-
AuthorPosts
-
jwellman Friend
jwellman
- Join date:
- April 2008
- Posts:
- 543
- Downloads:
- 0
- Uploads:
- 6
- Thanks:
- 115
- Thanked:
- 59 times in 21 posts
February 10, 2009 at 3:36 pm #137974I started dabbling with Highslide and because I had never used it before I thought I would experiment on my own personal site. I used the codes from this location: Click Here. In the past the validator always showed 13 errors all from Phoca Guestbook. (Looking into those errors next). After using highslide the number rose to 73.
My question is, am I doing something wrong when I insert the code?
Here is a sample of the source code from one of my front page articles:
<p><img hspace=”5″ height=”123″ align=”left” width=”154″ vspace=”5″ src=”http://www.jessicasjournal.com/images/garden_visitors/finches2.jpg” alt=”Feeder Birds” /></p>
<p>It’s been a super busy morning in the back yard! I’m beginning to think I’m the only one in this county feeding the birds. I missed a shot of three woodpeckers on the feeder at the same time. You should have seen it! I tried to sneak out the backdoor to photograph the scene, but they flew away as soon as they heard me.</p>
<p>{highslide type=”img” url=”http://www.jessicasjournal.com/images/garden_visitors/woodpecker1.jpg“ captionText=”Downy Woodpecker” display=none}</p>
<p>Downy Woodpecker</p>
<p>{/highslide}{highslide type=”img” url=”http://www.jessicasjournal.com/images/garden_visitors/woodpecker2.jpg“ captionText=”Red Bellied Woodpecker” display=none}</p>
<p>Red Bellied Woodpecker</p>
<p>{highslide type=”img” url=”http://www.jessicasjournal.com/images/garden_visitors/woodpecker3.jpg“ captionText=”Hairy Woodpecker” display=none}</p>
<p>Thanks to the help of my Garden Buddies and Cornell University photos I think we’ve agreed the third bird is a Hairy Woodpecker</p>
<p>{/highslide}{highslide type=”img” url=”http://www.jessicasjournal.com/images/garden_visitors/finches.jpg“ captionText=”Finches” display=none}</p>
<p>FinchesĀ </p>Code as it appears in the editor:
{highslide type=”img” url=”http://www.jessicasjournal.com/images/garden_visitors/woodpecker1.jpg” captionText=”Downy Woodpecker” display=none}
Downy Woodpecker
{/highslide}{highslide type=”img” url=”http://www.jessicasjournal.com/images/garden_visitors/woodpecker2.jpg” captionText=”Red Bellied Woodpecker” display=none}
Red Bellied Woodpecker
{highslide type=”img” url=”http://www.jessicasjournal.com/images/garden_visitors/woodpecker3.jpg” captionText=”Hairy Woodpecker” display=none}
Thanks to the help of my Garden Buddies and Cornell University photos I think we’ve agreed the third bird is a Hairy Woodpecker
{/highslide}{highslide type=”img” url=”http://www.jessicasjournal.com/images/garden_visitors/finches.jpg” captionText=”Finches” display=none}
Finches
**Edited to add: When I disable the highslide articles on the front page, all the errors are gone (except the Phoca Guestbook, during validation.
scotty Friendscotty
- Join date:
- March 2008
- Posts:
- 2339
- Downloads:
- 0
- Uploads:
- 13
- Thanks:
- 76
- Thanked:
- 827 times in 595 posts
February 10, 2009 at 6:35 pm #290502The errors are most likely in the highslide script itself rather than the generated HTML.
