-
AuthorPosts
-
billbo1970 Friend
billbo1970
- Join date:
- September 2012
- Posts:
- 33
- Downloads:
- 0
- Uploads:
- 7
- Thanks:
- 6
- Thanked:
- 1 times in 1 posts
October 3, 2012 at 3:14 pm #181164Hello everybody,
I’ve been using Joomla 1.5 to run my website for the past 2 years. I’ve taught myself html & Joomla, so I’m not completely literate when it comes to web coding & design.
Right now I’m in the middle of fixing my J2.5 website. I installed jUpgrade and did the upgrade from 1.5 to 2.5, and 2.5 is still running inside it’s installation folder. The migration went very smoothly for me, but working with the template is considerably different and to top it off I have to use a different template (JA_Purity is not 2.5 compatible, and unfortunatley JA_Purity_ii is quite different!). So, I’m still ironing out the template issues & trying to figure out some stuff.
My website still runs 1.5, and 2.5 is accessible by viewing it with the /jupgrade modification to the URLs.
I have a few questions/issues:
- 1. I’m using JA_Purity_II with the megamenu. Do I have to have the menu on top, or can it be on the left as it was in the original Purity template?
2. In Joomla 1.5, I used to edit my template by clicking on it and then the ‘Edit HTML’ button… apparently, now you need to edit each css file individually and I don’t know which ones to edit for what. I’ve read the documentation for this template from JoomlArt, but am still unclear.
- i. I need to add my “View Cart” button to the left col (below the menu if Q.1 is possible) & my adverts to the right col. Which file do i edit & where inside of it do I paste the code?
ii. I’d like to add the generic portion of the code for my facebook “Like” button so I can just add the specific page details on the articles.
This is what I mean by the generic portion of the code:
<div id="fb-root"></div>
<script>(function(d, s, id) {
var js, fjs = d.getElementsByTagName(s)[0];
if (d.getElementById(id)) return;
js = d.createElement(s); js.id = id;
js.src = "//connect.facebook.net/en_US/all.js#xfbml=1";
fjs.parentNode.insertBefore(js, fjs);
}(document, 'script', 'facebook-jssdk'));</script>[/list]
If it helps at all, here are links to the 2 versions of the site:
Joomla 1.5 w/JA_Purity Template[/url]
Joomla 2.5 w/JA_Purity2 TemplateThanks in advance everybody!
Bill
Ninja Lead ModeratorNinja Lead
- Join date:
- November 2014
- Posts:
- 16064
- Downloads:
- 310
- Uploads:
- 2864
- Thanks:
- 341
- Thanked:
- 3854 times in 3563 posts
October 4, 2012 at 9:17 am #469118From both links on your site, I have some ideas on Purity 2 template J2.5:
1) Disable main mega menu
<blockquote>Admin area->Extensions->Template Manager->Edit JA Purity II – Default->Layout tabs->Edit default</blockquote>remove this script below
<block name="mainnav" type="mainnav" main-inner="1"></block>
2) Back to Module Manager->Create new module with Module Type: Menu. Look at the screenshot
Remember to clear cache from Admin area site.
With other request:
I would like to clarify that we do not provide customizations services because of our limited resources. You can find an expert to have the project done via a reliable freelance site: Joomlancers.com, another network of JoomlArt. I personally recommend as thousands of projects have succeeded on the site.
Let me know if you need any other assistance.
billbo1970 Friendbillbo1970
- Join date:
- September 2012
- Posts:
- 33
- Downloads:
- 0
- Uploads:
- 7
- Thanks:
- 6
- Thanked:
- 1 times in 1 posts
October 4, 2012 at 4:41 pm #469154Ninja Lead,
Thanks so much for your response, I really appreciate it. I’ve had no replies at all on the joomla.org forums, which is pretty surprising 😮
<em>@Ninja Lead 341025 wrote:</em><blockquote>1) Disable main mega menu
remove this script below
<block name="mainnav" type="mainnav" main-inner="1"></block>
2) Back to Module Manager->Create new module with Module Type: Menu. Look at the screenshot
Remember to clear cache from Admin area site.</blockquote>
This put my menu on the left & looks like the old purity menu, which is a start. I would like to have it on the side like this, but look like the megamenu w/it’s functionality (hover over to have child items appear).
