-
AuthorPosts
-
James Weston Friend
James Weston
- Join date:
- September 2014
- Posts:
- 1030
- Downloads:
- 11
- Uploads:
- 70
- Thanks:
- 408
- Thanked:
- 16 times in 1 posts
January 2, 2012 at 10:39 am #172352I have created a banner module and placed it in the search position but when i look at it the banner is out of position. Is there a simple way to change the position of this so it sits flush in the available space? http://www.mybaliconcierge.com/
Thanks Jim
TomC ModeratorTomC
- Join date:
- October 2014
- Posts:
- 14077
- Downloads:
- 58
- Uploads:
- 137
- Thanks:
- 948
- Thanked:
- 3155 times in 2495 posts
January 2, 2012 at 10:46 am #432151<em>@origomedia 292414 wrote:</em><blockquote>I have created a banner module and placed it in the search position but when i look at it the banner is out of position. Is there a simple way to change the position of this so it sits flush in the available space? http://www.mybaliconcierge.com/
Thanks Jim</blockquote>
Greetings Jim:
In order to try to best assist you, please set “Optimize CSS” to “No” within your Template Manager–General Settings.Also, it would be helpful if you could throw together a mock-up screenshot of how your banner is supposed to display – so we can visualize and better try to assist you with your positioning issues.
1 user says Thank You to TomC for this useful post
James Weston FriendJames Weston
- Join date:
- September 2014
- Posts:
- 1030
- Downloads:
- 11
- Uploads:
- 70
- Thanks:
- 408
- Thanked:
- 16 times in 1 posts
January 2, 2012 at 10:58 am #432153Hi Tom,
Thanks for the prompt response and a Happy New Year to you.
The Optomise CSS was already set on No.
As for a screen shot. What I am doing is moving my old site over to the new template so i would like the banner to sit in the same position as it does at http://www.vivaasiamagazine.com/
Cheers,
Jim
TomC ModeratorTomC
- Join date:
- October 2014
- Posts:
- 14077
- Downloads:
- 58
- Uploads:
- 137
- Thanks:
- 948
- Thanked:
- 3155 times in 2495 posts
January 2, 2012 at 8:59 pm #432205Okay, I think I understand what you’re wanting to do – so here are some suggestions . . .
Within /templates/ja_nex/css/template.css . . . starting at line 130
<blockquote>#ja-search {
bottom: 22px;
}#ja-search, .moduletable_search .ja-box-ct {
background: none repeat scroll 0 0 #682725;
padding: 5px !important;
right: 0;
}
</blockquote>Here are some suggested modifications . . .
<blockquote>#ja-search {
top: 2px;
}#ja-search, .moduletable_search .ja-box-ct {
background: none repeat scroll 0 0 #682725;
padding: 0px !important;
right: 0;
}
</blockquote>Then, within /plugins/system/jat3/jat3/base-themes/default/css/template.css . . . at line 980
<blockquote>#ja-header {
position: relative;
z-index: 10;
}</blockquote>modify as follows . . .
<blockquote>#ja-header {
height: 95px;
position: relative;
z-index: 10;
}
</blockquote>Then … at line 852
<blockquote>div.bannergroup {
margin-bottom: 10px;
}
</blockquote>modify as follows . . .
<blockquote>div.bannergroup {
margin-bottom: -5px;
}
</blockquote>Let me know if the results of the above suggestions get you close to where you wanted to go with this.
You can, of course, play around with the CSS property values yourself until you achieve the results you’re happy with.1 user says Thank You to TomC for this useful post
James Weston FriendJames Weston
- Join date:
- September 2014
- Posts:
- 1030
- Downloads:
- 11
- Uploads:
- 70
- Thanks:
- 408
- Thanked:
- 16 times in 1 posts
January 3, 2012 at 2:52 am #432236Hi Tom,
Thanks for the detailed response. That is getting very close now. Can you advise which part of the code controls the distance from the top or bottom? I just need it to drop down a little bit and it will be perfect.
Jim
TomC ModeratorTomC
- Join date:
- October 2014
- Posts:
- 14077
- Downloads:
- 58
- Uploads:
- 137
- Thanks:
- 948
- Thanked:
- 3155 times in 2495 posts
January 3, 2012 at 3:37 am #432240It should be this parameter . . . .
<blockquote>
#ja-search {top: 2px;
}
</blockquote>Play around with the pixel number … you can even use negative values (i.e. -5px) if you want.
James Weston FriendJames Weston
- Join date:
- September 2014
- Posts:
- 1030
- Downloads:
- 11
- Uploads:
- 70
- Thanks:
- 408
- Thanked:
- 16 times in 1 posts
January 4, 2012 at 1:24 am #432397Hi Tom,
Sorry to bother you again. Have tried playing with that line of code but it does not seem to bring the banner up or down. When you are not busy could you ave anoher look to make sure I have done everything correctly. I have cleared all the caches and when I go to http://www.mybaliconcierge.com the banner is still in the same place.
