-
AuthorPosts
-
tworld Friend
tworld
- Join date:
- October 2011
- Posts:
- 58
- Downloads:
- 0
- Uploads:
- 5
- Thanks:
- 6
- Thanked:
- 1 times in 1 posts
November 24, 2011 at 6:13 am #171044I’m trying to follow the instructions on http://wiki.joomlart.com/wiki/JA_Template_Framework/FAQs#Creating_new_module_positions to add a new position, but I am not having much luck. Could someone please give me a quick guide on what files I need to edit to add a new module position in the JA Ores template? I’m using Joomla 1.7.3.
pavit Moderatorpavit
- Join date:
- September 2007
- Posts:
- 15749
- Downloads:
- 199
- Uploads:
- 2274
- Thanks:
- 417
- Thanked:
- 4028 times in 3778 posts
November 24, 2011 at 8:07 am #426237Hi tworld
Could you explain where you want to add a new module position ? so we can be more helpful
Thanks
tworld Friendtworld
- Join date:
- October 2011
- Posts:
- 58
- Downloads:
- 0
- Uploads:
- 5
- Thanks:
- 6
- Thanked:
- 1 times in 1 posts
November 24, 2011 at 9:08 am #426242I want to add it right above the slideshow position. Thanks.
pavit Moderatorpavit
- Join date:
- September 2007
- Posts:
- 15749
- Downloads:
- 199
- Uploads:
- 2274
- Thanks:
- 417
- Thanked:
- 4028 times in 3778 posts
November 24, 2011 at 10:16 am #426244Try to do in this way
goto template manager –> Ja_Ores — > Layout Tab–> default Layout now you have
<?xml version="1.0" encoding="utf-8"?>
<layout name="desktop">
<!--Extra css load for this layout-->
<stylesheets>
</stylesheets>
<blocks name="top" style="xhtml">
<block name="hot-news">hotnews</block>
<block name="header" type="header" main-inner="1"></block>
<block name="mainnav" type="mainnav" main-inner="1"></block>
<block name="cpanel" type="usertools/cpanel"></block>
<block name="slideshow" type="modules" wrap-inner="2">slideshow</block>
<block name="topsl" type="spotlight" main-inner="1">user1,user2,user3,user4</block>
</blocks>
<blocks name="middle" colwidth="25">
<block name="right-mass-top" >right-mass-top</block>
<block name="right1">left</block>
<block name="right2">right</block>
<block name="content-mass-bottom" >content-mass-bottom</block>
</blocks>
<blocks name="bottom" style="xhtml">
<block name="botsl" type="spotlight" style="JArounded" wrap-inner="2">user6,user7,user8,user9</block>
<block name="module" type="spotlight" main-inner="2">user10,user11,user12,user13</block>
<block name="navhelper" type="navhelper" main-inner="1"></block>
<block name="footer" type="footer"></block>
</blocks>
</layout>change to
<?xml version="1.0" encoding="utf-8"?>
<layout name="desktop">
<!--Extra css load for this layout-->
<stylesheets>
</stylesheets>
<blocks name="top" style="xhtml">
<block name="hot-news">hotnews</block>
<block name="header" type="header" main-inner="1"></block>
<block name="mainnav" type="mainnav" main-inner="1"></block>
<block name="cpanel" type="usertools/cpanel"></block>
<block name="module" type="modules">yourmodulename</block>
<block name="slideshow" type="modules" wrap-inner="2">slideshow</block>
<block name="topsl" type="spotlight" main-inner="1">user1,user2,user3,user4</block>
</blocks>
<blocks name="middle" colwidth="25">
<block name="right-mass-top" >right-mass-top</block>
<block name="right1">left</block>
<block name="right2">right</block>
<block name="content-mass-bottom" >content-mass-bottom</block>
</blocks>
<blocks name="bottom" style="xhtml">
<block name="botsl" type="spotlight" style="JArounded" wrap-inner="2">user6,user7,user8,user9</block>
<block name="module" type="spotlight" main-inner="2">user10,user11,user12,user13</block>
<block name="navhelper" type="navhelper" main-inner="1"></block>
<block name="footer" type="footer"></block>
</blocks>
</layout>Then goto
/templates/ja_Ores/templateDetails.xml edit the file and at the end of positions settings add this line
<position>yournewmodulename</position>
save the file and clean your jaT3 cache
1 user says Thank You to pavit for this useful post
tworld Friendtworld
- Join date:
- October 2011
- Posts:
- 58
- Downloads:
- 0
- Uploads:
- 5
- Thanks:
- 6
- Thanked:
- 1 times in 1 posts
November 24, 2011 at 11:32 am #426260Cool, that was easy! What if I want this new position to be associated with a custom CSS ID or class, how do I do that? Right now, it comes up as <div id=”ja-module” class=”wrap “>…</div>.
EDIT: nevermind, figured it out. Thanks again for your assistance pavit.
tworld Friendtworld
- Join date:
- October 2011
- Posts:
- 58
- Downloads:
- 0
- Uploads:
- 5
- Thanks:
- 6
- Thanked:
- 1 times in 1 posts
November 26, 2011 at 6:53 pm #426591Sure thing. In the block definition, simply replace the module’s name with whatever class name you want, like this:
<block name="newclassname" type="modules">yourmodulename</block>
And in your CSS, you will be able to access it like this:
.ja-newclassname {
/* your rules here */
}Hope this helps.
1 user says Thank You to tworld for this useful post
-
AuthorPosts
This topic contains 7 replies, has 3 voices, and was last updated by tworld 12 years, 12 months ago.
We moved to new unified forum. Please post all new support queries in our New Forum