-
AuthorPosts
-
mneese Friend
mneese
- Join date:
- November 2008
- Posts:
- 148
- Downloads:
- 19
- Uploads:
- 0
- Thanks:
- 36
- Thanked:
- 7 times in 1 posts
April 10, 2009 at 8:26 pm #140150when using quickstart for install, i get this error after choosing the language to english, cannot get past the next interface where this error is shown. The message refers to cookies also, but cookies are enabled in two different browsers (tried both).
Probably a server issue?
cannot alter php.ini. need solution for this installation specific. have pother joomla on this server that work without fastcgi. could that be an issue?fastCGI, php 5+, apache,
Phill ModeratorPhill
- Join date:
- February 2014
- Posts:
- 7013
- Downloads:
- 40
- Uploads:
- 77
- Thanks:
- 917
- Thanked:
- 2206 times in 1818 posts
April 10, 2009 at 9:07 pm #300860Yes, it is a server issue. You need to speak to your host to get it sorted.
mneese Friendmneese
- Join date:
- November 2008
- Posts:
- 148
- Downloads:
- 19
- Uploads:
- 0
- Thanks:
- 36
- Thanked:
- 7 times in 1 posts
April 10, 2009 at 9:31 pm #300863I am the host! How about the administrator in the sky?
Phill ModeratorPhill
- Join date:
- February 2014
- Posts:
- 7013
- Downloads:
- 40
- Uploads:
- 77
- Thanks:
- 917
- Thanked:
- 2206 times in 1818 posts
April 10, 2009 at 9:49 pm #300864Assuming my crystal ball is working properly (which it isn’t or I would have known you are self hosting) and the full message is what I think it is (hard to tell as you have only posted bits of it) then you need to set your sessions save path and make sure it is writable by the script
You can set the path either in php.ini or in a .htaccess . There are plenty of articles available via Google that will explain it far more eloquently than I can.
Then you just need to make sure the directory is writable through the chown command assuming you are on a linux server.
1 user says Thank You to Phill for this useful post
mj1256 Friendmj1256
- Join date:
- June 2007
- Posts:
- 1473
- Downloads:
- 10
- Uploads:
- 35
- Thanks:
- 84
- Thanked:
- 225 times in 118 posts
April 10, 2009 at 11:20 pm #300870no, put it in globals
<?php
ini_set(‘session.save_path’,’/tmp/’);
/**
* @version $Id: globals.php 7424 2007-05-17 15:56:10Z robs $
* @package Joomla
* @copyright Copyright (C) 2005 Open Source Matters. All rights reserved.
* @license http://www.gnu.org/copyleft/gpl.html GNU/GPL, see LICENSE.php
* Joomla! is free software and parts of it may contain or be derived from the
* GNU General Public License or other free or open source software licenses.
* See COPYRIGHT.php for copyright notices and details.
*/// no direct access
or, actually write the path
<?php
ini_set(‘session.save_path’,’/home/accountname/tmp’);
/**
* @version $Id: globals.php 7424 2007-05-17 15:56:10Z robs $
* @package Joomla
* @copyright Copyright (C) 2005 Open Source Matters. All rights reserved.
* @license http://www.gnu.org/copyleft/gpl.html GNU/GPL, see LICENSE.php
* Joomla! is free software and parts of it may contain or be derived from the
* GNU General Public License or other free or open source software licenses.
* See COPYRIGHT.php for copyright notices and details.
*/// no direct access
mneese Friendmneese
- Join date:
- November 2008
- Posts:
- 148
- Downloads:
- 19
- Uploads:
- 0
- Thanks:
- 36
- Thanked:
- 7 times in 1 posts
April 10, 2009 at 11:30 pm #300871I gave a thank you -phil- because you’re correct (i have seen the endless stuff about these issues) but when i start editing the php ini file, it is affecting the entire server (right?) and not just the particular installation.
I have not completed the installation, so is the htaccess file editable at this point? And would it have any effect?
I will try the htaccess file next.
I guess the real question is why me (?), and why this installation (?) because i have installed several other quickstarts and not had the issue (same server) just different issues.mj1256 Friendmj1256
- Join date:
- June 2007
- Posts:
- 1473
- Downloads:
- 10
- Uploads:
- 35
- Thanks:
- 84
- Thanked:
- 225 times in 118 posts
April 11, 2009 at 12:18 am #300873not in php.ini or in the htaccess
in the php it will effect every site on your server
put this
ini_set(‘session.save_path’,’/home/accountname/tmp’);right after your <?php in globals.ini
for that particular joomla installationI have to do this all the time
Phill ModeratorPhill
- Join date:
- February 2014
- Posts:
- 7013
- Downloads:
- 40
- Uploads:
- 77
- Thanks:
- 917
- Thanked:
- 2206 times in 1818 posts
April 11, 2009 at 7:46 am #300900It all depends on your particular server setup. Nothing wrong with having a global sessions save path on a Linux server especially if you have a path on the file system that handles lots of small files efficiently.
