-
AuthorPosts
-
whamprod Friend
whamprod
- Join date:
- April 2008
- Posts:
- 60
- Downloads:
- 0
- Uploads:
- 6
- Thanks:
- 10
- Thanked:
- 6 times in 1 posts
June 19, 2008 at 2:22 am #129849I have JA Newsflash running here: http://www.o-p-i.com/content/.
I have six newsflash items running in the rotation. The problem is that nothing I do to their rotation order in the Article Manager screen affects the sequence in which they actually rotate – which seems to be random. Also, the JA Newsflash screen accessed through the Modules Manager gives no parameters which allow you to control the rotation sequence – only the rotation speed, and effects like “fade,” etc.
Is there something in the PHP for JA Newsflash that I can address to force the rotation to happen in the sequence I want it to be in?
Any help is appreciated. My client would very much like for this to be resolved, and this site is supposed to go live tomorrow night (Texas time).
Sherlock FriendSherlock
- Join date:
- September 2014
- Posts:
- 11453
- Downloads:
- 0
- Uploads:
- 88
- Thanks:
- 221
- Thanked:
- 2478 times in 2162 posts
whamprod Friendwhamprod
- Join date:
- April 2008
- Posts:
- 60
- Downloads:
- 0
- Uploads:
- 6
- Thanks:
- 10
- Thanked:
- 6 times in 1 posts
June 19, 2008 at 3:15 am #254534<em>@hainn84 60208 wrote:</em><blockquote>Hi whamprod !
Items in JA newsflash ranged following order in article manager , You can change order in article manager to change sequence in rotate.</blockquote>Thank you for replying so promptly! Unfortunately, I’ve already tried that solution, several times, including clicking on the little “Save Order” button, and it has not worked for me. I currently have 6 items in the news/newsflash section/category, and I have them ordered exactly as I want them; but instead of displaying the rotation “1,2,3,4,5,6” the rotation as I just now observed it is “1,4,2,1,6,1” and item 3 did not get displayed until a couple of rotations later.
That’s why I asked if there is a query string somewhere in the PHP that specifies a random sort which I could re-write to specify an ordered sort.
If you have any other suggestions, I would be glad to try them out.
Sherlock FriendSherlock
- Join date:
- September 2014
- Posts:
- 11453
- Downloads:
- 0
- Uploads:
- 88
- Thanks:
- 221
- Thanked:
- 2478 times in 2162 posts
June 19, 2008 at 4:08 am #254545Hi Whamprod !
You can fix it following way :Open ja-scroll.js file in modulesmod_janewsflashja_newsflash folder, find following code section at about line 7 :
while (--i > 0)
{
news = Math.floor(jaNewsflash.totalItem*Math.random());
if(news != jaNewsflash.currentItem) break;
}
jaNewsflash.currentItem = news;
change to :
while (--i > 0)
{
//news = Math.floor(jaNewsflash.totalItem*Math.random());
if(news != jaNewsflash.currentItem) break;
}
jaNewsflash.currentItem++;
if (jaNewsflash.currentItem > jaNewsflash.totalItem - 1) jaNewsflash.currentItem = 0;
1 user says Thank You to Sherlock for this useful post
whamprod Friendwhamprod
- Join date:
- April 2008
- Posts:
- 60
- Downloads:
- 0
- Uploads:
- 6
- Thanks:
- 10
- Thanked:
- 6 times in 1 posts
June 19, 2008 at 1:02 pm #254657hainn84, thanks very much for the tip. That fixed it! I am very relieved, and I’ll remember your suggestion for future installations.
I really like this particular template design.
-
AuthorPosts
This topic contains 5 replies, has 2 voices, and was last updated by whamprod 16 years, 5 months ago.
We moved to new unified forum. Please post all new support queries in our New Forum