- Any suggestions to get that functionality back?
- Is there no way to have the megamenu display vertically on the left instead of at the top of the page like it was?
<blockquote>With other request:
I would like to clarify that we do not provide customizations services because of our limited resources. You can find an expert to have the project done via a reliable freelance site: Joomlancers.com, another network of JoomlArt. I personally recommend as thousands of projects have succeeded on the site.
Let me know if you need any other assistance.</blockquote>
I don’t need any development help, I just need to know which file I need to edit so I can paste in the code I had in the old purity template to display my view cart button & advertisements.
Regards,
Billswissa Friendswissa
- Join date:
- November 2011
- Posts:
- 1955
- Downloads:
- 7
- Uploads:
- 277
- Thanks:
- 175
- Thanked:
- 717 times in 572 posts
October 4, 2012 at 5:06 pm #469156<em>@billbo1970 341078 wrote:</em><blockquote>
- Is there no way to have the megamenu display vertically on the left instead of at the top of the page like it was?
</blockquote>
You can try this – http://www.joomlart.com/forums/showthread.php?67435-Tutorial-Make-your-Mega-Menu-vertical!&highlight=vertical+mega+menu
billbo1970 Friendbillbo1970
- Join date:
- September 2012
- Posts:
- 33
- Downloads:
- 0
- Uploads:
- 7
- Thanks:
- 6
- Thanked:
- 1 times in 1 posts
October 4, 2012 at 5:58 pm #469160<em>@swissa 341081 wrote:</em><blockquote>You can try this – http://www.joomlart.com/forums/showthread.php?67435-Tutorial-Make-your-Mega-Menu-vertical!&highlight=vertical+mega+menu</blockquote>
Swissa,
Thanks so much for the link! I’ve backed up & edited the files mentioned in this post. I’m assuming that now I need to disable the Main Menu module that Ninja Lead had me create, and restore the mega menu after un-remarking the code I removed?
Regards,
Billbillbo1970 Friendbillbo1970
- Join date:
- September 2012
- Posts:
- 33
- Downloads:
- 0
- Uploads:
- 7
- Thanks:
- 6
- Thanked:
- 1 times in 1 posts
October 4, 2012 at 6:08 pm #469161Hmmm… the menu is still at the top, but it is acting like it’s on the left… which makes the slideouts always appear to the left, no matter which parent menu item you hover over… which is very odd looking.
swissa Friendswissa
- Join date:
- November 2011
- Posts:
- 1955
- Downloads:
- 7
- Uploads:
- 277
- Thanks:
- 175
- Thanked:
- 717 times in 572 posts
October 4, 2012 at 6:10 pm #469162<em>@billbo1970 341087 wrote:</em><blockquote>Swissa,
Thanks so much for the link! I’ve backed up & edited the files mentioned in this post. I’m assuming that now I need to disable the Main Menu module that Ninja Lead had me create, and restore the mega menu after un-remarking the code I removed?
Regards,
Bill</blockquote>Yeah, I think you’re going to need to re-instate the
<block name="mainnav" type="mainnav" main-inner="1"></block>
code. And then maybe you can loose the menü module you created.I haven’t done pixelzombie’s “hack” so make sure you do a backup before ‘playing’. Maybe post also on the forum link I highlighted.
Happy playing! 😉
billbo1970 Friendbillbo1970
- Join date:
- September 2012
- Posts:
- 33
- Downloads:
- 0
- Uploads:
- 7
- Thanks:
- 6
- Thanked:
- 1 times in 1 posts
October 4, 2012 at 6:22 pm #469164Swissa,
Not sure if you saw my most recent post, hopefully you’re still online. Also, do you happen to know what file I need to edit to get my view cart button code to appear in the left column? Thanks!
Bill
billbo1970 Friendbillbo1970
- Join date:
- September 2012
- Posts:
- 33
- Downloads:
- 0
- Uploads:
- 7
- Thanks:
- 6
- Thanked:
- 1 times in 1 posts
October 4, 2012 at 7:22 pm #469166I’ve reverted back to the default files & megamenu. I really need to go live with this & replace the old site. Thanks anyway, and if you can think of any solutions for me I’d appreciate it.
