-
AuthorPosts
-
December 11, 2012 at 1:13 pm #183019
Hi..
In K2 when viewing item within the popup. if you click on any of the social icons.
it adds the the link + tmpl=component,
Has anybody figured out a way to stop this..
as its joke, that JA never even bothered to check this..direct link = domain.com/item/articlename
pop up link = domain.com/item/articlename?tmpl=component – NO GOOD AS A BACK LINKarucardx Friendarucardx
- Join date:
- July 2010
- Posts:
- 346
- Downloads:
- 0
- Uploads:
- 10
- Thanks:
- 21
- Thanked:
- 138 times in 104 posts
December 11, 2012 at 2:38 pm #475859I raised this issue before and there was a solution for the social buttons in this thread.
http://www.joomlart.com/forums/topic/facebook-url-problem-with-tmplcomponent/But I weren’t able to resolve the issue for comment system and so I can’t use any in my pop up. Facebook comment box works but when you attempt to add a admin ID to moderate the comment box, you see your like button’s feed will say “user liked page on app_name” instead of page name. Stupid Facebook API >_>
1 user says Thank You to arucardx for this useful post
December 12, 2012 at 12:15 pm #475990hi..
Thanks for the reply.. but from what i can see in the link you sent is:
1. Turn off the popup feature, Pointless.. the main reason for using the theme..
or
2. making the social links go back to just the homepage thats pointless too..
need to link back tot he correct page where it was clicked from..
none of what i see is acceptable.. so really there is no real solution yet..Think im gonna look for a refund..
Wouldnt mind if it was included in normal package..
but for it to be sold separate and then no even checked for bugs like this..arucardx Friendarucardx
- Join date:
- July 2010
- Posts:
- 346
- Downloads:
- 0
- Uploads:
- 10
- Thanks:
- 21
- Thanked:
- 138 times in 104 posts
December 13, 2012 at 3:36 am #476062Hi mapp,
I understand how you feel now, to be honest I too am planning to dump JA Wall after 4 months of developing for many reasons, the major reason being I don’t understand why a template inspired by Pinterest has neither a submission component nor even a contact form (Despite having a registration form for purpose which I am unclear). Requiring me to build my own responsive contact form when other templates in the normal package already comes default with one >_>
For a purchase for what seems like the Joomla version of Pinterest, this has turned out to be a big joke with developers more interested to develop new template styles rather than adding new functionality and overall improvements to keep it a featured/cutting edge template. Without a submission system, JA Wall is just a joke. I believe this template was build with the core idea to pull content from RSS or external sources but the lack of instant support for the Feed plugin (which is not even robust enough) only adds more salt to the injury.
But if your problem is simply the social button itself then it can be solved very easily, there is no need to seek a refund for this.
My guess is you are using K2 and the included social button options, thus the problem. Now those default coding did not specify the data-href value which I am unclear why. The fault is with K2 Team yes, but its also interesting why Joomlart Team didn’t brother to check this while making the template overwrite.
Either way, because data-href is not defined, the url of the instances is used instead which in this case caused an extra tmpl=component at the back of the url.
So the only way to resolve that (for social buttons only) is to add the data-href=”<?php echo $this->item->link; ?>” to specify a direct link instead. This fix should work for every social button that supports the data-href parameter. They might call it something else but the general concept is still the same with the exception of Disqus.
1 user says Thank You to arucardx for this useful post
Wall Crasher DeveloperWall Crasher
- Join date:
- December 2011
- Posts:
- 1113
- Downloads:
- 0
- Uploads:
- 15
- Thanks:
- 66
- Thanked:
- 361 times in 300 posts
December 13, 2012 at 9:25 am #476104Hi,
Thanks @arucardx
@mapp
If you do not want to use popup, you can disabled it via Template Manager.And here the post how to add social button to article with data-href describe above.
http://www.joomlart.com/forums/topic/facebook-url-problem-with-tmplcomponent/#post-468145
Hope it helps.
Regards
December 13, 2012 at 11:33 am #476120<em>@Wall Crasher 350425 wrote:</em><blockquote>Hi,
Thanks @arucardx
@mapp
If you do not want to use popup, you can disabled it via Template Manager.And here the post how to add social button to article with data-href describe above.
http://www.joomlart.com/forums/topic/facebook-url-problem-with-tmplcomponent/#post-468145
Hope it helps.
