-
AuthorPosts
-
davidrabinov Friend
davidrabinov
- Join date:
- January 2010
- Posts:
- 128
- Downloads:
- 0
- Uploads:
- 5
- Thanks:
- 15
- Thanked:
- 1 times in 1 posts
January 5, 2010 at 5:41 am #147319Hi,
How can I remove that big IE6 banner that keeps popping up in IE?
I know there’s a checkbox to remove it, but I need that banner gone.
Thank you
prakash Friendprakash
- Join date:
- October 2008
- Posts:
- 439
- Downloads:
- 0
- Uploads:
- 1
- Thanks:
- 2
- Thanked:
- 146 times in 115 posts
January 5, 2010 at 7:33 am #328218to completely remove you need to do the following
1. in the templatesja_teline_iiilayoutsdefault.php
find this at the end just before </body><?php if ($this->isIE6()) : ?>
<?php $this->loadBlock('ie6/ie6warning') ?>
<?php endif; ?>
and delete it…
now you will see a blank space being left out at top
for that open this file – templatesja_teline_iiicssie.css
find this >
*html #ja-wrapper { margin-top: 205px; }
here change margin top from current 205 to 0px …this should remove the IE bar completely
3 users say Thank You to prakash for this useful post
davidrabinov Frienddavidrabinov
- Join date:
- January 2010
- Posts:
- 128
- Downloads:
- 0
- Uploads:
- 5
- Thanks:
- 15
- Thanked:
- 1 times in 1 posts
January 5, 2010 at 2:27 pm #328283<em>@prbalge 158996 wrote:</em><blockquote>
now you will see a blank space being left out at top
for that open this file – templatesja_teline_iiicssie.css
find this >
*html #ja-wrapper { margin-top: 205px; }
here change margin top from current 205 to 0px …this should remove the IE bar completely</blockquote>
I can’t find the above
This what I have for templatesja_teline_iiicssie.css
#ja-left .ja-l2 .ja-left1, #ja-left .ja-l2 .ja-left2,
#ja-right .ja-r2 .ja-right1, #ja-right .ja-r2 .ja-right2 { width: 49.99%; }#ja-left .ja-l2 .ja-left2, #ja-right .ja-r2 .ja-right2 { float: right; }
#ja-container.ja-l2 .main { background: url(../images/dot-1pxfix.gif) repeat-y 40% 0 #fff; }
#ja-container.ja-r2 .main { background: url(../images/dot-1pxfix.gif) repeat-y 60% 0 #fff; }
#ja-container.ja-r1 .main { background: url(../images/dot-1pxfix.gif) repeat-y 80% 0 #fff; }.ja-zinfp-featured { width: 49.99%; background-image: none; }
.cols2 .article_column { width: 49.99%; }
.cols3 .article_column { width: 33.3%; }
.cols4 .article_column { width: 24.99%; }
.cols5 .article_column { width: 19.99%; }/* clearfix ---*/
#ja-subnav ul, ul.pagination li span, ul.pagination a, #ja-footnav,
.counter span, .contentdescription, .leading {
zoom: 1;
}#ja-footnav {
width: 100%;
}prakash Friendprakash
- Join date:
- October 2008
- Posts:
- 439
- Downloads:
- 0
- Uploads:
- 1
- Thanks:
- 2
- Thanked:
- 146 times in 115 posts
January 5, 2010 at 3:00 pm #328288hmm…surprising…
my file has this after .cols5 .articlecolumn…
*html #ja-wrapper { margin-top: 205px; }
if you do not have it in your css file…add this
*html #ja-wrapper { margin-top: 0px; }
only if you see a blank space on top in IE6
gray Friendgray
- Join date:
- October 2009
- Posts:
- 957
- Downloads:
- 0
- Uploads:
- 17
- Thanks:
- 28
- Thanked:
- 292 times in 230 posts
January 5, 2010 at 3:45 pm #328293The pop-up banner could be a good issue. Still, about 20% of my site’s visitors use IE6. My question is how to make the pop-up banner smaller (fonts, icons etc.)?
davidrabinov Frienddavidrabinov
- Join date:
- January 2010
- Posts:
- 128
- Downloads:
- 0
- Uploads:
- 5
- Thanks:
- 15
- Thanked:
- 1 times in 1 posts
January 5, 2010 at 3:53 pm #328295<em>@gray 159087 wrote:</em><blockquote>The pop-up banner could be a good issue. Still, about 20% of my site’s visitors use IE6. My question is how to make the pop-up banner smaller (fonts, icons etc.)?</blockquote>
I agree here, a smaller banner would be better. Good idea.
However – I’m using IE7, why is it popping up? Shouldn’t it be displaying only in IE6?
gray Friendgray
- Join date:
- October 2009
- Posts:
- 957
- Downloads:
- 0
- Uploads:
- 17
- Thanks:
- 28
- Thanked:
- 292 times in 230 posts
January 5, 2010 at 4:20 pm #328300Yes, it should appear only in IE6
<?php if ($this->isIE6()) : ?>
<?php $this->loadBlock('ie6/ie6warning') ?>
<?php endif; ?>
In what version of EI7 it appears for you?
davidrabinov Frienddavidrabinov
- Join date:
- January 2010
- Posts:
- 128
- Downloads:
- 0
- Uploads:
- 5
- Thanks:
- 15
- Thanked:
- 1 times in 1 posts
January 5, 2010 at 4:44 pm #328304gray;159094
in what version of ei7 it appears for you?
