-
AuthorPosts
-
ian1957 Friend
ian1957
- Join date:
- February 2013
- Posts:
- 12
- Downloads:
- 0
- Uploads:
- 5
- Thanks:
- 6
- Thanked:
- 1 times in 1 posts
February 27, 2013 at 2:10 pm #185366The placeholder text in the contact entry boxes does not show in IE but is there in Firefox and Chrome.
Saguaros ModeratorSaguaros
- Join date:
- September 2014
- Posts:
- 31405
- Downloads:
- 237
- Uploads:
- 471
- Thanks:
- 845
- Thanked:
- 5346 times in 4964 posts
ian1957 Friendian1957
- Join date:
- February 2013
- Posts:
- 12
- Downloads:
- 0
- Uploads:
- 5
- Thanks:
- 6
- Thanked:
- 1 times in 1 posts
February 28, 2013 at 8:21 am #484884Thanks. Does JA give any recommendation to how Quick can be configured to be made usable by IE users (there are still a lot of them) ?
Saguaros ModeratorSaguaros
- Join date:
- September 2014
- Posts:
- 31405
- Downloads:
- 237
- Uploads:
- 471
- Thanks:
- 845
- Thanked:
- 5346 times in 4964 posts
March 1, 2013 at 8:58 am #484996Hi ian,
You can try adding this jQuery file to this template:
– Download this file: https://github.com/mathiasbynens/jquery-placeholder/blob/master/jquery.placeholder.js and copy to folder: /templates/ja_onepage/js
– Open file: templatesja_onepageetcassets.xml , add path links to the new added file:
<assets>
<scripts>
<file>js/jquery.easing.1.3.js</file>
<file>js/script.js</file>
<file>js/jquery.placeholder.js</file>
</scripts>
</assets>
– Open file: templatesja_onepagejsscript.js , file function
$(window).load(function() {
and add this line of code inside this function:
$('input, textarea').placeholder();
1 user says Thank You to Saguaros for this useful post
ian1957 Friendian1957
- Join date:
- February 2013
- Posts:
- 12
- Downloads:
- 0
- Uploads:
- 5
- Thanks:
- 6
- Thanked:
- 1 times in 1 posts
March 1, 2013 at 9:34 pm #485050Thank you. This is very close to making it workable but unfortunately each input text box still starts off blank and is only populated with the placeholder after it has received and lost cursor focus.
Saguaros ModeratorSaguaros
- Join date:
- September 2014
- Posts:
- 31405
- Downloads:
- 237
- Uploads:
- 471
- Thanks:
- 845
- Thanked:
- 5346 times in 4964 posts
ian1957 Friendian1957
- Join date:
- February 2013
- Posts:
- 12
- Downloads:
- 0
- Uploads:
- 5
- Thanks:
- 6
- Thanked:
- 1 times in 1 posts
March 2, 2013 at 2:58 pm #485127Works like magic. Thank you very much, great support!
September 12, 2013 at 5:20 pm #505621Hello,
I see the websites http://www.ianneilsonfurniture.co.uk/#contact and the demo http://joomla25-templates.joomlart.com/ja_onepage/#get_in_touch with IE7, IE8 and IE9 and the contact text entry boxes not show.
¿Is it correct?: templatesja_onepagejsscript.js :
[PHP]$(window).load(function() {
setTimeout(function(){
$(‘input, textarea’).placeholder();
}, 2000);
$(‘img.img-grayscale, .img-grayscale img, .ja-cp-image img’).each(function() {
$(this).wrap(‘<div style=”display:inline-block;” class=”gs-wrap”></div>’)
.clone().addClass(‘gotcolors’).css({‘position’: ‘absolute’, ‘opacity’: 0}).insertBefore(this);[/PHP]Thanks in advance
Saguaros ModeratorSaguaros
- Join date:
- September 2014
- Posts:
- 31405
- Downloads:
- 237
- Uploads:
- 471
- Thanks:
- 845
- Thanked:
- 5346 times in 4964 posts
September 13, 2013 at 2:33 am #505662Dear lgisl,
This thread is discussing about that problem of IE browser, kindly take a look at my above suggestion
September 13, 2013 at 6:38 am #505698Hi Saguaros
I saw the comment:: This is because IE 9 doesn’t support placeholder and HTML5
I known joomlart not offers support IE 7 navigator, but the template not working well (Users of the website can not contact if no names are displayed fields) in IE 8 and IE 9 , they are widely used browsers.
