Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 20 total)
  • Author

is this process will easy?

i am a template designer, now i am thinking to design for 1.6 using JT3.
    if i will design in 1.6 then my client must have 1.6 too.

please advice me.

Phill Moderator

I have tried a coupleof times and the process is a lot easier than 1.0.x to 1.5.x was. If templates are very similar it should be an easy task but as I am sure you appreciate, if the structure of templates are very different then as with any upgrade it does become a lot more complex.

Your biggest problem will be available extensions. It all depends on how quickly developer upgrade their extension for J1.6. Joomlart have already made available many of their extensions with the remaining few to follow soon, othere developer may or may not be as fast. Some developer may no longer be actively working on their projects so you may have to look for alternative options.

I myself have been playing with J1.6 for some time now and I am very impressed. However, I plan to wait a few months before I begin updating or creating new sites based upon it.

rahulxx Friend

i am thinking to end my template design for 1.5,
    but it look like it is not as easy I thought.

is joomla 1.5 extensions will not work on joomla 1.6?:confused:

Phill Moderator

No, there will be no legacy mode for Joomla 1.5 extensions to work with Joomla 1.6. All will have to be re-coded to work. Some will be simple while others may require a lot of work. However, this time the transition will be a lot simpler for developers si it is expected that upgrades to extensions will happen a lot faster. I centainly hope so and from what I have seen I believe this will happen very quickly.