-
AuthorPosts
-
chacapamac Friend
chacapamac
- Join date:
- March 2009
- Posts:
- 65
- Downloads:
- 0
- Uploads:
- 7
- Thanks:
- 7
- Thanked:
- 1 times in 1 posts
March 16, 2009 at 1:03 pm #139188I like to try this png fix : http://extensions.joomla.org/extensions/style-&-design/design/4770/details
but the best way seem to be to have it directly in the index.php as said here
[
QUOTE]I found that the best way to make it work more reliably was to take the code the plugin generates in the head of the page (MS conditional statements) and past it directly at the bottom of my template index.php just above (and then turn the plugin off so it does not output the same stuff at the head).</blockquote>What will be the best way to do that?
wooohanetworks Friendwooohanetworks
- Join date:
- September 2008
- Posts:
- 1239
- Downloads:
- 0
- Uploads:
- 2
- Thanks:
- 148
- Thanked:
- 138 times in 41 posts
March 16, 2009 at 1:07 pm #296268To do it like they say…;)
scotty Friendscotty
- Join date:
- March 2008
- Posts:
- 2339
- Downloads:
- 0
- Uploads:
- 13
- Thanks:
- 76
- Thanked:
- 827 times in 595 posts
March 16, 2009 at 2:30 pm #296276Correct me if I’m wrong but isn’t there already a PNG fix coded into all JA templates already?
wooohanetworks Friendwooohanetworks
- Join date:
- September 2008
- Posts:
- 1239
- Downloads:
- 0
- Uploads:
- 2
- Thanks:
- 148
- Thanked:
- 138 times in 41 posts
March 16, 2009 at 4:54 pm #296297Where……….?
chacapamac Friendchacapamac
- Join date:
- March 2009
- Posts:
- 65
- Downloads:
- 0
- Uploads:
- 7
- Thanks:
- 7
- Thanked:
- 1 times in 1 posts
March 16, 2009 at 10:19 pm #296339When it say: <blockquote>MS conditional statements</blockquote>
Do I use something like:<script language="javascript" type="text/javascript" src="<?php echo $tmpTools->templateurl();?>/scripts/mootools.v1.1.js"></script>
and call the script or But it need to be explorer 6 only???:
<!-->
<style type="text/css">
.clearfix {height: 1%;}
</style>
<!-->or:
<!-->
<link href="<?php echo $tmpTools->templateurl(); ?>/css/ie8.css" rel="stylesheet" type="text/css" />
<!-->or something like:
<?php if (rok_isIe7()) :?>
<!-->
<link href="<?php echo $template_path; ?>/css/template_ie7.css" rel="stylesheet" type="text/css" />
<!-->
<?php endif; ?>
<?php if (rok_isIe6()) :?>
<!-->
<link href="<?php echo $template_path; ?>/css/template_ie6.php" rel="stylesheet" type="text/css" />
<!-->
<?php endif; ?>A little hint will be appreciated?
scotty Friendscotty
- Join date:
- March 2008
- Posts:
- 2339
- Downloads:
- 0
- Uploads:
- 13
- Thanks:
- 76
- Thanked:
- 827 times in 595 posts
March 16, 2009 at 10:38 pm #296342wooohanetworks;118136Where……….?
ja.script.js
function makeTransBg….
scotty Friendscotty
- Join date:
- March 2008
- Posts:
- 2339
- Downloads:
- 0
- Uploads:
- 13
- Thanks:
- 76
- Thanked:
- 827 times in 595 posts
March 16, 2009 at 10:41 pm #296343chacapamac I presume you have already tried placing the PNG in?
wooohanetworks Friendwooohanetworks
- Join date:
- September 2008
- Posts:
- 1239
- Downloads:
- 0
- Uploads:
- 2
- Thanks:
- 148
- Thanked:
- 138 times in 41 posts
March 17, 2009 at 12:20 pm #296411<em>@scotty 118201 wrote:</em><blockquote>ja.script.js
function makeTransBg….</blockquote>
Did you test it, is it working? I simply got rid of this and added some script that detects IE6 and redirects on a page in my shop that tells people how bad their browser is and they must have a newer one, no way around. In IE6/5.5 a lot of modules even do not work and the site becomes inaccessible, as they are based on JS that needs modern browsers. People will thank anyone who does it this way, as they will feel the difference as soon they installed IE7, FF3 or any other modern browser, it is then a simple chain reaction.;)
Plus, to the whole topic, when 30% of the world still uses IE6, it must have a reason. Now people forgot that maybe 20% of those again are corporate computers, and you all know that companies do not like it when their employees use their work computers for leisure and shopping, in most companies it is simply forbidden. As it is hard to control it, you can make it the way they do it, you simply leave them with old browsers and so they won’t have the fun they have when better doing this at home, with their own personal computers and new browsers. As anyone who has it not that way, who has an own business and works alone on the computer will have a modern browser, but in shift offices etc., there not. As the computer rarely need browsers at all, the software used may be connected to the internet but needs no browser at all.
