-
AuthorPosts
-
July 20, 2007 at 10:21 am #121555
I wanted to put a background colour from the white so that the template stands out more… like in the joomart website…
how do I go about changing the css for this… also can I change the background for the different colour schemes, and also will it still work when the size is expanded or made smaller
Cheers
July 22, 2007 at 12:14 pm #224813anyone, please I really need an answer the the above…. forget the poll, but help me with the background color
instantinlaw Friendinstantinlaw
- Join date:
- February 2007
- Posts:
- 1646
- Downloads:
- 6
- Uploads:
- 28
- Thanks:
- 68
- Thanked:
- 210 times in 62 posts
July 22, 2007 at 8:20 pm #224833This is really basic stuff here, I suggest you check out some free tutorials on css on the internet before going any further with your customization.
Search in template_css.css for:
body {
color: #5A5A5A;
background: #FFFFFF;
font-family: Tahoma, Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif;
line-height: 1.5;
}
and change the #FFFFFF to the hex color you want.July 22, 2007 at 8:50 pm #224835I tried that already, but it does not create a box around the body…. and the color change comes all over the place… my questions is whether I can have a box around the body that changes with the controls available to make it bigger or smaller..
Cheers
instantinlaw Friendinstantinlaw
- Join date:
- February 2007
- Posts:
- 1646
- Downloads:
- 6
- Uploads:
- 28
- Thanks:
- 68
- Thanked:
- 210 times in 62 posts
July 22, 2007 at 9:47 pm #224837I am not going to do all your work for you, but I will get you started.
in template_css.css change
#ja-container {
padding: 0 0 10px;
}
to
#ja-container {
padding: 0 0 10px;
background-color: #FFFFFF;
}
change
#ja-header {
text-align: left;
line-height: normal;
background-image: url(../images/header-bg.gif);
background-repeat: no-repeat;
background-position: left top;
}
to
#ja-header {
text-align: left;
line-height: normal;
background-color: #FFFFFF;
background-image: url(../images/header-bg.gif);
background-repeat: no-repeat;
background-position: left top;
}
change
#ja-footer {
clear: both;
border-top: 5px solid #D8D9DB;
}
to
#ja-footer {
clear: both;
border-top: 5px solid #D8D9DB;
background-color: #FFFFFF;
}
Now here is the hard part.
You have to figure out which line of code changes the part just below the main menu, and you have to post your results here.
Good luck, and welcome to the world of template customization.July 22, 2007 at 10:00 pm #224840thanks man, you have just saved my life…. I wil do just that… and get horribly confused for sure… but I will get back…
and thank again for the quick response!!!! I owe you one! if ever we meet, the beer is on me for sure!!!!
ShannonN FriendShannonN
- Join date:
- July 2006
- Posts:
- 1947
- Downloads:
- 0
- Uploads:
- 9
- Thanks:
- 16
- Thanked:
- 172 times in 49 posts
July 22, 2007 at 10:29 pm #224841oddyeti;21744thanks man, you have just saved my life…. I wil do just that… and get horribly confused for sure… but I will get back…
and thank again for the quick response!!!! I owe you one! if ever we meet, the beer is on me for sure!!!!
If Bill (instantinlaw)has been helpful and you wish to repay his kindness vote for him as Member OF The Month the link is in my signature
July 22, 2007 at 10:37 pm #224842I tried man….. real hard… but in still the same boat… cannot understand where the codes are…
any ideas?
July 22, 2007 at 10:38 pm #224843also just voted for you…. You ROCK!!!
instantinlaw Friendinstantinlaw
- Join date:
- February 2007
- Posts:
- 1646
- Downloads:
- 6
- Uploads:
- 28
- Thanks:
- 68
- Thanked:
- 210 times in 62 posts
July 22, 2007 at 11:11 pm #224845oddyeti;21746I tried man….. real hard… but in still the same boat… cannot understand where the codes are…
any ideas?
Which codes are we talking about? all of them? or just the one you are supposed to change on your own?
