-
AuthorPosts
-
April 12, 2011 at 1:50 am #162670
Hi All-
Thank you in advance for your help. I have spent the last 2 days trying everything I can think of to get this module position added to my Purity ii v.1.6 template.
I have read the wiki articles on layouts/blocks and t3, I just cannot figure this out.
What I am trying to do: I want to add a module position called “Top” to the version 1.6 template. The purity ii for joomla 1.5.22 has this module position, but the 1.6 does not. The “Top” module position needs to be between the top spotlight area (users 1 – 5) and the main content area.
My website is http://www.teaparty2012.org
The closer to step by step instructions the better for me.
I really appreciate this forum and your help.
Thanks!
Chris
I am using the main-right-left layout.
himangi Friendhimangi
- Join date:
- April 2011
- Posts:
- 1406
- Downloads:
- 1
- Uploads:
- 86
- Thanks:
- 21
- Thanked:
- 345 times in 332 posts
April 12, 2011 at 8:29 am #385898Hi
To add position below the ‘Top Spotlight’ (user1 -5) position, follow the steps below:
- Go to Extensions>Template Manager and click on ja_purity_ii
- Click on ‘LAYOUTS’ tab in the right colum. Find the layout you are using.
- Click on Edit link in front of the layout and find
- Below the spotlight codeline, place following codeline
- Save the layout and template and check the change on frontend.
<blockquote><block name=”topsl” type=”spotlight” main-inner=”1″>user1,user2,user3,user4,user5</block> </blockquote>
<blockquote><block name=”content-mass”>yourposition</block></blockquote>
1 user says Thank You to himangi for this useful post
April 12, 2011 at 11:20 am #385930Hey-
Thanks for the reply!. I followed your directions and I got it to add the module I wanted. However, I was not clear enough where I need it. The directions did place the content between the topsl position and main content, but what I meant was that it should be below the top spotlight area (users 1 -5) and above the main content and beside the right columns. In other words, this position should be basically where content goes.
To see what I mean, go to http://www.wednesdaynighthockey.com/ The red module entitled: No Pick Up Hockey on April 13th
is where I want the position to go. The http://www.wednesdaynighthockey.com site is a purity ii v. 1.5.22 .Other questions that I have. In your instructions you had:
<block name=”content-mass”>yourposition</block>
I realize the yourposition is what I call my position, but how do you get that to show when selecting the positions of modules? I entitled mine “myslideshow” because that is where I will be placing my slideshow module (showplus). To get the module to work, I had to use an existing position name (vimeo) and replace yourposition with vimeo.
Optimally, I would like to have the position called myslideshow and have it placed where the red module is located on my hockey site.
I tried moving <block name=”content-mass”>yourposition</block> to below <blocks name=”middle” colwidth=”20″> but when I did that, nothing showed up.
Based on what I am experiencing it seems that a certain block only can work in a defined blocks. In otherwords, it seems the “top blocks” contain a block called “header, mainnav, topsl” among others. So there must be a content-mass block aslo in the “top blocks” that can use the vimeo position. But when I removed <block name=”content-mass”>vimeo</block> from bewteen the <blocks name=”top” style=”xhtml”> </blocks> area and placed it in
<blocks name=”middle” colwidth=”20″>
<block name=”content-mass”>vimeo</block>
<block name=”inset2″>right</block>
<block name=”right1″ style=”jarounded”>left</block>
</blocks>there must not be a block defined as “content-mass” within the “middle blocks”.
I guess what I need is to figure out how to define a block within the middle blocks” and figure out how to create a position where previously stated.
Any ideas?
Thanks again for your help. I really appreciate it.Chris
himangi Friendhimangi
- Join date:
- April 2011
- Posts:
- 1406
- Downloads:
- 1
- Uploads:
- 86
- Thanks:
- 21
- Thanked:
- 345 times in 332 posts
April 12, 2011 at 11:46 am #385933Hi,
To introduce a position above the main content area in middle block, you need to use
<blockquote><block name=”content-mass-top”>vimeo</block></blockquote>
Similarly you can place a module position below content area using
<blockquote><block name=”content-mass-bottom”>myslideshow</block></blockquote>similarly you can place positions above and below Left + Right columns.
To know more about adding new positions, you can refer to http://wiki.joomlart.com/wiki/JA_T3_Framework_2/Guides#Different_block_positions
1 user says Thank You to himangi for this useful post
April 12, 2011 at 12:40 pm #385940Hello!
