaw in the template itself?</blockquote>
I still don’t understand your questions. What don’t work as advertised? Which features are not working for you?
dhuelsmann Frienddhuelsmann
- Join date:
- October 2006
- Posts:
- 36
- Downloads:
- 21
- Uploads:
- 4
- Thanks:
- 5
- Thanked:
- 1 times in 1 posts
February 3, 2011 at 8:56 pm #374998<em>@thangnn1510 219109 wrote:</em><blockquote>I still don’t understand your questions. What don’t work as advertised? Which features are not working for you?</blockquote>
As I have said repeatedly, you should be able to implement google fonts through the template profile selections. Those choices do not work. They should work. Why do they not work where they are supposed to? What would cause those choices made in the profile section of the template to not override the CSS default font?
dhuelsmann Frienddhuelsmann
- Join date:
- October 2006
- Posts:
- 36
- Downloads:
- 21
- Uploads:
- 4
- Thanks:
- 5
- Thanked:
- 1 times in 1 posts
February 7, 2011 at 8:11 pm #375437OK, Now I have downloaded the latest Uniform Server with up-to-date apache, php, and mysql. Installed Joomla 1.6 and the 1.6 version of the JA Anion template and — guess what? Yup, Google fonts don’t work on that platform either and by that I mean, you can select them in the template but they don’t function as they were advertised. So tell, me Joomlart, what’s going on here. There was a point in time where everything worked and then you updated your JAT3 plugin and things quit working. Is that the issue?
thangnn1510 Friendthangnn1510
- Join date:
- October 2014
- Posts:
- 1608
- Downloads:
- 0
- Uploads:
- 80
- Thanks:
- 73
- Thanked:
- 278 times in 256 posts
February 8, 2011 at 7:27 am #375534Dear dhuelsmann!
Sorry for when i didn’t understood your request.
Now, I’ve checked all our templates: ja_anion for 1.5 and 1.6, using lobster font and they’re working well (See my attach). Please PM me your site login info and I’ll check this feature on your server.
Regards!
roejames12 Friendroejames12
- Join date:
- January 2011
- Posts:
- 5
- Downloads:
- 0
- Uploads:
- 2
- Thanked:
- 1 times in 1 posts
February 8, 2011 at 8:49 am #375589The Google fonts in the 1.6 Anion template don’t work for me either on T3.
thangnn1510 Friendthangnn1510
- Join date:
- October 2014
- Posts:
- 1608
- Downloads:
- 0
- Uploads:
- 80
- Thanks:
- 73
- Thanked:
- 278 times in 256 posts
February 9, 2011 at 1:40 am #375714Dear roejames12!
Please PM me your login information, I’ll check for you also.
Regards!
erkorb Frienderkorb
- Join date:
- July 2009
- Posts:
- 38
- Downloads:
- 0
- Uploads:
- 3
- Thanks:
- 12
- Thanked:
- 1 times in 1 posts
February 13, 2011 at 5:14 pm #376480I’m having a similar issue. I think there might be an issue with the anion quickstart file. When hovering over the ‘?’ in Google Font API Settings on Template Profile tab, I see a reference to look here:
<root>/plugins/system/jat3/base-themes/default/blocks/css.php
However, I fould this file here:
<root>/www/plugins/system/jat3/jat3/base-themes/default/blocks/css.phpNotice the additional /jat3/
Maybe this is why the fonts are not loading? When inspecting my site from my Chrome browser with developer tools, I don’t see any reference to this style sheet:
<link rel=”stylesheet” type=”text/css” href=”http://fonts.googleapis.com/css?family=<?php echo $gfonts ?>” />
So, either the quickstart installed the folders incorrectly, or the hint is wrong (see screen shot).
Either way, the fonts are not working.
Phill ModeratorPhill
- Join date:
- February 2014
- Posts:
- 7013
- Downloads:
- 40
- Uploads:
- 77
- Thanks:
- 917
- Thanked:
- 2206 times in 1818 posts
February 13, 2011 at 11:08 pm #376511I think what these users are trying to say is why is there an option in the template manager to select fonts yet they are hardcoded in the code? Should it not be possible for the user to simply select their desired font in the template manager? I think users are annoyed that this function does not do as it appears it should do.
AuthorPostsThis topic contains 21 replies, has 7 voices, and was last updated by thangnn1510 13 years, 8 months ago.
We moved to new unified forum. Please post all new support queries in our New Forum
Jump to forum