Viewing 12 posts - 1 through 12 (of 12 total)
  • Author

Hello. I’m a newbie to Joomla, have only just installed it with XAMPP on my pc. Can anyone help me to understand how to get started with a Joomlart template. I do not understand which files I need to download :confused:

I already have a Joomla install, so I have learned the hard way that I do not want a template with quickstart (as it includes another Joomla installation). Is it possible just to download the template?

What is the difference between extensions and source files (for downloading). I am so new, this is all very confusing. Can someone please help?

TomC Moderator

<em>@missyw 52204 wrote:</em><blockquote>Hello. I’m a newbie to Joomla, have only just installed it with XAMPP on my pc. Can anyone help me to understand how to get started with a Joomlart template. I do not understand which files I need to download [/quote]
    Whichever template you want to download, all you need to is go to the DOWNLOADS section and select which template you want. You simply download the zip file to whatever specified location on your computer … unzip the contents … and then install the template and modules using your Joomla Control Panel. Very simple.

Have you read through the Joomla User Guide that you can get FREE at the Joomla.org website?

missywI already have a Joomla install, so I have learned the hard way that I do not want a template with quickstart (as it includes another Joomla installation). Is it possible just to download the template?

Yes, it is of course possible. May I ask, though … do you already have a website set up? If not, then what would be the hesitation to try out using one of the Quickstart Packages. For a beginner, it’s really an invaluable tool in learning how Joomla websites can function, how to properly create articles and content, etc.

I really recommend looking through the primary Joomla site –> HERE[/url]

Here are some additional helpful resources for Joomla beginners . . .