Are they errors or warnings? Can you post them here?
scotty Friendscotty
- Join date:
- March 2008
- Posts:
- 2339
- Downloads:
- 0
- Uploads:
- 13
- Thanks:
- 76
- Thanked:
- 827 times in 595 posts
February 10, 2009 at 7:10 pm #290507Just looking through a few of them now…
On line 410-413 there is an error where there is no space at the red bit but should be one…
class="highslide"onclick="return
Some other errors may be related to the ones above.There are a few where you start a new <p> tag before closing the previous link </a> tag…
<a id="href_1234292810" class="highslide" href="http://www.jessicasjournal.com/images/garden_visitors/woodpecker1.jpg"
onclick="return hs.expand(this, {captionText:'Downy Woodpecker',display:'none'});"></p>
<p>Downy Woodpecker</p>
<p></a></div><div>
<a id="href_1234292810" class="highslide" href="http://www.jessicasjournal.com/images/garden_visitors/woodpecker2.jpg"
onclick="return hs.expand(this, {captionText:'Red Bellied Woodpecker',display:'none'});"></p>
<p>Red Bellied Woodpecker</p>
<p></a></div><div>
<a id="href_1234292810" class="highslide" href="http://www.jessicasjournal.com/images/garden_visitors/woodpecker3.jpg"
onclick="return hs.expand(this, {captionText:'Hairy Woodpecker',display:'none'});"></p>
<p>Thanks to the help of my Garden Buddies and Cornell University photos I think we've agreed the third bird is a Hairy Woodpecker</p>
<p></a></div><div>
<a id="href_1234292810" class="highslide" href="http://www.jessicasjournal.com/images/garden_visitors/finches.jpg"
onclick="return hs.expand(this, {captionText:'Finches',display:'none'});"></p>
<p>FinchesĀ </p></a></div>
You have a closing </div> but no opening one.Several others. When you have the ones above fixed check again and repost.
1 user says Thank You to scotty for this useful post
jwellman Friendjwellman
- Join date:
- April 2008
- Posts:
- 543
- Downloads:
- 0
- Uploads:
- 6
- Thanks:
- 115
- Thanked:
- 59 times in 21 posts
February 10, 2009 at 9:52 pm #290519<em>@scotty 111053 wrote:</em><blockquote>On line 410-413 there is an error where there is no space at the red bit but should be one…
class="highslide"onclick="return
Some other errors may be related to the ones above.[/quote]Thanks Scotty! Hopefully I put the space where needed and fixed that one.
As far as the rest, I assume you mean to work on the code in the editor of the article. (??) All the <p> brackets are placed by the editor. I tried adding a closed <a> code but the editor took it away each time. I switched back to the Tiny MCE editor hoping it would help but that didn’t work either.
I set up a test article (Click Here) and the one article generated 24 highslide errors. :((
All I did was copy and paste JA’s instruction code for “HTML Content” and replaced their image paths with my own. The article shows four links all with the same photo, although I’ve specified four different images.
I’m not having much luck with highslide.
scotty Friendscotty
- Join date:
- March 2008
- Posts:
- 2339
- Downloads:
- 0
- Uploads:
- 13
- Thanks:
- 76
- Thanked:
- 827 times in 595 posts
February 11, 2009 at 8:40 pm #290727jwellman;111068All I did was copy and paste JA’s instruction code for “HTML Content” and replaced their image paths with my own.
The problem is not how you are entering the code. The problem is how highslide is generating the HTML.
Joomlarts highslide demo page does not validate either.
1 user says Thank You to scotty for this useful post
jwellman Friendjwellman
- Join date:
- April 2008
- Posts:
- 543
- Downloads:
- 0
- Uploads:
- 6
- Thanks:
- 115
- Thanked:
- 59 times in 21 posts
February 13, 2009 at 3:02 am #291021<em>@scotty 111326 wrote:</em><blockquote>Joomlarts highslide demo page does not validate either.</blockquote>
Well that’s good to know. I’ve been ready to pull my hair out. After playing with highslide for a few days I did not incorporate it on the site I’m currently building. Too much of a headache if you ask me and it’s a shame because I really like it.scotty Friendscotty
- Join date:
- March 2008
- Posts:
- 2339
- Downloads:
- 0
- Uploads:
- 13
- Thanks:
- 76
- Thanked:
- 827 times in 595 posts
-
AuthorPosts
This topic contains 7 replies, has 2 voices, and was last updated by scotty 15 years, 9 months ago.
We moved to new unified forum. Please post all new support queries in our New Forum