-
AuthorPosts
-
James Weston Friend
James Weston
- Join date:
- September 2014
- Posts:
- 1030
- Downloads:
- 11
- Uploads:
- 70
- Thanks:
- 408
- Thanked:
- 16 times in 1 posts
December 12, 2011 at 4:17 pm #171734Hi Guys,
I have made a module by copying another module and placed it here http://www.myjakartaconcierge.com/index.php?option=com_k2&view=item&layout=item&id=45&Itemid=587&lang=en The name is JAKARTA’S BEST RESTAURANTS
I have given it a custom suffix so I can make changes in the css to that specific module.
I have searched hi and low in the forums looking for what code i need to add to make the list appear in two or three columns instead of the one it currently displays in.
Any pointers would be greatly appreciated.
Jim
himangi Friendhimangi
- Join date:
- April 2011
- Posts:
- 1406
- Downloads:
- 1
- Uploads:
- 86
- Thanks:
- 21
- Thanked:
- 345 times in 332 posts
December 13, 2011 at 9:06 am #429457Hi Jim,
Using css you can do it very easily.
Edit the k2.css in your template and find the following
<blockquote>.k2CategoriesListBlock ul li {
background: none;
padding-left: 0px;
}</blockquote>Replace the above with
<blockquote>.k2CategoriesListBlock ul li {
background: none;
padding-left: 0px;
display: block;
width: 30%;
float: left;
margin: 5px 0;
}</blockquote>Let me know if you need anything else..
1 user says Thank You to himangi for this useful post
James Weston FriendJames Weston
- Join date:
- September 2014
- Posts:
- 1030
- Downloads:
- 11
- Uploads:
- 70
- Thanks:
- 408
- Thanked:
- 16 times in 1 posts
December 13, 2011 at 4:18 pm #429494Thanks Himangi,
Because I have created a suffix for the module do i need to put that in front of the code? As I only want this module to be two columns not all of the modules?
Jimhimangi Friendhimangi
- Join date:
- April 2011
- Posts:
- 1406
- Downloads:
- 1
- Uploads:
- 86
- Thanks:
- 21
- Thanked:
- 345 times in 332 posts
December 14, 2011 at 5:49 am #429555Yes Jim,
I forgot to mention that.. So instead of replacing the code as I said earlier, you need to insert new code as below.
<blockquote>div.bestrestaurants .k2CategoriesListBlock ul li {
background: none;
padding-left: 0px;
display: block;
width: 30%;
float: left;
margin: 5px 0;
}</blockquote>1 user says Thank You to himangi for this useful post
James Weston FriendJames Weston
- Join date:
- September 2014
- Posts:
- 1030
- Downloads:
- 11
- Uploads:
- 70
- Thanks:
- 408
- Thanked:
- 16 times in 1 posts
December 15, 2011 at 3:35 am #429687Thanks Himangi,
You are very helpful. Himangi when you look at the page now http://www.myjakartaconcierge.com/index.php?option=com_k2&view=item&layout=item&id=45&Itemid=587&lang=en do you think I am using the right page layout? My idea was to have a title and some text above the module that explained a bit about the restaurant scene in Jakarta.
Is K2 Item the right option for the menu item type or do you think there is a better setting?
Jim
himangi Friendhimangi
- Join date:
- April 2011
- Posts:
- 1406
- Downloads:
- 1
- Uploads:
- 86
- Thanks:
- 21
- Thanked:
- 345 times in 332 posts
December 15, 2011 at 7:25 am #429702Hi Jim,
I am glad I could help you! 🙂
I think K2 is fine since you can use its attachment and gallery functions to display food photos and possibly various recipes considering you want to give out info about the restaurants.. Frankly I am not sure about your expected site visitors but as 3rd person, knowing nothing about your site, when I see the page I am not sure what exactly will be inside each category like japanese, Indian etc. Will there be list of restaurants providing the particular cuisine, will there be restaurant details, specialty etc.. So as you said giving some description about what exactly should a visitor look for when he comes on the page would really generate interest fairly easily and faster..
Hope this helps you and you take it in a right spirit 🙂
James Weston FriendJames Weston
- Join date:
- September 2014
- Posts:
- 1030
- Downloads:
- 11
- Uploads:
- 70
- Thanks:
- 408
- Thanked:
- 16 times in 1 posts
December 15, 2011 at 5:07 pm #429784Thanks Himangi for all your input and everything is always taken in the right spirit. That is what makes this forum so good is that newbies and inexperienced people like myself can learn from you guys.
The idea is that if you click on the restaurants menu button you currently see the page like this http://www.myjakartaconcierge.com/index.php?option=com_k2&view=itemlist&layout=category&task=category&id=25&Itemid=587&lang=en I am in the process of trying to change the back ground colours and font colours so it looks a bit more appealing like parts of this page http://www.londontown.com/restaurants/
when you are back on my restaurant page you can click on Chinese and you will end up here http://www.myjakartaconcierge.com/index.php?option=com_k2&view=itemlist&task=category&id=3:chinese&Itemid=587&lang=en I will be trying to make that page more like this one http://www.londontown.com/restaurants/SearchResults?searchType=category&searchCat=Chinese%20Cuisine not with the search function but the way that the individual restaurants are listed in a more compact and appealing way.
Jim
himangi Friendhimangi
- Join date:
- April 2011
- Posts:
- 1406
- Downloads:
- 1
- Uploads:
- 86
- Thanks:
- 21
- Thanked:
- 345 times in 332 posts
December 16, 2011 at 5:48 am #429908Sounds good 🙂
James Weston FriendJames Weston
- Join date:
- September 2014
- Posts:
- 1030
- Downloads:
- 11
- Uploads:
- 70
- Thanks:
- 408
- Thanked:
- 16 times in 1 posts
December 16, 2011 at 5:52 am #429910Now if I just knew where in the K2 css to alter the colour of the category title and the background behind the description test I would be a happy chappy?? http://www.myjakartaconcierge.com/index.php?option=com_k2&view=itemlist&layout=category&task=category&id=25&Itemid=587&lang=en
himangi Friendhimangi
- Join date:
- April 2011
- Posts:
- 1406
- Downloads:
- 1
- Uploads:
- 86
- Thanks:
- 21
- Thanked:
- 345 times in 332 posts
December 16, 2011 at 9:30 am #429937Hi
This is where you can change the default background and text color
<blockquote>.k2CategoriesListBlock ul li a {
background: url(“../images/pattern-grey.gif”) repeat scroll 0 0;
color: #444;
text-align: center;
display: inline-block;
padding: 2px 25px 2px 15px;
text-decoration: none;
}</blockquote>Add following if the styling for the element doesnt exist already..
<blockquote>.k2CategoriesListBlock ul li a:hover {
background: #CF1F18;
color: #CF0;
}</blockquote> -
AuthorPosts
This topic contains 10 replies, has 2 voices, and was last updated by himangi 12 years, 11 months ago.
We moved to new unified forum. Please post all new support queries in our New Forum