-
AuthorPosts
-
jennyblain Friend
jennyblain
- Join date:
- August 2012
- Posts:
- 21
- Downloads:
- 19
- Uploads:
- 0
- Thanks:
- 5
- Thanked:
- 1 times in 1 posts
February 13, 2013 at 4:14 am #184918I followed the steps found in another template forum:
1: Copy the “head.php” file from “/plugins/system/jat3/jat3/base-themes/default/blocks” to “templates/ja_mendozite/blocks”
2: open it up and look for the following line:
HTML Code:
<link href=”<?php echo T3Path::getUrl(‘images/favicon.ico’) ?>” rel=”shortcut icon” type=”image/x-icon” />
3: Replace it with this line:
HTML Code:
<link href=”<?php echo JURI::base(true).”/templates/ja_mendozite/favicon.ico”; ?>” rel=”shortcut icon” type=”image/x-icon” />3: Place your custom favicon file to your template folder; “templates/ja_mendozite/favicon.ico”
as
This way whenever you upgrade your template to a newer version, it doesn’t undo the change you made.I also replaced the favicon in other folders that contained a .ico file.
=========================================================
When I view the source code for the page it shows:
<link href=”/templates/ja_mendozite/favicon.ico” rel=”shortcut icon” type=”image/x-icon” />
and the favicon shows correctly in opera and firefox but not the browsers that I have been using previously.I have cleared jat cache, shut down browsers and restarted them.
Any other hints on how to get the favicon to display correctly?
Ninja Lead ModeratorNinja Lead
- Join date:
- November 2014
- Posts:
- 16064
- Downloads:
- 310
- Uploads:
- 2864
- Thanks:
- 341
- Thanked:
- 3854 times in 3563 posts
February 13, 2013 at 10:35 pm #483343You can put your domain on favicon link
Open head.php file on templates/ja_mendozite/blocks
from
<link href="<?php echo JURI::base(true)."/templates/ja_mendozite/favicon.ico"; ?>" rel="shortcut icon" type="image/x-icon" />
change to
<link href="<?php echo "your_domain/templates/ja_mendozite/favicon.ico"; ?>" rel="shortcut icon" type="image/x-icon" />
3 users say Thank You to Ninja Lead for this useful post
jennyblain Friendjennyblain
- Join date:
- August 2012
- Posts:
- 21
- Downloads:
- 19
- Uploads:
- 0
- Thanks:
- 5
- Thanked:
- 1 times in 1 posts
February 18, 2013 at 5:36 am #483739well I tried this but still no favicon appearing – the source code for the page shows the path correctly to the icon
<link href=”http://www.ascap.com.au/templates/ja_mendozite/favicon.ico” rel=”shortcut icon” type=”image/x-icon” /> and the icon is there. Any other suggestions please?jennyblain Friendjennyblain
- Join date:
- August 2012
- Posts:
- 21
- Downloads:
- 19
- Uploads:
- 0
- Thanks:
- 5
- Thanked:
- 1 times in 1 posts
February 18, 2013 at 6:04 am #483741Following the instructions on this page to create a different icon file makes the icon appear in IE, safari and firefox (yay)
http://stackoverflow.com/questions/8918384/favicon-not-showing-up-in-address-bar-in-ie9-yet-is-displayed-there-in-all-oth
but chrome still has no favicon.I think this is not a template issue but a favicon issue – thanks for your patience.
Ninja Lead ModeratorNinja Lead
- Join date:
- November 2014
- Posts:
- 16064
- Downloads:
- 310
- Uploads:
- 2864
- Thanks:
- 341
- Thanked:
- 3854 times in 3563 posts
February 19, 2013 at 3:47 pm #483944@jennyblain: This is result of your site, see the screenshot
It’s really working on your site, you need to clear cache from Admin area and check it again.
@jennyblain: If possible you can pm me url, admin access and ftp account. I shall check it for you then
August 15, 2013 at 3:44 pm #502352Hello There…
I open the file header.php but I can even find that code?? I am in: /templates/ja_mendozite/blocksPlease advice if i need to added even there is no code as you show above. Thanks in advance.
jennyblain Friendjennyblain
- Join date:
- August 2012
- Posts:
- 21
- Downloads:
- 19
- Uploads:
- 0
- Thanks:
- 5
- Thanked:
- 1 times in 1 posts
August 16, 2013 at 1:47 am #502394yolvo – this was an issue in February – I sorted it out quite some time ago. Thanks for following up but the issue is closed.
Ninja Lead ModeratorNinja Lead
- Join date:
- November 2014
- Posts:
- 16064
- Downloads:
- 310
- Uploads:
- 2864
- Thanks:
- 341
- Thanked:
- 3854 times in 3563 posts
August 16, 2013 at 4:07 am #502409@yolvo; You can try to do this way again
+ Download and extract my attachment file
+ Copy it into templates/ja_mendozite/blocks/ path
+ Remember backup old file
+ Create favicon.ico file and copy it into templates/ja_mendozite/images/ folder
Always remember to clear cache from the Admin area after apply any changes
Let me know if it helps
AuthorPostsViewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)This topic contains 8 replies, has 3 voices, and was last updated by Ninja Lead 11 years, 3 months ago.
We moved to new unified forum. Please post all new support queries in our New Forum
mendozite favicon
Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)