-
AuthorPosts
-
June 28, 2007 at 12:17 am #121095
Is it possible to extend JA News to show more articles (content).
I would like to have 2-3 aricles from one category + a few links.
Thanksinstantinlaw Friendinstantinlaw
- Join date:
- February 2007
- Posts:
- 1646
- Downloads:
- 6
- Uploads:
- 28
- Thanks:
- 68
- Thanked:
- 210 times in 62 posts
June 28, 2007 at 2:22 am #222860Hi Could you be a little more spesific on what you want to acomplish?
Thanks.June 28, 2007 at 9:02 am #222869Hi,
If we take a look at the example page at (the picture of screenshot and modules guide): http://www.joomlart.com/templates_club/club_portfolio/ja_quillaja.html
In the JA News area we have several categories as artists, video features.
In each category we see one content (some text and an image) + 1 or 2 links.I would have the possibility to have several content items in each category vertically.
Category title
Content 1
Content x
Linksdanderss
instantinlaw Friendinstantinlaw
- Join date:
- February 2007
- Posts:
- 1646
- Downloads:
- 6
- Uploads:
- 28
- Thanks:
- 68
- Thanked:
- 210 times in 62 posts
June 28, 2007 at 3:41 pm #222901Hi
I am sure it is possible, but it would involve hacking the module. You could acomplish something similar by making more rows and only publishing one article to each, then getting rid of the links to the other articles in that category. So basically you would have one image and some teaser text for each category/section. I don’t know if there is a limit on the amount of rows you can have but I think it’s only limited by the amount of category/sections you have. Everything I suggested here can be acomplished using the settings in Ja-News.
Good luck, and if you get the results you were looking for post the results here so everyone can benefit.July 16, 2007 at 10:11 pm #224323<em>@danderss 19220 wrote:</em><blockquote>Hi,
If we take a look at the example page at (the picture of screenshot and modules guide): http://www.joomlart.com/templates_club/club_portfolio/ja_quillaja.html
In the JA News area we have several categories as artists, video features.
In each category we see one content (some text and an image) + 1 or 2 links.I would have the possibility to have several content items in each category vertically.
Category title
Content 1
Content x
Linksdanderss</blockquote>
Any luck on this yet? I”m not a php coder, but i think i found the area needed to be edited.
If anyone is confused to by what we are wanting….
say you have 3 columns. We want to show multiple articles in the area… Personally I can care less about the links as the articles will be just want I want.
How can this be done?
Category 1 Category 2 Category 3
Article 1 Article 2 Article 3
Article 4 Article 5 Article 6
Article 7 Article 8 Article 9
link x link x link xI think the code is right in here:
//Show the latest news
if ($showintro){
echo “<div class=”ja-newscontent”>n”;
echo $image. “n”;
echo “<a href=”$link” class=”ja-newstitle” title=”{$row->title}”>{$row->title}</a>n”;
echo “{$row->introtext}n</div>n”;
if (count ($rows) > 1) echo “<ul class=”ja-newslinks”>n”; else $hasul = false;
}else{
echo “<ul class=”ja-newslinks”>”;
?>July 16, 2007 at 10:40 pm #224326<em>@jasontm 21079 wrote:</em><blockquote>Any luck on this yet? I”m not a php coder, but i think i found the area needed to be edited.
If anyone is confused to by what we are wanting….
say you have 3 columns. We want to show multiple articles in the area… Personally I can care less about the links as the articles will be just want I want.
How can this be done?
