-
AuthorPosts
-
jakeyboy Friend
jakeyboy
- Join date:
- April 2011
- Posts:
- 42
- Downloads:
- 0
- Uploads:
- 0
- Thanks:
- 6
- Thanked:
- 1 times in 1 posts
May 12, 2011 at 2:40 am #163895I have had recent enquiries from my website users as to whether I can make it so that the images in the front page module are linked to the articles they are about?
At present you need to click the title/text.
Here’s my site: http://www.progressivetalks.com
Any ideas as to how I might do this?
Thanks heaps 🙂
khoand Friendkhoand
- Join date:
- February 2011
- Posts:
- 4500
- Downloads:
- 0
- Uploads:
- 179
- Thanks:
- 169
- Thanked:
- 1166 times in 1060 posts
May 12, 2011 at 4:09 am #390868Hi,
You replace this code from <joomla url>modulesmod_janewsprotmpllinearblog_item.php file
<?php if($showimage) echo $row->image; ?>
with
<?php if($showimage):
<a href="<?php echo $row->link;?>" title="<?php echo strip_tags($row->title);?>"><?php echo $row->image;?></a>
<?php endif; ?>1 user says Thank You to khoand for this useful post
jakeyboy Friendjakeyboy
- Join date:
- April 2011
- Posts:
- 42
- Downloads:
- 0
- Uploads:
- 0
- Thanks:
- 6
- Thanked:
- 1 times in 1 posts
May 12, 2011 at 4:16 am #390871Sorry, I should have been more clear…
I’m meant the Ja News_FP (Front Page) Module, not Newspro…
Is it similar?
Thanks again
khoand Friendkhoand
- Join date:
- February 2011
- Posts:
- 4500
- Downloads:
- 0
- Uploads:
- 179
- Thanks:
- 169
- Thanked:
- 1166 times in 1060 posts
May 12, 2011 at 12:42 pm #390963You replace this code from <joomla url>modulesmod_janews_featuredtmpldefaultblog.php file
<?php if($bigshowimage) echo $news->bigimage?>
with
<?php if($bigshowimage):?>
<a href="<?php echo $news->link;?>" title="<?php echo strip_tags($news->title); ?>">
<?php echo $news->bigimage?>
</a>
<?php endif; ?>
jakeyboy Friendjakeyboy
- Join date:
- April 2011
- Posts:
- 42
- Downloads:
- 0
- Uploads:
- 0
- Thanks:
- 6
- Thanked:
- 1 times in 1 posts
May 12, 2011 at 1:04 pm #390968Thanks! That worked great.. except the module was mod_janews_fp…
Just writing that for anyone else that reads this thread
Appreciate the help!
khoand Friendkhoand
- Join date:
- February 2011
- Posts:
- 4500
- Downloads:
- 0
- Uploads:
- 179
- Thanks:
- 169
- Thanked:
- 1166 times in 1060 posts
May 12, 2011 at 3:25 pm #390979Does your post help you? If it doesn’t, could you give me a snapshot with your annotation?
jakeyboy Friendjakeyboy
- Join date:
- April 2011
- Posts:
- 42
- Downloads:
- 0
- Uploads:
- 0
- Thanks:
- 6
- Thanked:
- 1 times in 1 posts
issay Friendissay
- Join date:
- November 2009
- Posts:
- 114
- Downloads:
- 0
- Uploads:
- 22
- Thanks:
- 26
- Thanked:
- 5 times in 1 posts
May 21, 2011 at 1:59 am #392182thanks khoand
that worked for me. now i can click on feature image and, images in linear mode in ja news. but in default mode I cant . can you tell me how to do that in default theme of Ja news pro.
