-
AuthorPosts
-
antoniu1 Friend
antoniu1
- Join date:
- July 2006
- Posts:
- 349
- Downloads:
- 0
- Uploads:
- 5
- Thanks:
- 29
- Thanked:
- 40 times in 1 posts
November 19, 2009 at 7:22 pm #146200Hi,
Very nice template.
I am wondering how to set custom column widths? I would expect that to be set in the template configurations, but that’s still not implemented.
Can you please tell me where exactly what needs to be adjusted, so I don;t need to figure out and possibly forget something, somewhere?
Thanks in advance!
TomNovember 20, 2009 at 4:45 am #324335Thanks for mentioning this problem. I am also really interested in this as current template layout left too much blank space at the left/right side. It will be great if we can expand the left/right/middle column.
Actually I ‘ve asked this question in Topz template forums but still got no answer.
Anyway , appreciate if developer can give us some instructions.mmay Friendmmay
- Join date:
- October 2007
- Posts:
- 51
- Downloads:
- 0
- Uploads:
- 0
- Thanks:
- 9
- Thanked:
- 1 times in 1 posts
November 20, 2009 at 3:11 pm #324425I cannot find where to adjust this, or even where this number is:
<div id=”ja-left” class=”column sidebar” style=”width:25%”>
Saguaros ModeratorSaguaros
- Join date:
- September 2014
- Posts:
- 31405
- Downloads:
- 237
- Uploads:
- 471
- Thanks:
- 845
- Thanked:
- 5346 times in 4964 posts
November 23, 2009 at 9:00 am #324663Hello all,
Now, you open the file: templates/ja_kyanite/layouts/default.php and try to find a section code at line 20
[PHP]$this->_basewidth = 25;[/PHP]
The variable is using to set default width of column in the ja template with the unit is expressed as a percentage(%).
You see the concept of the design layout in here:
http://static.joomlart.com/images/templates/ja_teline_iii/news/ja_framework.jpgJA Template has maximum 3 main columns, They are left column, right column, and main column ( contain main content ).
– The left column was set equal 25% of the layout’s width (#ja-left)
– The right column was set equal 25% the layout’s width. (#ja-right)
– The main column was set 100%- 25* ( n*column ) % the layout ‘s width, (n equal 2 or equal 1 or equal 0 if one or both columns enable or disable ). (#ja-main)In each main column you can turn on some column which ja template supported. Here is the setting to turn on those columns,
[PHP]
$positions = array (
‘left1′ =>’left’,
‘left2’ =>”,
‘left-mass-top’ =>”,
‘left-mass-bottom’ =>”,
‘right1′ =>’right’,
‘right2’ =>”,
‘right-mass-top’ =>”,
‘right-mass-bottom’ =>”,
‘content-mass-top’ =>”,
‘content-mass-bottom’ =>”,
‘content-top’ =>”,
‘content-bottom’ =>”,
‘inset1’ =>”,
‘inset2’ =>”
);
[/PHP]You can see codes above in templates/ja_kyanite/layouts/default.php file.
Nick R JA JobBoardNick R
- Join date:
- August 2009
- Posts:
- 284
- Downloads:
- 0
- Uploads:
- 9
- Thanks:
- 12
- Thanked:
- 20 times in 1 posts
November 23, 2009 at 10:07 pm #324715Looks ok so far.
But where do i change the entire width of the whole template? I mean, when i want to expand the left and right column, the main (middle) column becomes smaller, thats logic. But as example, i want to use this template in full size, i mean the browser window, where can i change this?
I have to make left and right column bigger but to prevent that the middle column becomes to small, i have to change the width of the whole template.Any ideas?