Regards,
Billbillbo1970 Friendbillbo1970
- Join date:
- September 2012
- Posts:
- 33
- Downloads:
- 0
- Uploads:
- 7
- Thanks:
- 6
- Thanked:
- 1 times in 1 posts
October 4, 2012 at 8:28 pm #4691722.5 is now live. I hope someone can help me out with the cart button & ads though.
Regards,
BillNinja Lead ModeratorNinja Lead
- Join date:
- November 2014
- Posts:
- 16064
- Downloads:
- 310
- Uploads:
- 2864
- Thanks:
- 341
- Thanked:
- 3854 times in 3563 posts
October 5, 2012 at 6:39 am #469208<em>@billbo1970 341109 wrote:</em><blockquote>2.5 is now live. I hope someone can help me out with the cart button & ads though.
Regards,
Bill</blockquote>Hi Bill,
Please send me the screenshot what place do you put “cart button & ads” on your site: http://www.filadelfosrc.com. I will help you about that.
Regards
billbo1970 Friendbillbo1970
- Join date:
- September 2012
- Posts:
- 33
- Downloads:
- 0
- Uploads:
- 7
- Thanks:
- 6
- Thanked:
- 1 times in 1 posts
October 9, 2012 at 2:17 pm #469545<em>@Ninja Lead 341156 wrote:</em><blockquote>Hi Bill,
Please send me the screenshot what place do you put “cart button & ads” on your site: http://www.filadelfosrc.com. I will help you about that.
Regards</blockquote>
Thank you Ninja!
Here is a screenshot w/ me marking up where I’d like to place items:
Regards,
Bill
Ninja Lead ModeratorNinja Lead
- Join date:
- November 2014
- Posts:
- 16064
- Downloads:
- 310
- Uploads:
- 2864
- Thanks:
- 341
- Thanked:
- 3854 times in 3563 posts
October 10, 2012 at 3:01 am #469583I have checked and feel sorry that your request exceeds the scope of our service.
I send to you the user guide about make new position on JA Template: http://wiki.joomlart.com/wiki/JA_T3_Framework_2/Guides#Middle_column_width and all position defined on middle: http://wiki.joomlart.com/images/2/2b/Ja_framework.jpg
Or you can find an expert to have the project done via a reliable freelance site: http://www.joomlancers.com, another network of JoomlArt. I personally recommend as thousands of projects have succeeded on the site.
Thank you for contacting us.
billbo1970 Friendbillbo1970
- Join date:
- September 2012
- Posts:
- 33
- Downloads:
- 0
- Uploads:
- 7
- Thanks:
- 6
- Thanked:
- 1 times in 1 posts
October 19, 2012 at 11:39 am #470557Ninja,
Sorry for the delay in responding, I never received an email notification that you replied >:(
I think I see the confusion here. Was I pointing out areas outside of the template/wrapper?
I’m used to the previous version of Purity, it would dynamically resize itself to fill the entire width of my monitor. It looks like Purity2 has a fixed content area, and just expands the header & background to fill additional monitor width?
<blockquote>Old Purity Template </blockquote>
<blockquote>New Purity 2 Template </blockquote>In any event, I would like to display my cart in the middle.left1 field, and my banner ads in the middle.right1 field. Which file do I edit, and where within it do I paste the code?
Regards,
Bill-
Ninja Lead Moderator
Ninja Lead
- Join date:
- November 2014
- Posts:
- 16064
- Downloads:
- 310
- Uploads:
- 2864
- Thanks:
- 341
- Thanked:
- 3854 times in 3563 posts
October 23, 2012 at 4:00 am #470839On JA Purity II template on J2.5 you can set full width
<blockquote>Admin area -> Extensions->Template Manager->edit JA Purity II – Default->Profile tab->Edit default</blockquote>
You can find anything position need to set full width
from
main-inner="1"
change to
no-main="1"
About middle position you can read user guide about http://wiki.joomlart.com/wiki/JA_T3_Framework_2/Guides#Middle_column_width and all position defined on middle: http://wiki.joomlart.com/images/2/2b/Ja_framework.jpg
Hope you can add new position on middle position.
-
AuthorPosts
This topic contains 17 replies, has 3 voices, and was last updated by Ninja Lead 12 years, 1 month ago.
We moved to new unified forum. Please post all new support queries in our New Forum
Jump to forum