It is a big problem in a website, if the contact does not work. ¿Any solution about it?
Thanks in advance.
Saguaros ModeratorSaguaros
- Join date:
- September 2014
- Posts:
- 31405
- Downloads:
- 237
- Uploads:
- 471
- Thanks:
- 845
- Thanked:
- 5346 times in 4964 posts
September 18, 2013 at 2:04 pm #506232Kindly check my above suggestions 🙂
October 26, 2015 at 5:27 pm #719005Hi Saguaros,
I am struggling to get this fix to work. I still seem to be unable to get the field names to show in internet explorerI have downloaded jquery.placeholder.js and copied it to /templates/ja_onepage/js
I have edited /templates/ja_onepage/etc/assets.xml to read:
<?xml version="1.0" encoding="utf-8"?>
<assets>
<scripts>
<file>js/jquery.easing.1.3.js</file>
<file>js/script.js</file>
<file>js/jquery.placeholder.js</file>
</scripts>
</assets>and I have also edited /templates/ja_onepage/js/script.js as instructed
$(window).load(function () {
setTimeout(function() {
$('input, textarea').placeholder();
}, 2000);$('img.img-grayscale, .img-grayscale img, .ja-cp-image img').each(function () {
$(this).wrap('<div style="display:inline-block;" class="gs-wrap"></div>')
.clone().addClass('gotcolors').css({'position': 'absolute', 'opacity': 0}).insertBefore(this);Grayscale(this);
}).parent().hover(
function () {
$(this).find('.gotcolors').css({
left: Math.round($(this).find('.gotcolors').siblings('img').position().left),however my placeholder text still does not show 🙁
October 26, 2015 at 5:27 pm #752842Hi Saguaros,
I am struggling to get this fix to work. I still seem to be unable to get the field names to show in internet explorerI have downloaded jquery.placeholder.js and copied it to /templates/ja_onepage/js
I have edited /templates/ja_onepage/etc/assets.xml to read:
<?xml version="1.0" encoding="utf-8"?>
<assets>
<scripts>
<file>js/jquery.easing.1.3.js</file>
<file>js/script.js</file>
<file>js/jquery.placeholder.js</file>
</scripts>
</assets>and I have also edited /templates/ja_onepage/js/script.js as instructed
$(window).load(function () {
setTimeout(function() {
$('input, textarea').placeholder();
}, 2000);$('img.img-grayscale, .img-grayscale img, .ja-cp-image img').each(function () {
$(this).wrap('<div style="display:inline-block;" class="gs-wrap"></div>')
.clone().addClass('gotcolors').css({'position': 'absolute', 'opacity': 0}).insertBefore(this);Grayscale(this);
}).parent().hover(
function () {
$(this).find('.gotcolors').css({
left: Math.round($(this).find('.gotcolors').siblings('img').position().left),however my placeholder text still does not show 🙁
Saguaros ModeratorSaguaros
- Join date:
- September 2014
- Posts:
- 31405
- Downloads:
- 237
- Uploads:
- 471
- Thanks:
- 845
- Thanked:
- 5346 times in 4964 posts
October 28, 2015 at 7:26 am #719322Hi
Which version of IE are you experiencing this error? Could you post your site’s URL here (or PM me admin & ftp account) so that I can take a look?
Saguaros ModeratorSaguaros
- Join date:
- September 2014
- Posts:
- 31405
- Downloads:
- 237
- Uploads:
- 471
- Thanks:
- 845
- Thanked:
- 5346 times in 4964 posts
October 28, 2015 at 7:26 am #753009Hi
Which version of IE are you experiencing this error? Could you post your site’s URL here (or PM me admin & ftp account) so that I can take a look?
AuthorPostsViewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 15 total)This topic contains 15 replies, has 4 voices, and was last updated by Saguaros 9 years ago.
We moved to new unified forum. Please post all new support queries in our New Forum
Quick Contact Placeholder text not showing in IE
Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 15 total)