khoand Friendkhoand
- Join date:
- February 2011
- Posts:
- 4500
- Downloads:
- 0
- Uploads:
- 179
- Thanks:
- 169
- Thanked:
- 1166 times in 1060 posts
May 27, 2011 at 3:39 am #393087<em>@issay 241688 wrote:</em><blockquote>thanks khoand
that worked for me. now i can click on feature image and, images in linear mode in ja news. but in default mode I cant . can you tell me how to do that in default theme of Ja news pro.</blockquote>
Sorry about late response,
You replace this code from <joomla url>modulesmod_janewsprotmpldefaultblog_item.p hp file
<?php if($showimage) echo $row->image; ?>
with
<?php if($showimage):
<a href="<?php echo $row->link;?>" title="<?php echo strip_tags($row->title);?>"><?php echo $row->image;?></a>
<?php endif; ?>1 user says Thank You to khoand for this useful post
issay Friendissay
- Join date:
- November 2009
- Posts:
- 114
- Downloads:
- 0
- Uploads:
- 22
- Thanks:
- 26
- Thanked:
- 5 times in 1 posts
June 1, 2011 at 3:29 pm #394157I cant see this code in modulesmod_janewsprotmpldefaultblog_item.php file
NOTE
sorry. after that I searched for the code with my eye. and found. hehe. befire I searched with Dreamweaver. and because there was a space in the code it didnt match with searh word.
now iam fine with it.
by the way, is there any side effect by doing this? I mean like extra memory consumtion, or slowing the site?
khoand Friendkhoand
- Join date:
- February 2011
- Posts:
- 4500
- Downloads:
- 0
- Uploads:
- 179
- Thanks:
- 169
- Thanked:
- 1166 times in 1060 posts
whiteman43 Friendwhiteman43
- Join date:
- May 2011
- Posts:
- 8
- Downloads:
- 0
- Uploads:
- 1
- Thanked:
- 1 times in 1 posts
June 6, 2011 at 9:44 am #394888Hi, I tried this but it doesn’t work and shows error for linear layout. Can you please tell me what to do?
It shoows this >>
Parse error: syntax error, unexpected ‘<‘ in ………….modules/mod_janewspro/tmpl/linear/blog_item.php on line 55
whiteman43 Friendwhiteman43
- Join date:
- May 2011
- Posts:
- 8
- Downloads:
- 0
- Uploads:
- 1
- Thanked:
- 1 times in 1 posts
June 6, 2011 at 10:08 am #394898Hi,
You replace this code from <joomla url>modulesmod_janewsprotmpllinearblog_item.p hp file
Code:<?php if($showimage) echo $row->image; ?>
with
Code:<?php if($showimage):
<a href=”<?php echo $row->link;?>” title=”<?php echo strip_tags($row->title);?>”><?php echo $row->image;?></a>
<?php endif; ?>This will be
<?php if($showimage):?>
<a href=”<?php echo $row->link;?>” title=”<?php echo strip_tags($row->title);?>”><?php echo $row->image;?></a>
<?php endif; ?>1 user says Thank You to whiteman43 for this useful post
khoand Friendkhoand
- Join date:
- February 2011
- Posts:
- 4500
- Downloads:
- 0
- Uploads:
- 179
- Thanks:
- 169
- Thanked:
- 1166 times in 1060 posts
June 7, 2011 at 12:45 pm #395096Could you give me username+password of ftp and a link to your website? I will check it
minsunlee Friendminsunlee
- Join date:
- March 2011
- Posts:
- 24
- Downloads:
- 0
- Uploads:
- 4
- Thanks:
- 3
- Thanked:
- 3 times in 1 posts
September 8, 2011 at 4:39 pm #411508<em>@khoand 242880 wrote:</em><blockquote>Sorry about late response,
You replace this code from <joomla url>modulesmod_janewsprotmpldefaultblog_item.p hp file<?php if($showimage) echo $row->image; ?>
with
<?php if($showimage):
<a href="<?php echo $row->link;?>" title="<?php echo strip_tags($row->title);?>"><?php echo $row->image;?></a>
<?php endif; ?>
</blockquote>In this code
<?php if($showimage):
<a href="<?php echo $row->link;?>" title="<?php echo strip_tags($row->title);?>"><?php echo $row->image;?></a>
<?php endif; ?>First line is missing ?>
1 user says Thank You to minsunlee for this useful post
AuthorPostsThis topic contains 18 replies, has 7 voices, and was last updated by Saguaros 11 years, 1 month ago.
We moved to new unified forum. Please post all new support queries in our New Forum