Category 1 Category 2 Category 3
Article 1 Article 2 Article 3
Article 4 Article 5 Article 6
Article 7 Article 8 Article 9
link x link x link xI think the code is right in here:
//Show the latest news
if ($showintro){
echo “<div class=”ja-newscontent”>n”;
echo $image. “n”;
echo “<a href=”$link” class=”ja-newstitle” title=”{$row->title}”>{$row->title}</a>n”;
echo “{$row->introtext}n</div>n”;
if (count ($rows) > 1) echo “<ul class=”ja-newslinks”>n”; else $hasul = false;
}else{
echo “<ul class=”ja-newslinks”>”;
?></blockquote>I figured it out:
change
if ($i == 0){ to if ($i >= 0){
Now I just need to figure out where to put in the css for a horizontal line seperator 🙂
if ($i == 0){
//Show the latest news
if ($showintro){
echo “<div class=”ja-newscontent”>n”;
echo $image. “n”;
echo “<a href=”$link” class=”ja-newstitle” title=”{$row->title}”>{$row->title}</a>n”;
echo “{$row->introtext}n</div>n”;
if (count ($rows) > 1) echo “<ul class=”ja-newslinks”>n”; else $hasul = false;
}else{
echo “<ul class=”ja-newslinks”>”;
?>
<li>
<a title=”<?php echo trim(htmlentities(strip_tags($row->introtext), ENT_QUOTES, $current_charset)); ?>” href=”<?php echo $link; ?>”>
<?php echo $row->title; ?></a>
</li>
<?php
}
}else{
?>
<li>
<a title=”<?php echo trim(htmlentities(strip_tags($row->introtext), ENT_QUOTES, $current_charset)); ?>” href=”<?php echo $link; ?>”>
<?php echo $row->title; ?></a>
</li>
<?php
}
}lehoai Friendlehoai
- Join date:
- January 2007
- Posts:
- 158
- Downloads:
- 0
- Uploads:
- 0
- Thanks:
- 13
- Thanked:
- 7 times in 7 posts
July 18, 2007 at 3:59 am #224459<blockquote>I figured it out:
change
if ($i == 0){ to if ($i >= 0){
Now I just need to figure out where to put in the css for a horizontal line seperator
if ($i == 0){
//Show the latest news
if ($showintro){
echo “<div class=”ja-newscontent”>n”;
echo $image. “n”;
echo “<a href=”$link” class=”ja-newstitle” title=”{$row->title}”>{$row->title}</a>n”;
echo “{$row->introtext}n</div>n”;
if (count ($rows) > 1) echo “<ul class=”ja-newslinks”>n”; else $hasul = false;
}else{
echo “<ul class=”ja-newslinks”>”;
?>
<li>
<a title=”<?php echo trim(htmlentities(strip_tags($row->introtext), ENT_QUOTES, $current_charset)); ?>” href=”<?php echo $link; ?>”>
<?php echo $row->title; ?></a>
</li>
<?php
}
}else{
?>
<li>
<a title=”<?php echo trim(htmlentities(strip_tags($row->introtext), ENT_QUOTES, $current_charset)); ?>” href=”<?php echo $link; ?>”>
<?php echo $row->title; ?></a>
</li>
<?php
}
}</blockquote>You need to change f ($i == 0){ to if ($i < xxx) not f ($i == 0){ to if ($i >= 0){ And xxx is the number of content you want to display per category.
redlight_traitor Friendredlight_traitor
- Join date:
- October 2006
- Posts:
- 211
- Downloads:
- 0
- Uploads:
- 3
- Thanks:
- 32
- Thanked:
- 8 times in 1 posts
November 5, 2007 at 1:30 am #232209Wow…thanks for the code help!
Jason McDaniel FriendJason McDaniel
- Join date:
- September 2014
- Posts:
- 39
- Downloads:
- 0
- Uploads:
- 6
- Thanks:
- 4
June 21, 2008 at 11:26 pm #255222<em>@lehoai 21247 wrote:</em><blockquote>You need to change f ($i == 0){ to if ($i < xxx) not f ($i == 0){ to if ($i >= 0){ And xxx is the number of content you want to display per category.</blockquote>
Where is this file located? I need to do the same thing. -
AuthorPosts
This topic contains 9 replies, has 6 voices, and was last updated by Jason McDaniel 16 years, 4 months ago.
We moved to new unified forum. Please post all new support queries in our New Forum