-
AuthorPosts
-
krumz Friend
krumz
- Join date:
- October 2012
- Posts:
- 138
- Downloads:
- 77
- Uploads:
- 22
- Thanks:
- 23
- Thanked:
- 4 times in 2 posts
April 17, 2014 at 10:29 pm #196848Hello All,
Hope what I’m saying below makes sense. :-[
So it took me a while to figure out that the mast-col position will not show unless you have sidebar-1 or sidebar-2 selected. It is not explained anywhere about this in the documentation (at least not that I could find).
This (to me) seems to lack functionality to what is otherwise a very good template. In my case, (I always use the content left layout) I have a couple of short pages and only want to have mast-col showing.
Needless to say when I did that and did not have a sidebar-1 or 2 selected on those pages nothing showed at all. I was so confused and frustrated and ready to pull my hair out because it took quite a bit of time to figure out why.
As luck would have it, I managed to duplicate and hack the mainbody-content-left file (code below, which I’m no expert so I don’t know how correct it is) to make it work but not everyone can do this.
For me it is important that no matter what I have selected (mast-col, sidebar-1, sidebar-2, etc.) and in whichever way I want it to show – it should show, it should work the way I want it to, it should not be dependent on having a sidebar-1 or 2 in use.
Below is how I changed mainbody-content-left to have any situation work for me regardless of what positions I’ve chosen (note there is mast-col2 that I added as well)
[PHP]<?php
/**
* @package T3 Blank
* @copyright Copyright (C) 2005 – 2012 Open Source Matters, Inc. All rights reserved.
* @license GNU General Public License version 2 or later; see LICENSE.txt
*/
defined(‘_JEXEC’) or die;
?>
<?php
/**
* Mainbody 3 columns, content in left, mast-col on top of 2 sidebars: content – sidebar1 – sidebar2 – mast-col-2 on bottom
*/
// positions configuration
$mastcol = ‘mast-col’;
$sidebar1 = ‘sidebar-1’;
$sidebar2 = ‘sidebar-2’;
$mastcol2 = ‘mast-col-2’;
$mastcol = $this->countModules($mastcol) ? $mastcol : false;
$sidebar1 = $this->countModules($sidebar1) ? $sidebar1 : false;
$sidebar2 = $this->countModules($sidebar2) ? $sidebar2 : false;
$mastcol2 = $this->countModules($mastcol2) ? $mastcol2 : false;
if ($sidebar1 && $sidebar2) {
$this->loadBlock(‘mainbody/ourfile-two-sidebar-right’, array(‘sidebar1’ => $sidebar1, ‘sidebar2’ => $sidebar2, ‘mastcol’ => $mastcol, ‘mastcol2’ => $mastcol2));
} elseif ($mastcol && ($sidebar1 || $sidebar2)) {
$this->loadBlock(‘mainbody/ourfile-two-sidebar-right’, array(‘sidebar1’ => $sidebar1, ‘sidebar2’ => $sidebar2, ‘mastcol’ => $mastcol, ‘mastcol2’ => $mastcol2));
} elseif ($sidebar1 || $sidebar2) {
$this->loadBlock(‘mainbody/ourfile-two-sidebar-right’, array(‘sidebar1’ => $sidebar1, ‘sidebar2’ => $sidebar2, ‘mastcol’ => $mastcol, ‘mastcol2’ => $mastcol2));
} else {
$this->loadBlock(‘mainbody/ourfile-two-sidebar-right’, array(‘sidebar’ => $sidebar1 ? $sidebar1 : $sidebar2, ‘mastcol’ => $mastcol, ‘mastcol2’ => $mastcol2));
}
?> [/PHP]
Saguaros ModeratorSaguaros
- Join date:
- September 2014
- Posts:
- 31405
- Downloads:
- 237
- Uploads:
- 471
- Thanks:
- 845
- Thanked:
- 5346 times in 4964 posts
April 21, 2014 at 9:58 am #531752By default, there is no constraint between ‘mast-col’ position and ‘sidebar-1’, ‘sidebar-2’ position. I just tried to download the T3 Blank template, use ‘mainbody-content-left’ layout, disable all modules in 2 sidebar positions, but the module assigned to ‘mast-col’ position still displays correctly.
krumz Friendkrumz
- Join date:
- October 2012
- Posts:
- 138
- Downloads:
- 77
- Uploads:
- 22
- Thanks:
- 23
- Thanked:
- 4 times in 2 posts
April 21, 2014 at 8:03 pm #531820Hmm. I am on a test site and when using t3 bs3 blank template and when I unpublished sidebar 1 and 2, mast col does not show? Mast col will show however, when I have something in sidebar 1 or sidebar 2.
Saguaros ModeratorSaguaros
- Join date:
- September 2014
- Posts:
- 31405
- Downloads:
- 237
- Uploads:
- 471
- Thanks:
- 845
- Thanked:
- 5346 times in 4964 posts
April 22, 2014 at 3:20 am #531863I thought that you’re referring to T3 Blank as title of this thread, not T3 bs3 Blank template.
As you can see in the position configuration in block ‘mainbody-content-left.php’, if there is no module assigned to ‘sidebar-1’ or ‘sidebar-2’ position, it will load block called ‘no-sidebar’ and this block doesn’t include ‘mast-col’ position. That’s reason why the module in ‘mast-col’ doesn’t show.
You can use solution you posted in this thread 🙂
1 user says Thank You to Saguaros for this useful post
-
AuthorPosts
This topic contains 5 replies, has 2 voices, and was last updated by krumz 10 years, 6 months ago.
We moved to new unified forum. Please post all new support queries in our New Forum