7.0.6002.18005
davidrabinov Frienddavidrabinov
- Join date:
- January 2010
- Posts:
- 128
- Downloads:
- 0
- Uploads:
- 5
- Thanks:
- 15
- Thanked:
- 1 times in 1 posts
January 5, 2010 at 6:18 pm #328314<em>@prbalge 159081 wrote:</em><blockquote>hmm…surprising…
my file has this after .cols5 .articlecolumn…
*html #ja-wrapper { margin-top: 205px; }
if you do not have it in your css file…add this
*html #ja-wrapper { margin-top: 0px; }
only if you see a blank space on top in IE6</blockquote>
Hi, I did the above. Unfortunately the space is still there. And in IE7. It has been checked in a few machines all running IE7. :((
micrantha Friendmicrantha
- Join date:
- May 2007
- Posts:
- 465
- Downloads:
- 0
- Uploads:
- 6
- Thanks:
- 6
- Thanked:
- 158 times in 148 posts
January 5, 2010 at 9:46 pm #328326Hello,
*html #ja-wrapper { margin-top: 205px; }
It is in template-version1.3 (…css/ie.css), but not any more in version 1.4In fact code for this option in template appears to be rewritten in version 1.4
To modify in 1.3 you can follow user prbalge.
To modify the warning you could make changes to file layouts/blocks/ie6/ie6warning.php
This file opens with a div-tag:
<div style="" id="ie6-warning" class="wrap">
So selector is #ie6-warning.
This selector is styled in file typo.css (template-version 1.3)But in template-version 1.4 there is an extra file in directory blocks/ie: ie6warning.css
And above all: ie6warning.php is rewritten.
It seems you can now configure different options in this file:
define ('SHOW_IE6_WARNING', 'close');
/*
Setting for this message. Clear cookie if you change this setting.
'none': Not show warning
'once': Show one time only
'close': Show until user check box "Not show again" and close the message
'always': Always show this message
*/I cannot test it now, but hope it helps finding the path.
Micrantha(@ davidrabinov: in my IE7, same version, no warning shown)
1 user says Thank You to micrantha for this useful post
davidrabinov Frienddavidrabinov
- Join date:
- January 2010
- Posts:
- 128
- Downloads:
- 0
- Uploads:
- 5
- Thanks:
- 15
- Thanked:
- 1 times in 1 posts
January 5, 2010 at 10:27 pm #328329micrantha Friendmicrantha
- Join date:
- May 2007
- Posts:
- 465
- Downloads:
- 0
- Uploads:
- 6
- Thanks:
- 6
- Thanked:
- 158 times in 148 posts
January 5, 2010 at 10:37 pm #328330If you are using template-version 1.4 you could try modifying file ie6warning.php (layouts/blocks/ie6/ie6warning.php)
It opens with lines
define ('SHOW_IE6_WARNING', 'close');
/*
Setting for this message. Clear cookie if you change this setting.
'none': Not show warning
'once': Show one time only
'close': Show until user check box "Not show again" and close the message
'always': Always show this message
*/So I guess you only have to change first line in:
define ('SHOW_IE6_WARNING', 'none');
As I said earlier: at the moment I cannot test it in a local installation.
Regards,
Micranthadavidrabinov Frienddavidrabinov
- Join date:
- January 2010
- Posts:
- 128
- Downloads:
- 0
- Uploads:
- 5
- Thanks:
- 15
- Thanked:
- 1 times in 1 posts
January 5, 2010 at 10:59 pm #328333Thanks Micrantha, it’s gone in my IE7. I’ll have to wait till later to test in IE6
gray Friendgray
- Join date:
- October 2009
- Posts:
- 957
- Downloads:
- 0
- Uploads:
- 17
- Thanks:
- 28
- Thanked:
- 292 times in 230 posts
April 22, 2010 at 4:49 am #341134<em>@micrantha 159140 wrote:</em><blockquote>
So I guess you only have to change first line in:define ('SHOW_IE6_WARNING', 'none');
As I said earlier: at the moment I cannot test it in a local installation.
</blockquote>Thanks for the hint!
My question to JA – if it’s now cofigurable by setting SHOW_IE6_WARNING value in ie6warning.php, could it be an option at template back-end configuration page?
didima Frienddidima
- Join date:
- September 2007
- Posts:
- 394
- Downloads:
- 2
- Uploads:
- 6
- Thanks:
- 12
- Thanked:
- 31 times in 3 posts
April 25, 2010 at 1:57 am #341456well dont know how this works but comes up with ie7 and dont know
AuthorPostsViewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 15 total)This topic contains 15 replies, has 5 voices, and was last updated by didima 14 years, 6 months ago.
We moved to new unified forum. Please post all new support queries in our New Forum
How to remove the big IE banner that pops up
Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 15 total)