Cheers
NickelSaguaros ModeratorSaguaros
- Join date:
- September 2014
- Posts:
- 31405
- Downloads:
- 237
- Uploads:
- 471
- Thanks:
- 845
- Thanked:
- 5346 times in 4964 posts
November 24, 2009 at 7:24 am #324744and more:
You can make custom width by using this function:
[PHP]$this->customwidth( $positionName, $number )[/PHP]
Example:
[PHP]$this->customwidth(‘right1’, 25)[/PHP]You put it under the “define position” block codes:
Nick R JA JobBoardNick R
- Join date:
- August 2009
- Posts:
- 284
- Downloads:
- 0
- Uploads:
- 9
- Thanks:
- 12
- Thanked:
- 20 times in 1 posts
November 24, 2009 at 8:56 am #324763<em>@tienhc 154346 wrote:</em><blockquote>and more:
You can make custom width by using this function:
[PHP]$this->customwidth( $positionName, $number )[/PHP]
Example:
[PHP]$this->customwidth(‘right1’, 25)[/PHP]You put it under the “define position” block codes:</blockquote>
Ok, so waht should i use, to make the entire site wider. I can see only the “position names”.
Cheers
NickelNick R JA JobBoardNick R
- Join date:
- August 2009
- Posts:
- 284
- Downloads:
- 0
- Uploads:
- 9
- Thanks:
- 12
- Thanked:
- 20 times in 1 posts
November 25, 2009 at 10:57 pm #325012Regarding to your link http://static.joomlart.com/images/templates/ja_teline_iii/news/ja_framework.jpg
i would say that i mean ja-wrapper. What should i do to make the page to a fixed width? Im stuck,. sorry.November 26, 2009 at 2:16 am #325017Yes Nickel is asking the questions I have..
I believe we share the same opionins which is, both left and right margin are left too much space…
If we increas the right/left as instructed in previous reply, the body will became smaller and ….ugly…
So any idea how to “EXPAND” the template ?Thanks..
<em>@algmed 154311 wrote:</em><blockquote>Looks ok so far.
But where do i change the entire width of the whole template? I mean, when i want to expand the left and right column, the main (middle) column becomes smaller, thats logic. But as example, i want to use this template in full size, i mean the browser window, where can i change this?
I have to make left and right column bigger but to prevent that the middle column becomes to small, i have to change the width of the whole template.Any ideas?
Cheers
Nickel</blockquote>Nick R JA JobBoardNick R
- Join date:
- August 2009
- Posts:
- 284
- Downloads:
- 0
- Uploads:
- 9
- Thanks:
- 12
- Thanked:
- 20 times in 1 posts
November 27, 2009 at 12:47 pm #325133Well i have found the solution even if no one from the templates devs 😉
So this is what i find in index.php.
[PHP]//Calculate the width of template
$tmplWidth = ”;
$tmplWrapMin = ‘100%’;
switch ($tmplTools->getParam(JA_TOOL_SCREEN)){
case ‘auto’:
$tmplWidth = ‘97%’;
break;
case ‘fluid’:
$tmplWidth = intval($tmplTools->getParam(‘ja_screen-fluid-fix-ja_screen_width’));
$tmplWidth = $tmplWidth ? $tmplWidth.’%’ : ‘90%’;
break;
case ‘fix’:
$tmplWidth = intval($tmplTools->getParam(‘ja_screen-fluid-fix-ja_screen_width’));
$tmplWrapMin = $tmplWidth ? ($tmplWidth+1).’px’ : ‘771px’;
$tmplWidth = $tmplWidth ? $tmplWidth.’px’ : ‘770px’;
break;
default:
$tmplWidth = intval($tmplTools->getParam(JA_TOOL_SCREEN));
$tmplWrapMin = $tmplWidth ? ($tmplWidth+1).’px’ : ‘981px’;
$tmplWidth = $tmplWidth ? $tmplWidth.’px’ : ‘980px’;
break;}[/PHP]
I wasnt able to set this variable:
[PHP]$tmplWidth = ”;[/PHP]Therefore i have edited the “option” default like this:
[PHP]
default:
$tmplWidth = ‘97%’;
break;[/PHP]
So far so good, but now there is the next problem. The menu isnt expanding as it should do. Also i see that i have a problem with the user1 and 2 positions in that width.
