-
AuthorPosts
-
October 29, 2012 at 11:34 pm #181805
Hi, I need to change the column width here: http://lotoazulhotel.com/jatc_droid_j25/index.php/servicios.
I asked about how to solve this using the same template, version 1.5, (you can see the result here: http://lotoazulhotel.com/servicios) but unfortunately, I lost my bookmark, and I cannot find the answer anymore.
Your help will be greatly appreciatedThanks!
Saguaros ModeratorSaguaros
- Join date:
- September 2014
- Posts:
- 31405
- Downloads:
- 237
- Uploads:
- 471
- Thanks:
- 845
- Thanked:
- 5346 times in 4964 posts
October 30, 2012 at 3:44 am #471420Hi there,
Could you make a screenshot of where and how you want to change column width? also set Compress CSS in Template manager to No I shall check this for you.
October 30, 2012 at 5:19 pm #471475Hi, thanks for your help.
You can see as screenshot you asked for here: , and if you go to the site by pressing the link I provided: (http://lotoazulhotel.com/jatc_droid_….php/servicios ), you will be able to see it. The separation between the columns is too tight, as you will be able to see.
I have set the CSS stylesheet to “Optimize CSS: NO”.Thank you, an looking forward to your reply.
October 30, 2012 at 5:23 pm #471476Hi, thanks for your help.
You can see as screenshot you asked for here: , and if you go to the site by pressing the link I provided: (http://lotoazulhotel.com/jatc_droid_….php/servicios ), you will be able to see it. The separation between the columns is too tight, as you will be able to see, especially near the “Read More” area, where this is more evident.
I have set the CSS stylesheet to “Optimize CSS: NO”.Thank you, an looking forward to your reply.
Luna Garden ModeratorLuna Garden
- Join date:
- July 2011
- Posts:
- 2617
- Downloads:
- 80
- Uploads:
- 96
- Thanks:
- 78
- Thanked:
- 453 times in 425 posts
October 31, 2012 at 7:45 am #471542In your CSS file
templates/ja_droid/css/k2.css
Find these lines:
div.itemContainer {
border-bottom: 3px solid #CBD0E2
float: left;
margin-bottom: 10px;
padding-bottom: 10px;
}
Then change to:
div.itemContainer {
border-bottom: 3px solid #CBD0E2
float: left;
margin-right: 20px;
padding-bottom: 10px;
width: 45% !important;
}
October 31, 2012 at 2:08 pm #471579Hi, many thanks for your help, however, although there’s a change, the right hand side column disappears underneath the left, there’s only one column of items displayed instead of two. I changed the “margin-right: 20px;” in your code from “20” to “10”, and then to “0” just to test, but still got the same result. Right now the code is exactly as you proposed. What do you suggest?
Luna Garden ModeratorLuna Garden
- Join date:
- July 2011
- Posts:
- 2617
- Downloads:
- 80
- Uploads:
- 96
- Thanks:
- 78
- Thanked:
- 453 times in 425 posts
November 1, 2012 at 7:14 am #471655<em>@webmasterbea 344360 wrote:</em><blockquote>Hi, many thanks for your help, however, although there’s a change, the right hand side column disappears underneath the left, there’s only one column of items displayed instead of two. I changed the “margin-right: 20px;” in your code from “20” to “10”, and then to “0” just to test, but still got the same result. Right now the code is exactly as you proposed. What do you suggest?</blockquote>
I just check your site, the style is not added. Maybe you still not clear cache to see the changes.November 1, 2012 at 3:56 pm #471691Hi, I did, but I am under a lot of pressure to finish this website migration and this issue is holding the website delivery, so I went and looked again for the first solution I got during the first time I posted this problem, and I just found the response that helped me with the J!1.5 version, and I just now changed the code to the one he gave me. This is the original thread I am referring to:
“Thread: how to fix K2 section content columns too close to each other?”
“You replace the code from/templates/ja_droid/html/com_k2/templates/ja_droid/category.php
Code:
<div class=”itemContainer” style=”width:<?php echo number_format(100/$this->params->get(‘num_primary_columns’), 1); ?>%;”>
with
Code:
<div class=”itemContainer” style=”width:<?php echo number_format(90/$this->params->get(‘num_primary_columns’), 1); ?>%;<?php if(($key+1)%($this->params->get(‘num_primary_columns’))==0) { echo ‘float:right;’; } ?>”>”I used the piece of code he mentions on that thread, on the J!2.5 theme, and it kind of works, the columns appear better separated, BUT one column appears “lower” that the other. Please press this link to see what I mean:
http://lotoazulhotel.com/jatc_droid_j25/index.php/serviciosCould you tell me what’s the reason?
Many thanks again.
