-
AuthorPosts
-
questbg Friend
questbg
- Join date:
- May 2008
- Posts:
- 1912
- Downloads:
- 0
- Uploads:
- 1
- Thanks:
- 146
- Thanked:
- 339 times in 197 posts
August 6, 2008 at 5:55 am #131845Hi Everyone
Quick question please.
I want to embed the
rel="nofollow"
in all paid-for banners on my site.
Is this as simple as just typing the above line of code into the Customer Banner Code area of the banner screen, like this?
That seems way too easy! 🙂
Thanks
Chrisquestbg Friendquestbg
- Join date:
- May 2008
- Posts:
- 1912
- Downloads:
- 0
- Uploads:
- 1
- Thanks:
- 146
- Thanked:
- 339 times in 197 posts
August 7, 2008 at 10:48 am #264305Anyone, please?
This is now getting urgent as my site launches in 10 days! 😮
zdiar Friendzdiar
- Join date:
- June 2008
- Posts:
- 36
- Downloads:
- 85
- Uploads:
- 1
- Thanks:
- 6
- Thanked:
- 6 times in 3 posts
August 7, 2008 at 3:08 pm #264333There is another way.
Open your robots.txt file on the server.
Normally it starts like this:Disallow: /administrator/
Disallow: /cache/
...It means that robots are not allowed to seach in these folders.
Create a folder on your server for the banners that should not be followed by the robots.
Then modily the robots.txt file by denying access for the folder you have just created.
Insert this line:Disallow: /banned_banners (or any name you want)/
Advantage: in this case you do not need to modify the code of your banners.
Disadvantage: if you move the banner from this folder to another, you need to check that it is referred from the new locationbossep Friendbossep
- Join date:
- April 2008
- Posts:
- 262
- Downloads:
- 0
- Uploads:
- 3
- Thanks:
- 50
- Thanked:
- 15 times in 3 posts
August 7, 2008 at 9:48 pm #264383Hello chris,
Yes you should probably be able to use that. I do belive you are afraid of to manny forward links that can hurt your rating. I have the same problem and will try this on my linkshare ads.
BUT I am not 100% sure it works. I know for sure that some SE dont read the nofollow. Google does and we all have to please the goog!
You could also set up a meta tag with the no follow like this:
<blockquote>
<meta name=”robots” content=”index, nofollow” />
</blockquote>
But then you need to be sure that you have a sitemap that takes care of the internal links or you will newer be indexed. BTW make sure your sitemap generator takes care of nofollow so you dont give acces trough that one.About Disallow in robots text:
This dosent help to fix the links from a banner just prevent Google and yahoo for not spider them. MSN just ignores it it seems!Also: Get the Lynx reader or use somthing similar to check with a tex only reader. That is how most boots see your page.
Bosse
questbg Friendquestbg
- Join date:
- May 2008
- Posts:
- 1912
- Downloads:
- 0
- Uploads:
- 1
- Thanks:
- 146
- Thanked:
- 339 times in 197 posts
August 8, 2008 at 4:23 am #264434Thanks both, yes indeed, I’m worried about the forward links hurting the page ranking!
questbg Friendquestbg
- Join date:
- May 2008
- Posts:
- 1912
- Downloads:
- 0
- Uploads:
- 1
- Thanks:
- 146
- Thanked:
- 339 times in 197 posts
August 11, 2008 at 1:52 pm #264895<em>@questbg 71840 wrote:</em><blockquote>
That seems way too easy! 🙂
</blockquote>And, of course, that was way too easy!!
I tried this today by adding the code in Custom Banner Code like this:
But, when I publish, the banner doesn’t appear, just the code:
PLEASE can somebody tell me how to do this. 🙂
Thanks
Chrisbossep Friendbossep
- Join date:
- April 2008
- Posts:
- 262
- Downloads:
- 0
- Uploads:
- 3
- Thanks:
- 50
- Thanked:
- 15 times in 3 posts
August 11, 2008 at 4:32 pm #264921Chris,
Can you post the HTML code? I do think you might have put it in the wrong place.
Bossequestbg Friendquestbg
- Join date:
- May 2008
- Posts:
- 1912
- Downloads:
- 0
- Uploads:
- 1
- Thanks:
- 146
- Thanked:
- 339 times in 197 posts
August 12, 2008 at 4:54 am #264997Hi Bosse
You can see in the screengrab above where I placed the code. I just typed it into the “Custom Banner Code” section.