So, I think, one does not have to be the fool who does the job of IE6 compliance when anyway the users of those or the computers equipped with those never visit the sites you operate.;)
Menalto FriendMenalto
- Join date:
- May 2007
- Posts:
- 4736
- Downloads:
- 0
- Uploads:
- 43
- Thanks:
- 2
- Thanked:
- 531 times in 361 posts
March 17, 2009 at 12:40 pm #296414Take a look in Sanidine 2 templates index.php file:
<?php if ($tmpTools->isIE6()) { ?>
<!-->
<link href="<?php echo $tmpTools->templateurl(); ?>/css/ie6.php" rel="stylesheet" type="text/css" />
<script type="text/javascript">
window.addEvent ('load', makeTransBG);
function makeTransBG() {
makeTransBg($$('img'));
}
</script>
<!-->
<?php } ?>
and then in the css foldeer/ie6.php file:
#ja-wrapper{
filter:progid:DXImageTransform.Microsoft.AlphaImageLoader(src='<?php echo $template_path;?>/images/wrapper-bg.png', sizingMethod='scale');
background-image: none;
}
This gives you some ideas on how to make it.
Or even look in the dravity for joomla 1.5:
<?php if ($tmpTools->isIE6()) { ?>
<!-->
<script type="text/javascript">
var siteurl = '<?php echo $tmpTools->baseurl();?>';window.addEvent ('load', makeTransBG);
function makeTransBG() {
makeTransBg($$('h1.logo a'));
makeTransBg($('ja-col1-top'));
makeTransBg($('ja-col1-center'), '', 'scale');
makeTransBg($$('.title-r'));
makeTransBg($$('#ja-cssmenu li ul'), '', 'scale', 0, 2);
}
</script>
<!-->
<?php } ?>
Where you can play around and add your own code, ex:
makeTransBg($('menalto'));
should make the backgroundimage i added in the css file transparent:
#menalto {
background: url(../images/menalto.png) no-repeat top left;
}scotty Friendscotty
- Join date:
- March 2008
- Posts:
- 2339
- Downloads:
- 0
- Uploads:
- 13
- Thanks:
- 76
- Thanked:
- 827 times in 595 posts
March 17, 2009 at 2:18 pm #296427wooohanetworks;118298I simply got rid of this and added some script that detects IE6 and redirects on a page in my shop that tells people how bad their browser is…
In my opinion this is a very bad idea. Users who are still using IE6 (about 25%) are obviously not web literate and will simply move on to another site rather than start to do upgrades on their machine.
Much better to have your site IE6 compatible in my opinion. I don’t know about you but any site I go onto that starts telling me I need to install this, that, or the other for everything to work just instantly turns me off going any further in that site.
chacapamac Friendchacapamac
- Join date:
- March 2009
- Posts:
- 65
- Downloads:
- 0
- Uploads:
- 7
- Thanks:
- 7
- Thanked:
- 1 times in 1 posts
March 18, 2009 at 5:25 am #296614I try the
<blockquote><?php if ($tmpTools->isIE6()) { ?>
<!–>
<link href=”<?php echo $tmpTools->templateurl(); ?>/css/ie6.php” rel=”stylesheet” type=”text/css” />
<script type=”text/javascript”>
window.addEvent (‘load’, makeTransBG);
function makeTransBG() {
makeTransBg($$(‘img’));
}
</script>
<!–>
<?php } ?></blockquote> in index.phpand
<blockquote>#ja-wrapper2 {
filter:progid:DXImageTransform.Microsoft.AlphaImageLoader(src='<?php echo $template_path;?>/images/shadow-right.png’, sizingMethod=’scale’);
}
#ja-wrapper3 {
filter:progid:DXImageTransform.Microsoft.AlphaImageLoader(src='<?php echo $template_path;?>/images/shadow-left.png’, sizingMethod=’scale’);
}</blockquote>
in the conditional ie6 css.Hope I find a way to make it work.
Take a look at: http://www.grafcomm.ca/joomlagraf/larix/
These are png8….
