-
AuthorPosts
-
tworld Friend
tworld
- Join date:
- October 2011
- Posts:
- 58
- Downloads:
- 0
- Uploads:
- 5
- Thanks:
- 6
- Thanked:
- 1 times in 1 posts
October 18, 2011 at 10:05 pm #169803I am currently using the JA_Ores template and I am trying to figure out how I can customize the JA SlideShow 3 module that came with it to suit my needs. I have the following questions:
– how can the module be configured to NOT make the whole stage area automatically link to the article (when Source is specified as From Articles)? (extremely important)
– how can the thumbnail area be customized to show textual content that is DIFFERENT than what appears on the stage (when Source is specified as From Articles)? For example, on the stage, I have a search form field, but I don’t want the field label to show in the thumbnail area. I want the title to show, but I want different text to show (or even an image of my choosing), how do I go about doing that? The module is making this one extremely difficult because it seems to strip ALL the tags and adds a H3 tag for the title only. It would be cool if the module had a Remove Tags? options for the thumbnail area so that I can choose what to hide or show in the thumbnail area myself, i.e. show the title, but hide the description or hide parts of the description, as opposed to letting the module break the words for me. Any chance of something like this being added.
– how do I control the size of the titles in the thumbnail area? (figured it out, this was possible because the module wraps the title with a H3 tag)
– how do I add a background image to each of the ‘slides’ of the stage, but without making the background animate with the rest of the text on the stage?
khoand Friendkhoand
- Join date:
- February 2011
- Posts:
- 4500
- Downloads:
- 0
- Uploads:
- 179
- Thanks:
- 169
- Thanked:
- 1166 times in 1060 posts
October 19, 2011 at 3:04 am #420109– how can the module be configured to NOT make the whole stage area automatically link to the article (when Source is specified as From Articles)? (extremely important)
I don’t understand what you mean clearly? Could you explain more details? A snapshot with your annotation is very helpful.
The module is making this one extremely difficult because it seems to strip ALL the tags and adds a H3 tag for the title only. It would be cool if the module had a Remove Tags? options for the thumbnail area so that I can choose what to hide or show in the thumbnail area myself, i.e. show the title, but hide the description or hide parts of the description, as opposed to letting the module break the words for me. Any chance of something like this being added.
In configuration of slideshow, there is Include Tags to suite for you
– how do I control the size of the titles in the thumbnail area? (figured it out, this was possible because the module wraps the title with a H3 tag)
You change code from /templates/ja_business/css/mod_jaslideshow2.css
.ja-slide-thumbs-wrap .active .ja-slide-thumb-inner h3 {
color: #FD8900 !important;
}– how do I add a background image to each of the ‘slides’ of the stage, but without making the background animate with the rest of the text on the stage?
A picture to illustrate your idea clearly.
tworld Friendtworld
- Join date:
- October 2011
- Posts:
- 58
- Downloads:
- 0
- Uploads:
- 5
- Thanks:
- 6
- Thanked:
- 1 times in 1 posts
October 19, 2011 at 3:25 am #420114<em>@khoand 276870 wrote:</em><blockquote>In configuration of slideshow, there is Include Tags to suite for you</blockquote>
The Include Tags setting removed the tags but kept the text.Here’s a picture of what I mean:
For the background picture, I mean a picture over the orange background. So, the orange background stays, but the stage area that has 3 slides, and I was wondering if there could be 1 different additional background/pictures per slide.
khoand Friendkhoand
- Join date:
- February 2011
- Posts:
- 4500
- Downloads:
- 0
- Uploads:
- 179
- Thanks:
- 169
- Thanked:
- 1166 times in 1060 posts
October 20, 2011 at 4:47 pm #420533I want the text in the STAGE area different than the text in the THUMBNAILs area
I have a trick. Example: Contact,
text is STAGE area will be
A quis fringilla In lacinia ligula nonummy dui Nam at feugiat. Metus ac ipsum convallis eleifend accumsan neque Aenean Suspendisse enim ut. Sed auctor Nunc Nam convallis justo sit a et tempor at. Id aliquam wisi
text in the THUMBNAILs area will be
text THUMBNAILs
How to do that? You edit Contact article, click Toggle editor button to switch HTML mode, replace
<p>A quis fringilla In lacinia ligula nonummy dui Nam at feugiat. Metus ac ipsum convallis eleifend accumsan neque Aenean Suspendisse enim ut. Sed auctor Nunc Nam convallis justo sit a et tempor at. Id aliquam wisi</p>
with
<p class="thumbnail">11111</p>
<p class="stage">A quis fringilla In lacinia ligula nonummy dui Nam at feugiat. Metus ac ipsum convallis eleifend accumsan neque Aenean Suspendisse enim ut. Sed auctor Nunc Nam convallis justo sit a et tempor at. Id aliquam wisi</p>
Add this code into /templates/ja_ores/css/template.css
.ja-slide-thumb-inner .stage, .maskDesc .thumbnail {
display: none;
}tworld Friendtworld
- Join date:
- October 2011
- Posts:
- 58
- Downloads:
- 0
- Uploads:
- 5
- Thanks:
- 6
- Thanked:
- 1 times in 1 posts
October 20, 2011 at 6:30 pm #420567Hmmm, I tried something similar to this, using visibility:hidden and it didn’t work for me. And the reason is because the module removes all the tags surrounding the description in the thumbnail.