Thanks again! It worked! I had to switch to main-left-right and use customload for the position and edit the layout to:
<?xml version=”1.0″ encoding=”utf-8″?>
<layout name=”desktop”>
<!–Extra css load for this layout–>
<stylesheets>
</stylesheets>
<blocks name=”top” style=”xhtml”>
<block name=”absolute” type=”modules” style=”raw”>absolute</block>
<block name=”top-panel” type=”modules” style=”raw” main-inner=”1″>top-panel</block>
<block name=”header” type=”header” main-inner=”1″></block>
<block name=”mainnav” type=”mainnav” main-inner=”1″></block>
<block name=”cpanel” type=”usertools/cpanel”></block>
<block name=”topsl” type=”spotlight” main-inner=”1″>user1,user2,user3,user4,user5</block>
</blocks>
<blocks name=”middle” colwidth=”20″>
<block name=”content-mass-top”>customload</block>
<block name=”right1″>left</block>
<block name=”right2″>right</block>
</blocks>
<blocks name=”bottom” style=”xhtml”>
<block name=”botsl” type=”spotlight” main-inner=”1″>user6,user7,user8,user9,user10</block>
<block name=”navhelper” type=”navhelper” main-inner=”1″></block>
<block name=”footer” type=”footer”></block>
</blocks>
</layout>But it works! And everything with the universe is cool again!
Thanks Big Time!
Chris
May 9, 2011 at 8:32 am #390369Hi –
Thanks for this clarity. I’m still getting used to the t3 – I’m amazed I can add a position without having to add php code.
I would like to add a 3 column rounded style below mass-content. I used:
<block name="content-mass-bottom" style="jarounded">user12,user13,user14</block>
So, I get rounded mod position but vertically. I’d like them to be horizontal.
Thanks,
m.himangi Friendhimangi
- Join date:
- April 2011
- Posts:
- 1406
- Downloads:
- 1
- Uploads:
- 86
- Thanks:
- 21
- Thanked:
- 345 times in 332 posts
May 9, 2011 at 9:12 am #390378Hi mosim,
To have positions side by side, you need to use type=”spotlight” in the code like <blockquote><block name=”content-mass-bottom” type=”spotlight” style=”jarounded”>user12,user13,user14</block></blockquote>
September 25, 2011 at 10:20 pm #414919Hi himangi –
The “spotlight” style stretches the width of the page. I would like to have the mods kept within the width of the content area. How do I do this?
Thanks,
M.himangi Friendhimangi
- Join date:
- April 2011
- Posts:
- 1406
- Downloads:
- 1
- Uploads:
- 86
- Thanks:
- 21
- Thanked:
- 345 times in 332 posts
September 27, 2011 at 5:07 am #415199Hi
Try adding following code in the middle block in the layout.
<blockquote><block name=”content-top” type=”spotlight” style=”jarounded”>user12,user13,user14</block></blockquote>
The Spotlight type content-top block will create positions with equal heights and width exactly above the main content area. Similarly the Spotlight type content-bottom block will create positions with equal heights and width exactly below the main content area.
<blockquote><block name=”content-bottom” type=”spotlight” style=”jarounded”>user12,user13,user14</block></blockquote>September 28, 2011 at 3:39 am #415424Hi –
Tried:
<block name="content-bottom" type="spotlight" style="jarounded">user12,user13,user14</block>
The first position (user12) seems to be behaving as expected, the second and third position do not display properly. See attached images.
Thanks,
M.-
himangi Friend
himangi
- Join date:
- April 2011
- Posts:
- 1406
- Downloads:
- 1
- Uploads:
- 86
- Thanks:
- 21
- Thanked:
- 345 times in 332 posts
September 28, 2011 at 11:23 am #415460I cant tell you anything without seeing the actual site. Can you provide the site url and admin access via PM, so that I can take a look at this?
himangi Friendhimangi
- Join date:
- April 2011
- Posts:
- 1406
- Downloads:
- 1
- Uploads:
- 86
- Thanks:
- 21
- Thanked:
- 345 times in 332 posts
October 1, 2011 at 4:51 am #415990Hi Mosim,
I got your PM and as I said my previous reply, can you please provide your site url where I can see the issue, Also provide site admin via PM, so that if required I can check the modules and template settings as well.
I tried accessing the url you have given in your first post http://www.teaparty2012.org but that doesnt have the site anymore..
October 9, 2011 at 6:52 pm #418029Hi Himangi –
Have you had a chance to find a solution with spotlight in the mass-content bottom?
Thanks,
M.himangi Friendhimangi
- Join date:
- April 2011
- Posts:
- 1406
- Downloads:
- 1
- Uploads:
- 86
- Thanks:
- 21
- Thanked:
- 345 times in 332 posts
October 12, 2011 at 6:27 am #418649Hi
I havent found a reason why it is behaving like that. But I am still checking it and will reply as soon as I find the reason..
Sorry for the delay! 🙁
October 13, 2011 at 7:42 am #419003Hi Himangi –
No problem, just didn’t hear from you. I really appreciate your help on this. Can you also try to install JEM? I can’t get it to install properly and I don’t know how else to update the purity ii template.
Thanks,
M. -
AuthorPosts
This topic contains 22 replies, has 4 voices, and was last updated by himangi 12 years, 10 months ago.
We moved to new unified forum. Please post all new support queries in our New Forum
Jump to forum