If I don’t find the way, I will take the shadow out for ie6, Snif :(( I like to have my shadows!!!!
imsleepy Friendimsleepy
- Join date:
- January 2009
- Posts:
- 451
- Downloads:
- 0
- Uploads:
- 0
- Thanks:
- 94
- Thanked:
- 45 times in 1 posts
March 18, 2009 at 7:40 am #296657Hi scotty,
I have to agree with you. There are people out there who have no idea, or are afraid to try, to download and upgrade to a newer browser. They pay someone to do it. If they feel like they don’t want to, they just won’t do it. Your number of 25%, is a pretty big number and a lot of potential customers to lose.
chacapamac Friendchacapamac
- Join date:
- March 2009
- Posts:
- 65
- Downloads:
- 0
- Uploads:
- 7
- Thanks:
- 7
- Thanked:
- 1 times in 1 posts
March 18, 2009 at 2:30 pm #296707As webmaster my role is not to complaint about what viewer do or don’t but to adapt. Explorer 6 is used by 19 to 28 % of the internet users (http://www.upsdell.com/BrowserNews/stat.htm and this mean that any web sites that need to reach have to present a IE6 version.
wooohanetworks Friendwooohanetworks
- Join date:
- September 2008
- Posts:
- 1239
- Downloads:
- 0
- Uploads:
- 2
- Thanks:
- 148
- Thanked:
- 138 times in 41 posts
March 18, 2009 at 2:43 pm #296710<em>@chacapamac 118672 wrote:</em><blockquote>As webmaster my role is not to complaint about what viewer do or don’t but to adapt. Explorer 6 is used by 19 to 28 % of the internet users (http://www.upsdell.com/BrowserNews/stat.htm and this mean that any web sites that need to reach have to present a IE6 version.</blockquote>
Plus, to the whole topic, when 30% of the world still uses IE6, it must have a reason. Now people forgot that maybe 20% of those again are corporate computers, and you all know that companies do not like it when their employees use their work computers for leisure and shopping, in most companies it is simply forbidden. As it is hard to control it, you can make it the way they do it, you simply leave them with old browsers and so they won’t have the fun they have when better doing this at home, with their own personal computers and new browsers. As anyone who has it not that way, who has an own business and works alone on the computer will have a modern browser, but in shift offices etc., there not. As the computer rarely need browsers at all, the software used may be connected to the internet but needs no browser at all. BUT still count as “internet users that use IE6” as they also access matching sites, but not a lot of those sites you guys build.
Like I said before, in business it is all about knowing who the customer is, the visitor is and when you tell me with your own sites you make, you have 20% users with IE6 and those would not upgrade when you educate them why and how with a simple extra page, what business are you in or in what country and province, this is also related to those factors? This is a serious question and meant as such, not as an offense like some may think, a serious question, as I literally can see no good point to still support IE6 when you are in Western Europe, Japan, USA, Australian Metropolitan areas etc.. Now when you have customers in regions that are known to be “a bit behind the trends”, okay, you may have to do so or you really lose customers. Otherwise, save yourself a lot of time, when not truily needed. Personally, I only look for customers in those countries, I do not offer goods that only I have, I do not ship internationally and somehow I would always wonder if the customers from somewhere, are really real purchasers or just scammers.
So, I think, one does not have to be the fool who does the job of IE6 compliance when anyway the users of those or the computers equipped with those never visit the sites you operate for someone who has clients in the mentioned regions, the trend followers, that are always up to date, hip with the net, however you may call it.;)
scotty Friendscotty
- Join date:
- March 2008
- Posts:
- 2339
- Downloads:
- 0
- Uploads:
- 13
- Thanks:
- 76
- Thanked:
- 827 times in 595 posts
March 18, 2009 at 2:57 pm #296716wooohanetworks;118676
So, I think, one does not have to be the fool who does the job of IE6 compliance when anyway the users of those or the computers equipped with those never visit the sites you operate.;)If you think that A. Designers who get their sites IE6 Compliant are ‘fools’ and B. think that IE6 users only visit business sites then you have confirmed my long standing belief that you know nothing about the internet, web design, user trends, or YOUR visitors.
If you use this ‘you must upgrade your browser’ plug-in to all IE6 visitors to your e-commerce shop then you WILL lose customers. You can bet your house on it!
-
AuthorPosts
This topic contains 17 replies, has 5 voices, and was last updated by scotty 15 years, 8 months ago.
We moved to new unified forum. Please post all new support queries in our New Forum