This is what the HTML looks like when the SlideShow module (version 2.1.6) generates the thumbnail:
<div class="ja-slide-thumb-inner">
<h3>Title</h3>
Description goes here.
</div>As you can see, there is no tag around the description because the module removes them. What the module needs to do is to generate thumbnail like this:
<div class="ja-slide-thumb-inner">
<h3>Title</h3>
<div or span or p class="thumbDesc">Description goes here.</div or span or p>
</div>This way, I can go in my own CSS file for the new theme I created and hide it like this:
In the article:
<p class="stageDesc">stage description</p>
<p class="thumbDesc">thumbnail description</p>In my theme's CSS:
.ja-slide-desc .thumbDesc, .ja-slide-thumb-inner .stageDesc {
display: none;
visibility: hidden;
}Because the title has a tag around it, I can hide the thumbnail title if I want to with the following CSS:
.ja-slide-thumb-inner h3 {
display: none !important;
}khoand Friendkhoand
- Join date:
- February 2011
- Posts:
- 4500
- Downloads:
- 0
- Uploads:
- 179
- Thanks:
- 169
- Thanked:
- 1166 times in 1060 posts
October 21, 2011 at 6:38 am #420634Could you give me username+password of your backend?
khoand Friendkhoand
- Join date:
- February 2011
- Posts:
- 4500
- Downloads:
- 0
- Uploads:
- 179
- Thanks:
- 169
- Thanked:
- 1166 times in 1060 posts
October 23, 2011 at 5:23 am #420940I’m very sorry for late response.
But I can’t access your website. Because This site is down for maintenance.
And I can’t access Welcome to trauma-world.com module because I get a error:Check-out failed with the following error: The user checking out does not match the user who checked out the item.
You are not permitted to use that link to directly access that page (#83).You close the module manually by open i and click Close button. And you open website, please.
tworld Friendtworld
- Join date:
- October 2011
- Posts:
- 58
- Downloads:
- 0
- Uploads:
- 5
- Thanks:
- 6
- Thanked:
- 1 times in 1 posts
October 23, 2011 at 7:22 am #420946The Web site is open and everything is checked in. Try again please.
khoand Friendkhoand
- Join date:
- February 2011
- Posts:
- 4500
- Downloads:
- 0
- Uploads:
- 179
- Thanks:
- 169
- Thanked:
- 1166 times in 1060 posts
October 23, 2011 at 9:41 am #420957I use slideshow 2 and you use slideshow 3. They are different. I didn’t notice the thing. Slideshow 3 remove HTML tags when it render thumbnail text. To disable that remove tags, you replace this code from /modules/mod_jaslideshow/tmpl/default_articles.php
<?php echo $helper->trimString( strip_tags($item->introtext), $navDescmaxlength ); ?>
with
<?php echo $helper->trimString( $item->introtext, $navDescmaxlength ); ?>
You clean T3 cache and do as I said in previous post.tworld Friendtworld
- Join date:
- October 2011
- Posts:
- 58
- Downloads:
- 0
- Uploads:
- 5
- Thanks:
- 6
- Thanked:
- 1 times in 1 posts
October 23, 2011 at 3:55 pm #421024Thanks Khoand, but does this mean that every time I update the module, I will need to make sure this change doesn’t get overwritten?
Wouldn’t it be more practical to add a Strip Tag? setting in the Slideshow 3 to keep the module flexible?
khoand Friendkhoand
- Join date:
- February 2011
- Posts:
- 4500
- Downloads:
- 0
- Uploads:
- 179
- Thanks:
- 169
- Thanked:
- 1166 times in 1060 posts
October 24, 2011 at 7:08 am #421140Thanks Khoand, but does this mean that every time I update the module, I will need to make sure this change doesn’t get overwritten?
Yes, you’re right.
Wouldn’t it be more practical to add a Strip Tag? setting in the Slideshow 3 to keep the module flexible?
I ask dev team for your idea.
1 user says Thank You to khoand for this useful post
AuthorPostsViewing 11 posts - 1 through 11 (of 11 total)This topic contains 11 replies, has 2 voices, and was last updated by khoand 13 years ago.
We moved to new unified forum. Please post all new support queries in our New Forum
How to configure SlideShow to NOT link stage area and manipulate font size?
Viewing 11 posts - 1 through 11 (of 11 total)