Using globals.ini means you have to edit it all the time.
I would suggest you look at your phpinfo fo a working install and then for the one that doesn’t work to find out where the server is getting confused.
mj1256 Friendmj1256
- Join date:
- June 2007
- Posts:
- 1473
- Downloads:
- 10
- Uploads:
- 35
- Thanks:
- 84
- Thanked:
- 225 times in 118 posts
April 11, 2009 at 3:40 pm #300946Your right, you would have to edit the globals for each installation, it takes a second and for those that do not have access to the php.ini, and most people do not, it is a quick and easy soluttion
if your host provides your with cpanel accelerated you can set the saved path inder
software / services / php.ini EZComfigyou still need to do it for each site, so globals or here, its still a step to do.
Your host could set it globally on the server, but as that effects everyones site, its unlikely that they will do it..
mneese Friendmneese
- Join date:
- November 2008
- Posts:
- 148
- Downloads:
- 19
- Uploads:
- 0
- Thanks:
- 36
- Thanked:
- 7 times in 1 posts
April 12, 2009 at 1:19 am #300995where is the globals.ini file? Is this in the joomla directory?
Or is this globals.php. I can’t find either one…mneese Friendmneese
- Join date:
- November 2008
- Posts:
- 148
- Downloads:
- 19
- Uploads:
- 0
- Thanks:
- 36
- Thanked:
- 7 times in 1 posts
April 12, 2009 at 5:01 pm #301032I figured this out, the globals.ini file is actually the install.php. thanks everyone fro your help.
mneese Friendmneese
- Join date:
- November 2008
- Posts:
- 148
- Downloads:
- 19
- Uploads:
- 0
- Thanks:
- 36
- Thanked:
- 7 times in 1 posts
May 31, 2009 at 1:11 am #306274The real culprit which seems to be missing from the “not real solutions” here and on the Joomla site is the fact that whatever the sessions save file that is designated in the php.ini file is the right one.
BUT….if you are on a server which has apache being used as cgi or fcgi (suPHP or suEXEC) then the path directory MUST have permissions changed so that “other” users may write to the designated directory. Anything else is a workaround and randomly changing PHP.ini files can be creating other unseen issues.In my case, the directory designated for the session-save-path was simply writable only for apache and root, whereas my server was running apache as fcgi, therefore the permissions were blocked, leading to the sessions_save_path error upon installation.
In most cases, the sessions-save-path would be designated in the php.ini file as /temp, which is by nature assigned 777. My particular server had a more secure session_save_path, thus the problem.
The point i am trying to make is workarounds and hacks may get the installation, but they may not solve the real problems.Phill ModeratorPhill
- Join date:
- February 2014
- Posts:
- 7013
- Downloads:
- 40
- Uploads:
- 77
- Thanks:
- 917
- Thanked:
- 2206 times in 1818 posts
May 31, 2009 at 8:26 am #306290Correct, I assumed that you would have checked permissions on that. The sessions save path doesn’t always have to be 777 though. As long as the correct owner of the directory is used and that owner has write permissions then things should be fine.
Glad you got it sorted.
mneese Friendmneese
- Join date:
- November 2008
- Posts:
- 148
- Downloads:
- 19
- Uploads:
- 0
- Thanks:
- 36
- Thanked:
- 7 times in 1 posts
June 1, 2009 at 6:35 pm #306445thanks for your interest and continued posting on this issue.
It seems to be confusing to quite a few joomla users (on the joomla forums) and most of the “answers” are not addressing the cgi and FCGI implementation, therefore some solutions don’t work, especially the .htaccess, and php.ini alterations when your basic permissions are not including users other than root and apache.I tried many configurations till it finally dawned on me what the basic issue was. And if you are running multiple joomla sites on the server, the “users” are actually the particular users for each site, therefore the “others” must enabled, allowing all the sites (as users) proper installation.
1 user says Thank You to mneese for this useful post
-
AuthorPosts
This topic contains 14 replies, has 3 voices, and was last updated by mneese 15 years, 5 months ago.
We moved to new unified forum. Please post all new support queries in our New Forum