& thanks for the vote.instantinlaw Friendinstantinlaw
- Join date:
- February 2007
- Posts:
- 1646
- Downloads:
- 6
- Uploads:
- 28
- Thanks:
- 68
- Thanked:
- 210 times in 62 posts
July 22, 2007 at 11:13 pm #224847Thanks for the plug Shannon. 😀
July 23, 2007 at 6:55 am #224889nah, could not find out which codes changes the part just below the top menu…. you know where the JA_hearder goes and where the main menu is ….
instantinlaw Friendinstantinlaw
- Join date:
- February 2007
- Posts:
- 1646
- Downloads:
- 6
- Uploads:
- 28
- Thanks:
- 68
- Thanked:
- 210 times in 62 posts
July 24, 2007 at 12:12 am #224952oddyeti;21801nah, could not find out which codes changes the part just below the top menu…. you know where the JA_hearder goes and where the main menu is ….
You really did’nt try very hard now, did you. Just kidding, The reason you couldn’t find it is because it is an extra div in the index.php, but before we get to that, I missed a couple of things.
Ok do this.
In template_css.css
change
#ja-header,
#ja-topstory,
#ja-spotlight,
#ja-container,
#ja-footer {
margin: 0 auto;
width: 750px;
text-align: left;
}
to
#ja-header,
#ja-topstory,
#ja-spotlight,
#ja-container,
#ja-footer {
margin: 0 auto;
width: 750px;
text-align: left;
background-color: #FFFFFF;
}
and change
.wide #ja-header,
.wide #ja-topstory,
.wide #ja-spotlight,
.wide #ja-container,
.wide #ja-footer {
width: 950px;
}
to
.wide #ja-header,
.wide #ja-topstory,
.wide #ja-spotlight,
.wide #ja-container,
.wide #ja-footer {
width: 950px;
background-color: #FFFFFF;
}
and change
.auto #ja-header,
.auto #ja-topstory,
.auto #ja-spotlight,
.auto #ja-container,
.auto #ja-footer {
width: 90%;
}
to
.auto #ja-header,
.auto #ja-topstory,
.auto #ja-spotlight,
.auto #ja-container,
.auto #ja-footer {
width: 90%;
background-color: #FFFFFF;
}
Now open index.php in your templates > ja_antares folder.
search for
<!-- BEGIN: TOP NAVIGATION -->
<?php if( mosCountModules('user3') ) { ?>
<div id="ja-topnav-wrap" class="clearfix">
<div id="ja-topnav">
<?php mosLoadModules('user3',-1); ?>
</div>
</div>
<?php } ?>
<!-- END: TOP NAVIGATION -->
</div>
and change it to
<!-- BEGIN: TOP NAVIGATION -->
<?php if( mosCountModules('user3') ) { ?>
<div id="ja-topnav-wrap" class="clearfix">
<div id="ja-topnav">
<?php mosLoadModules('user3',-1); ?>
</div>
</div>
<?php } ?>
<!-- END: TOP NAVIGATION -->
Now it displays properly in both FF & IE. Hope this helps.July 24, 2007 at 12:42 am #224961Thanks for this… I did try several variants, and this time around, i did try real hard….. 😀 and I think I might have hit on something… though you are right, getting the thing to work on both IE and FF is another thing of course… I will have to do these things too I bet…
but check it out… it definitely looks better, though it is still sloppy around the edges, needs more work… I will be in touch….
comments welcome
cheers man,
instantinlaw Friendinstantinlaw
- Join date:
- February 2007
- Posts:
- 1646
- Downloads:
- 6
- Uploads:
- 28
- Thanks:
- 68
- Thanked:
- 210 times in 62 posts
July 24, 2007 at 12:48 am #224962It looks good, and I know you are trying to make it look cool with the black header, but personally I think you should go with either white, or possibly something graphical.
Keep at it, you’ll get it. -
AuthorPosts
This topic contains 33 replies, has 4 voices, and was last updated by Michael Casha 17 years, 3 months ago.
We moved to new unified forum. Please post all new support queries in our New Forum