Viewing 14 posts - 1 through 14 (of 14 total)
  • Author

Hi.
    I am just new to Joomla! and it is quite difficult….
    I need to “air” my site but have little background with programming….
    My site is http://www.smartcook.gr
    I tried installing the slideshow module and it won’t appear like in the demo of Ja Pariiti

Also how can I change the title on the banner on the top of the site?
    I don’t seem to be able to locate the “Welcome to the frontpage” title below as well, so that I can change that.

Thanks in advance!

bigrk Friend

Why didn’t you use the QuickStart Package? Then you would start off with a website that looks like the demo.

imihanet Friend

OK. How do I use the quickstart. I tried instaling but got an error about a missing XML file.
    Thanx!

bigrk Friend

Read this thread and the only difference is the template name: http://www.joomlart.com/forums/topic/quick-start-installation-guide/

imihanet Friend

Thank You very much!
    Procceeding to give it a try!

bigrk Friend

Good Luck. 🙂

imihanet Friend

Hmmm…
    I don’t know how to use ftp with the server.
    What I did: I unzipped the quickstart and template files. Then, I copied all the files from the quickstart and pasted them into the template file. Then, I zipped the template file back and installed into Joomla.
    Unfortunately, the site now is a blank white!!!!:(

imihanet Friend

I’m hopeless….
    the quickstart won’t install….

bigrk Friend

Who do you host with? Would their support be willing to install this for you? You have to remember that the QuickStart comes with Joomla, the template and the sample database and must be installed on a blank site and not over what might already be there.

imihanet Friend

Ok. I am just a user trying to set up a web site. A web technician set me up and told me that I will be using Joomla to make my site. He showed me the basics and that was it. I thought it would be easy but its very hard indeed!