Could someone try this also and give us a small feedback?Cheers
NickelNick R JA JobBoardNick R
- Join date:
- August 2009
- Posts:
- 284
- Downloads:
- 0
- Uploads:
- 9
- Thanks:
- 12
- Thanked:
- 20 times in 1 posts
November 27, 2009 at 12:56 pm #325135Here is a screenshot.
Sorry, im not the best with photoshop.Edit: It seems the picture is going to be resized, hope you can see it.
Nick R JA JobBoardNick R
- Join date:
- August 2009
- Posts:
- 284
- Downloads:
- 0
- Uploads:
- 9
- Thanks:
- 12
- Thanked:
- 20 times in 1 posts
November 27, 2009 at 4:54 pm #325147Ok, problem is the menu background as the image is to small. anyway, i just increased the widht a few px so it seems to be “not bad” 😉
November 28, 2009 at 4:39 am #325175Hi Nik..
I just tried what you said, got same results. Even worse, my main menu on top went wrong as well.
I attached the screenshot and hope dev team can solve this issue. This is actually quite important coz I believe many people would like to use more space for left/right columns.<em>@algmed 154841 wrote:</em><blockquote>Well i have found the solution even if no one from the templates devs 😉
So this is what i find in index.php.
[PHP]//Calculate the width of template
$tmplWidth = ”;
$tmplWrapMin = ‘100%’;
switch ($tmplTools->getParam(JA_TOOL_SCREEN)){
case ‘auto’:
$tmplWidth = ‘97%’;
break;
case ‘fluid’:
$tmplWidth = intval($tmplTools->getParam(‘ja_screen-fluid-fix-ja_screen_width’));
$tmplWidth = $tmplWidth ? $tmplWidth.’%’ : ‘90%’;
break;
case ‘fix’:
$tmplWidth = intval($tmplTools->getParam(‘ja_screen-fluid-fix-ja_screen_width’));
$tmplWrapMin = $tmplWidth ? ($tmplWidth+1).’px’ : ‘771px’;
$tmplWidth = $tmplWidth ? $tmplWidth.’px’ : ‘770px’;
break;
default:
$tmplWidth = intval($tmplTools->getParam(JA_TOOL_SCREEN));
$tmplWrapMin = $tmplWidth ? ($tmplWidth+1).’px’ : ‘981px’;
$tmplWidth = $tmplWidth ? $tmplWidth.’px’ : ‘980px’;
break;}[/PHP]
I wasnt able to set this variable:
[PHP]$tmplWidth = ”;[/PHP]Therefore i have edited the “option” default like this:
[PHP]
default:
$tmplWidth = ‘97%’;
break;[/PHP]
So far so good, but now there is the next problem. The menu isnt expanding as it should do. Also i see that i have a problem with the user1 and 2 positions in that width.
Could someone try this also and give us a small feedback?Cheers
Nickel</blockquote>- January 5, 2010 at 3:19 am #328195
Uh..I don’t understand why this tickets is closed. As I said in previous post, there is still problem when we tried to set the custom width..
January 6, 2010 at 1:24 pm #328458I thought it was me. I really dislike the new framework for templating. I realize it makes it easier to create monthly templates, but customizing the resulting templates is a bear.
I also think that there is too much space on the right and the left and that a lot of modules are actually wider than the allocated right and left column widths. When I followed the instructions for setting up the column widths, the middle (mainbody) became too narrow. I would like to adjust the width of the entire wrapper so that it is at least 970 pixels wide. I hate the fact that I can’t see what I’m doing in Dreamweaver, such as placement of masthead/logo, resizing it to fit the space, and so forth.
For a flexible template, the CSS is very inflexible or difficult for a non-programmer to understand.
Web Designer & Social Media Marketer as Words To Web, Inc.
ritalewis@wordstoweb.net | wordstoweb.net | 240-261-4988AuthorPostsThis topic contains 19 replies, has 6 voices, and was last updated by Saguaros 14 years, 10 months ago.
We moved to new unified forum. Please post all new support queries in our New Forum
Jump to forum