-
AuthorPosts
-
May 7, 2011 at 4:20 pm #163707
it appears some Google fonts do not work. Specifically Coda is one of several that do not work. When comparing the JA code to Google’s code there is a slight difference.
JA uses this:
<link href=”http://fonts.googleapis.com/css?family=Coda” type=”text/css” rel=”stylesheet”>Google does it like this:
<link href=”http://fonts.googleapis.com/css?family=Coda:800″ type=”text/css” rel=”stylesheet”>with the extra ‘:800’ after the word Coda. If you add that in firebug Coda immediately loads correctly into the page.
In firebug the response from Google when loading the font is this:
/* Coda (style: normal, weight: 400) is not available */
/* However, style: normal, weight: 800 is available */How can we fix this?
himangi Friendhimangi
- Join date:
- April 2011
- Posts:
- 1406
- Downloads:
- 1
- Uploads:
- 86
- Thanks:
- 21
- Thanked:
- 345 times in 332 posts
May 12, 2011 at 10:16 am #390941Hi,
Thank you for reporting this. I have raised it as a bug in JAT3 2.0
Currently to use the non working fonts, here is what you can do.
- Login to your FTP, go to plugins/system/jat3/base-themes/default/blocks and copy head.php file
- Now go to templates/your_template/blocks and paste the head.php you have copied.
- Open the head.php and isert <link href=’http://fonts.googleapis.com/css?family=Coda:800′ rel=’stylesheet’ type=’text/css’> at the end of the file.
- Similarly you can add more fonts in head.php
- Set the Coda font in template manager and it will show up on your site frontend.
1 user says Thank You to himangi for this useful post
May 13, 2011 at 9:44 pm #391127Hello;
I tried this with a different font but could not get it working. After taking this step is the font supposed to appear in the dropdown list?Regards,
Wayne
himangi Friendhimangi
- Join date:
- April 2011
- Posts:
- 1406
- Downloads:
- 1
- Uploads:
- 86
- Thanks:
- 21
- Thanked:
- 345 times in 332 posts
May 16, 2011 at 5:50 am #391348Hi,
After following the steps I have suggested, you should be able to see the Coda font wherever you may have applied it from the Template Parameters.
If you are trying to include any other font that coda, then you will need to find the correct font weight available for the font from Google. For Coda font it is 800, but for other fonts it may not be the same and until you put the correct font weight it will not work.
I will try to find out correct font weights for all the fonts supported in the JA template. meanwhile if you do, kindly post them here for everyone’s benefit.
Thanks! 🙂
himangi Friendhimangi
- Join date:
- April 2011
- Posts:
- 1406
- Downloads:
- 1
- Uploads:
- 86
- Thanks:
- 21
- Thanked:
- 345 times in 332 posts
May 16, 2011 at 6:04 am #391352Hi,
Please take a look at http://www.google.com/webfonts
You can find whetever font you want to apply, which is not getting applied in the template, from this font list. When you go on the font page, there is a ‘Use this font’ tab for every font. Copy the <link href=….. code and paste it in head.php as explained earlier.
1 user says Thank You to himangi for this useful post
-
AuthorPosts
This topic contains 5 replies, has 3 voices, and was last updated by himangi 13 years, 5 months ago.
We moved to new unified forum. Please post all new support queries in our New Forum