Maybe I need more ‘tags’ than that!!
Cheers
Chrisbossep Friendbossep
- Join date:
- April 2008
- Posts:
- 262
- Downloads:
- 0
- Uploads:
- 3
- Thanks:
- 50
- Thanked:
- 15 times in 3 posts
August 12, 2008 at 11:32 pm #265147Hello Chris,
You got me on this one! I have not been messing around with the banner module so sorry for my stupid answer.
There must be a way and I will try to find it. But got a bit bussy with the latest havoc from JCE…..In general: Dont worry of a few forward links for now if this is the only banners you are going to run.
Just get some good back links from your friends when you are up and running. (this is a hint);)Bosse
bossep Friendbossep
- Join date:
- April 2008
- Posts:
- 262
- Downloads:
- 0
- Uploads:
- 3
- Thanks:
- 50
- Thanked:
- 15 times in 3 posts
August 12, 2008 at 11:42 pm #265149A quicky (I dident try it but it might work),
Hack mod_banners=>helper.php
Line 89
// cases are slightly different
case 1:
// open in a new window
$a = '<a href="'. $link .'" target="_blank">';
break;case 2:
// open in a popup window
$a = "<a href="javascript:void window.open('". $link ."', '', 'toolbar=no,location=no,status=no,menubar=no,scrollbars=yes,resizable=yes,width=780,height=550'); return false">";
break;default: // formerly case 2
// open in parent window
$a = '<a href="'. $link .'">';Try to insert the nofollow in to the abowe You might need to mess with the .'” a little not sure if this is corrct in the abowe.
I will try it on my test server later.Bosse
questbg Friendquestbg
- Join date:
- May 2008
- Posts:
- 1912
- Downloads:
- 0
- Uploads:
- 1
- Thanks:
- 146
- Thanked:
- 339 times in 197 posts
August 13, 2008 at 4:51 am #265191Thanks Bosse. Will try this out later (if I ever find time)!
I had this working fine on my non-Joomla site, code looked like this:
<a href="http://www.bestbgproperties.com" target="_blank" rel="nofollow">
So maybe introduce that somewhere in the .php file?
bossep Friendbossep
- Join date:
- April 2008
- Posts:
- 262
- Downloads:
- 0
- Uploads:
- 3
- Thanks:
- 50
- Thanked:
- 15 times in 3 posts
August 13, 2008 at 5:00 am #265193Yes the place should be inside the codeblock I posted. How I dont really know but the logic say some ware in the a href tags. I did a quick one and triggerd a 500 error so…
Bosse
Sherlock FriendSherlock
- Join date:
- September 2014
- Posts:
- 11453
- Downloads:
- 0
- Uploads:
- 88
- Thanks:
- 221
- Thanked:
- 2478 times in 2162 posts
August 23, 2008 at 11:29 am #266878Hi quesbg !
you can add it to “<a > ” tag rounded banner following way below :
Open helper.php file in modules/mod_banners folder , find following code line at about line 92 :
$a = '<a href="'. $link .'" target="_blank">';
change to :
$a = '<a href="'. $link .'" target="_blank" rel="follow">';
1 user says Thank You to Sherlock for this useful post
questbg Friendquestbg
- Join date:
- May 2008
- Posts:
- 1912
- Downloads:
- 0
- Uploads:
- 1
- Thanks:
- 146
- Thanked:
- 339 times in 197 posts
August 24, 2008 at 5:27 am #266973Thanks hainn84 – I will try that code right now!
questbg Friendquestbg
- Join date:
- May 2008
- Posts:
- 1912
- Downloads:
- 0
- Uploads:
- 1
- Thanks:
- 146
- Thanked:
- 339 times in 197 posts
August 24, 2008 at 5:47 am #266976Hi hainn84. I think that works fine. I applied the changes to the helper.php file, replaced the orginal (took a backup first of course!) and refreshed the home page.
Now, when I view the pagesource I get:
<a href="/component/banners/click/9?lang=en" target="_blank" rel="nofollow"><img src="http://www.questbg.com/images/banners/dsken.gif" alt="Banner" />
Which I think is correct?
If so, thank you and please mark ‘solved’!
-
AuthorPosts
This topic contains 15 replies, has 4 voices, and was last updated by questbg 16 years, 3 months ago.
We moved to new unified forum. Please post all new support queries in our New Forum