-
AuthorPosts
-
September 13, 2012 at 12:26 pm #466936
Is there a limit to the amount of fields on can put in a form? Because now, whenever I add a field, it always errors out when I go to rebuild the table.
Also is there anyway of adding just plain text between fields for text descriptions?
Thanh Nguyen Viet FriendThanh Nguyen Viet
- Join date:
- September 2014
- Posts:
- 1461
- Downloads:
- 0
- Uploads:
- 44
- Thanked:
- 258 times in 217 posts
September 14, 2012 at 7:39 am #467010Hello Mikeselk,
to resolve this issue, please open the file
components/com_jajobboard/asset/rendfield.phpFind this code snippet:
[PHP]case ‘SEPERATOR’:
$r = rendfieldlabel($field);[/PHP]And replace it with:
[PHP]case ‘SEPERATOR’:
$r = ”;[/PHP]September 14, 2012 at 10:36 am #467048That didn’t help at all. I replaced the code in that file and it did not make any change. I even went to that separator and changed it so I can rebuild the database and nothing.
But I also had two other issues as well in the post above yours. I am almost complete and if I can get this form customized I will be done with this project. The quicker I can get done the better. Please let me know what to do. Thanks
Jeff
Thanh Nguyen Viet FriendThanh Nguyen Viet
- Join date:
- September 2014
- Posts:
- 1461
- Downloads:
- 0
- Uploads:
- 44
- Thanked:
- 258 times in 217 posts
September 17, 2012 at 7:49 am #467189Hello Jeff,
There are two code snippet like that on that file, and you must replace them all.
And I had a small wrong, because the code that you need use it:
[PHP]$r = ‘ ‘;[/PHP]not:
[PHP]$r = ”;[/PHP]since, empty field will be skipped.
I have update it for you, please have a look.
FYI: I will improve this feature in the next version.September 18, 2012 at 12:11 pm #467405Thank you, but you still haven’t answered the questions I had previous about the rebuild not letting me add anymore. And is there anyway of adding html code to the label, so I can make the separators to stand out from the rest?
Thanh Nguyen Viet FriendThanh Nguyen Viet
- Join date:
- September 2014
- Posts:
- 1461
- Downloads:
- 0
- Uploads:
- 44
- Thanked:
- 258 times in 217 posts
September 21, 2012 at 7:53 am #467735Hello Mikeselk,
I’m sorry because I did not see this question. No, JB does not have a code to limit number of form field. But each mysql table only contains 85 columns is maximum (see more information at http://dev.mysql.com/doc/refman/4.1/en/column-count-limit.html), that why you can not create more 85 fields for each form (because each field is corresponding one column in mysql table).
If, your form does not reach this limit, please check your form fields setting again.
Regarding lable field issue, I’ll update in the next version to apply special html tag for this field, so you can css for them to get special style.
September 24, 2012 at 1:38 pm #467985The problem I have with this, is that even my programmer is saying that there is a hard limit to the columns of 4096 columns per table. And I didn’t add that many more fields to the application. I have about 5 fields left to go and I have added more fields into RSForm. So I need to get this figured out or I am going to have to ask for money back.
Thanh Nguyen Viet FriendThanh Nguyen Viet
- Join date:
- September 2014
- Posts:
- 1461
- Downloads:
- 0
- Uploads:
- 44
- Thanked:
- 258 times in 217 posts
September 25, 2012 at 7:01 am #468052Hello Mikeselk,
Please update your administrator account, I’ll check and help you to resolve this issue.
I have tried with old one, but I couldn’t get an access.September 25, 2012 at 10:30 am #468092ok, try again.
Thanh Nguyen Viet FriendThanh Nguyen Viet
- Join date:
- September 2014
- Posts:
- 1461
- Downloads:
- 0
- Uploads:
- 44
- Thanked:
- 258 times in 217 posts
September 25, 2012 at 10:48 am #468095Hello again,
Now is an off time in our side. I’ll check your issue tommorow.
Thanh Nguyen Viet FriendThanh Nguyen Viet
- Join date:
- September 2014
- Posts:
- 1461
- Downloads:
- 0
- Uploads:
- 44
- Thanked:
- 258 times in 217 posts
September 26, 2012 at 4:22 am #468161Hello Mikeselk,
I have tried to create table with more than 85 columns, and I couldn’t since I got this error message
” 1118 – Row size too large. The maximum row size for the used table type, not counting BLOBs, is 65535. You have to change some columns to TEXT or BLOBs”Please tell your developer to test it by himself (I have added sample code that I used).
I have checked your site, Application form has more than 85 fields, so you can not add more fields.
I’m sorry about that because we did not anticipate this case, we will update our wiki page about that.
Thanks you for your understanding.FYI: could you change some fields to textarea type? since as above message of mysql, field with TEXT and BLOBs type are not counting. In Jobboard, form field with textare type will have TEXT type in database.
September 26, 2012 at 11:14 am #468221ok, my developer looked at it and thinks this is a bad way of designing a database. And my client is getting very irritated and is demanding his money back on this. So I am going to have to ask for the money back on this. Because I can’t use it and I have no desire to use it. So please move forward with a refund. Thanks
Arvind Chauhan ModeratorArvind Chauhan
- Join date:
- September 2014
- Posts:
- 3835
- Downloads:
- 74
- Uploads:
- 92
- Thanks:
- 1240
- Thanked:
- 1334 times in 848 posts
September 27, 2012 at 5:18 am #468321Hi Mikeselk,
You can check the Refund Policy Page >> http://www.joomlart.com/joomlart/refunds
and raise refund request. If with in the refund policy guidelines, it would be processed.
Regards
Arvind
October 29, 2012 at 6:32 pm #471400ok, we have not seen any refund yet for this. Please verify that this is coming. Thank you.
Anonymous ModeratorJA Developer
- Join date:
- September 2014
- Posts:
- 9914
- Downloads:
- 207
- Uploads:
- 152
- Thanks:
- 1789
- Thanked:
- 2008 times in 1700 posts
October 30, 2012 at 10:02 am #471457<em>@mikeselk 344116 wrote:</em><blockquote>ok, we have not seen any refund yet for this. Please verify that this is coming. Thank you.</blockquote>
Our salesman has been replied you via ticket ID# SIT-805-78297. Please log into http://support.joomlart.com to find this ticket there.
Regards,
-
AuthorPosts
This topic contains 47 replies, has 6 voices, and was last updated by Thanh Nguyen Viet 11 years, 11 months ago.
We moved to new unified forum. Please post all new support queries in our New Forum