Many thanks Jim
January 4, 2012 at 6:17 am #432421Hi
If you happy with this there is code for it
/* HEADER
——————————————————— */
#ja-header { background: #c33; }#ja-header .main {
background: url(../images/map-bg.png) no-repeat left bottom;
padding: 0px 0 0px 0;
height: 100px;
}h1.logo, div.logo-text h1 {
float: left;
font-size: 250%;
line-height: 1;
margin-left: -30px;
}div.logo-text h1 { margin-left: 0; }
/* Logo Image —*/
h1.logo { height: 90px; margin-top: 10px; width: 252px; }h1.logo a {
background: url(../images/logo.png) no-repeat center center;
display: block;
height: 90px;
margin-left: 25px;
width: 252px;
}If is you logo to much on right play with this numbers here
h1.logo a {
background: url(../images/logo.png) no-repeat center center;
display: block;
height: 90px;
margin-left: 25px;————–> to move logo left decrease this number here
width: 252px;Let me know if is any problem
please back up template.css and then do it
just to let you know i did try to remove frame around banner and is not look good insisting additional editings and playing ups, makes open space with background color between header and manu so leave it as it is.
Hope that helps ya
TomC ModeratorTomC
- Join date:
- October 2014
- Posts:
- 14077
- Downloads:
- 58
- Uploads:
- 137
- Thanks:
- 948
- Thanked:
- 3155 times in 2495 posts
January 4, 2012 at 6:24 am #432424<em>@origomedia 292723 wrote:</em><blockquote>Hi Tom,
Sorry to bother you again. Have tried playing with that line of code but it does not seem to bring the banner up or down. When you are not busy could you ave anoher look to make sure I have done everything correctly. I have cleared all the caches and when I go to http://www.mybaliconcierge.com the banner is still in the same place.
Many thanks Jim</blockquote>
Jim:I just took a look at your site and code, and it does not appear that you applied all of the suggestions I outlined previously …
either that, or you’ve changed some elements back. Please advise.James Weston FriendJames Weston
- Join date:
- September 2014
- Posts:
- 1030
- Downloads:
- 11
- Uploads:
- 70
- Thanks:
- 408
- Thanked:
- 16 times in 1 posts
January 4, 2012 at 6:28 am #432425Hi Tom,
I made the changes you suggested in the two different files. That worked in positioning the banner and getting rid of the search border. Then I have been playing around with that value you suggested but cannot get the banner to move down.
Jim
TomC ModeratorTomC
- Join date:
- October 2014
- Posts:
- 14077
- Downloads:
- 58
- Uploads:
- 137
- Thanks:
- 948
- Thanked:
- 3155 times in 2495 posts
January 4, 2012 at 6:32 am #432426Within /templates/ja_nex/css/template.css . . . starting at line 130<blockquote>#ja-search {
bottom: 22px;
}#ja-search, .moduletable_search .ja-box-ct {
background: none repeat scroll 0 0 #682725;
padding: 5px !important;
right: 0;
}</blockquote>did you modify as such? . . .<blockquote>#ja-search {
top: 2px;
}
</blockquote>I ask because I just tested it out again, and the banner image does reposition itself with that parameter.
1 user says Thank You to TomC for this useful post
James Weston FriendJames Weston
- Join date:
- September 2014
- Posts:
- 1030
- Downloads:
- 11
- Uploads:
- 70
- Thanks:
- 408
- Thanked:
- 16 times in 1 posts
January 4, 2012 at 7:10 am #432431Thanks Tom,
I had left the other line in by mistake and had a * in front and after the line.
All good now thanks as you can see. I think I will make my banner size just a bit smaller so that the whole border shows with future banners.
Cheers Jim
TomC ModeratorTomC
- Join date:
- October 2014
- Posts:
- 14077
- Downloads:
- 58
- Uploads:
- 137
- Thanks:
- 948
- Thanked:
- 3155 times in 2495 posts
January 4, 2012 at 7:12 am #432432You are most welcome, Jim !!! . . . . Glad we were able to work it through together !!!
😀
1 user says Thank You to TomC for this useful post
James Weston FriendJames Weston
- Join date:
- September 2014
- Posts:
- 1030
- Downloads:
- 11
- Uploads:
- 70
- Thanks:
- 408
- Thanked:
- 16 times in 1 posts
February 2, 2012 at 2:23 pm #436628Hi Tom,
I have just created a banner in the call-toll-free position in the Tiris template. I though the solution you gave me before might work to close up the gaps between the banner and the top and bottom but when I look at the code in teh template css and look at ja-toll-free there is no code regarding padding. Am i looking in the right place as I tried to follow the logic from your previous solution in the Search position. The new site is http://www.myjakartaconcierge.com
Best regards,
Jim
TomC ModeratorTomC
- Join date:
- October 2014
- Posts:
- 14077
- Downloads:
- 58
- Uploads:
- 137
- Thanks:
- 948
- Thanked:
- 3155 times in 2495 posts
February 2, 2012 at 6:33 pm #436652What kind of padding are you wanting to implement?
How do you want it to look?
1 user says Thank You to TomC for this useful post
AuthorPostsThis topic contains 23 replies, has 3 voices, and was last updated by TomC 12 years, 9 months ago.
We moved to new unified forum. Please post all new support queries in our New Forum