Luna Garden ModeratorLuna Garden
- Join date:
- July 2011
- Posts:
- 2617
- Downloads:
- 80
- Uploads:
- 96
- Thanks:
- 78
- Thanked:
- 453 times in 425 posts
November 2, 2012 at 7:01 am #471741<em>@webmasterbea 344520 wrote:</em><blockquote>Hi, I did, but I am under a lot of pressure to finish this website migration and this issue is holding the website delivery, so I went and looked again for the first solution I got during the first time I posted this problem, and I just found the response that helped me with the J!1.5 version, and I just now changed the code to the one he gave me. This is the original thread I am referring to:
“Thread: how to fix K2 section content columns too close to each other?”
“You replace the code from/templates/ja_droid/html/com_k2/templates/ja_droid/category.php
Code:
<div class=”itemContainer” style=”width:<?php echo number_format(100/$this->params->get(‘num_primary_columns’), 1); ?>%;”>
with
Code:
<div class=”itemContainer” style=”width:<?php echo number_format(90/$this->params->get(‘num_primary_columns’), 1); ?>%;<?php if(($key+1)%($this->params->get(‘num_primary_columns’))==0) { echo ‘float:right;’; } ?>”>”I used the piece of code he mentions on that thread, on the J!2.5 theme, and it kind of works, the columns appear better separated, BUT one column appears “lower” that the other. Please press this link to see what I mean:
http://lotoazulhotel.com/jatc_droid_j25/index.php/serviciosCould you tell me what’s the reason?
Many thanks again.</blockquote>
Wow thanks for sharing the solution : )
About your concern, I think It because each content of block not the same, one’s long, one’s short. You can avoid this by, resize for images of K2 content to the same size, and place readmore at equal character. That would make the block have the same height
November 2, 2012 at 3:29 pm #471792Hi,
I am afraid that is not the reason for the problem with the columns, one appearing higher than the other on the J!2.5 version. The images are all re-sized automatically, and they are all set the same as the example provided for Joomla 1.5 http://lotoazulhotel.com/servicios. My point is that the solution should work the same for J!2.5 I just need help to make the columns look at the same height. I need to know what is causing that. Can you help?November 2, 2012 at 6:32 pm #471803I am now closer to get the desired result that can be seen on the J1.5 version (http://lotoazulhotel.com/servicios)
What I did was to use the code I added above, PLUS I added the code you suggested too to “templates/ja_droid/css/k2.css”However, the space between the content columns is still kind of tight, not as open as in the 1.5 version, AND the modules on the right hand side column are having trouble loading at the top of the column on the http://lotoazulhotel.com/jatc_droid_j25/index.php/servicios page. Any suggestions as to where to look to fix this?Many thanks.
Luna Garden ModeratorLuna Garden
- Join date:
- July 2011
- Posts:
- 2617
- Downloads:
- 80
- Uploads:
- 96
- Thanks:
- 78
- Thanked:
- 453 times in 425 posts
November 5, 2012 at 7:29 am #471907<em>@webmasterbea 344671 wrote:</em><blockquote>I am now closer to get the desired result that can be seen on the J1.5 version (http://lotoazulhotel.com/servicios)
What I did was to use the code I added above, PLUS I added the code you suggested too to “templates/ja_droid/css/k2.css”However, the space between the content columns is still kind of tight, not as open as in the 1.5 version, AND the modules on the right hand side column are having trouble loading at the top of the column on the http://lotoazulhotel.com/jatc_droid_j25/index.php/servicios page. Any suggestions as to where to look to fix this?Many thanks.</blockquote>
The code<div class="itemContainer" style="width:<?php echo number_format(90/$this->params->get('num_primary_columns'), 1); ?>%;<?php if(($key+1)%($this->params->get('num_primary_columns'))==0) { echo 'float:right;'; } ?>">
I have tried and it works.
Maybe you didn’t copy to the right place, there should be 3 place to paste, for first item, second items, and last item.
You replace the code from/templates/ja_droid/html/com_k2/templates/ja_droid/category.php
and did you set using template ja_droid for K2
After adding your code, please clear cache.
<em>@webmasterbea 344656 wrote:</em><blockquote>Hi,
I am afraid that is not the reason for the problem with the columns, one appearing higher than the other on the J!2.5 version. The images are all re-sized automatically, and they are all set the same as the example provided for Joomla 1.5 http://lotoazulhotel.com/servicios. My point is that the solution should work the same for J!2.5 I just need help to make the columns look at the same height. I need to know what is causing that. Can you help?</blockquote>
In J15, the height of block also not the same, to handle this, only by setting image have the same size, and the text description has the same number characters.AuthorPostsViewing 12 posts - 1 through 12 (of 12 total)This topic contains 12 replies, has 3 voices, and was last updated by Luna Garden 12 years ago.
We moved to new unified forum. Please post all new support queries in our New Forum
How to change the content column width on JA-Droid
Viewing 12 posts - 1 through 12 (of 12 total)