Regards</blockquote>
im working with k2.. but the link you sent me…
only give the website address http://www.youdomain.com
maybe im not getting it wrong. but whats the point in that..
the back link need to be the article itselfDecember 13, 2012 at 12:08 pm #476123ok i see. thanks. for that help..
arucardx Friendarucardx
- Join date:
- July 2010
- Posts:
- 346
- Downloads:
- 0
- Uploads:
- 10
- Thanks:
- 21
- Thanked:
- 138 times in 104 posts
December 13, 2012 at 12:57 pm #476125Mapp, you don’t need to use that complicated code since ?tmpl=component itself is added via javascript to the end of the URL rather than in the actual URL instead. So in this case, we simply need to echo the actual url instead of having to remove ?tmpl=component from the instance’s url. The complicated code is however useful for situation where the actual url cannot be echo, though I don’t see how in Joomla there would be such a situtation.
Just use this
[PHP]data-href=”<?php echo $this->item->link; ?>”[/PHP]December 13, 2012 at 1:25 pm #476129thx Arucadx
But not matter i do with that sample code. it only give me the back link to the homepage and not the article itself. not sure why.
but i have added this for the meantime.. which hides the social block if viewed via the popup… and then display it normally if they view without the popup..ie in catagory mode..[PHP]
<?phpif (strpos($_SERVER[‘REQUEST_URI’], ‘?tmpl=component’) == false) {
echo ‘<div id=”socialdiv”> BITS IN HERE </div>’;}
?>
[/PHP]not the best solution. but it works for now..
arucardx Friendarucardx
- Join date:
- July 2010
- Posts:
- 346
- Downloads:
- 0
- Uploads:
- 10
- Thanks:
- 21
- Thanked:
- 138 times in 104 posts
December 13, 2012 at 1:37 pm #476130Actually mapp, I apologies for I just realize that the example I gave you is wrong even though you did not use it.
That is a interesting workabout that I did consider before but that will only cause user confusion and still defeat the purpose of the having pop up enabled. Let me give you the example code for twitter that I am using on my website since its the easiest button to test and check the url output.
This is the original default code being used in K2.
[PHP] <?php if($this->item->params->get(‘itemTwitterButton’,1)): ?>
<!– Twitter Button –>
<div class=”itemTwitterButton”>
<a href=”https://twitter.com/share” class=”twitter-share-button” data-count=”horizontal”<?php if($this->item->params->get(‘twitterUsername’)): ?> data-via=”<?php echo $this->item->params->get(‘twitterUsername’); ?>”<?php endif; ?>><?php echo JText::_(‘K2_TWEET’); ?></a><script type=”text/javascript” src=”//platform.twitter.com/widgets.js”></script>
</div>
<?php endif; ?>[/PHP]Now this is the modified version.
[PHP] <?php if($this->item->params->get(‘itemTwitterButton’,1)): ?>
<!– Twitter Button –>
<div class=”itemTwitterButton”>
<a href=”https://twitter.com/share” class=”twitter-share-button” data-url=”<?php echo substr(JURI::root(),0,-1).str_replace(JURI::root(true),”,$this->item->link); ?>” data-count=”horizontal”<?php if($this->item->params->get(‘twitterUsername’)): ?> data-via=”<?php echo $this->item->params->get(‘twitterUsername’); ?>”<?php endif; ?>><?php echo JText::_(‘K2_TWEET’); ?></a><script type=”text/javascript” src=”//platform.twitter.com/widgets.js”></script>
</div>
<?php endif; ?>[/PHP]You can see that I added an extra code
[PHP]data-url=”<?php echo substr(JURI::root(),0,-1).str_replace(JURI::root(true),”,$this->item->link); ?>”[/PHP]For google+1 and facebook like, it’s href instead of data-url. There is no reason to compromise when there is a perfectly sounded solution that can be implemented at no cost.
December 13, 2012 at 1:40 pm #476131hi..
ok great.. will give it a go..
many thanks..also. just another question..
incase have the same.. on any of the social bookmarks,
i get blank image. due to the lazy load.. any ideasarucardx Friendarucardx
- Join date:
- July 2010
- Posts:
- 346
- Downloads:
- 0
- Uploads:
- 10
- Thanks:
- 21
- Thanked:
- 138 times in 104 posts
December 13, 2012 at 2:44 pm #476137Ah the blank image problem, that is because Joomlart refuse to implement the proper fix in the lazyload despite having reported it along with the fix months ago. To be fair, they did at one point attempt to fix it but implemented og name instead of og property and somehow that took months to be corrected despite once again being told.
The change log for the latest version of lazyload which was released few days ago mentions about the property fix so you might want to give it a try. And also, Facebook keeps cache of indexed pages so you will need to phase the url through the debugger to get Facebook to reindex the new changes right away.
It is unclear how long Facebook keeps the cache though, but its more than a week.
1 user says Thank You to arucardx for this useful post
-
AuthorPosts
This topic contains 12 replies, has 3 voices, and was last updated by arucardx 11 years, 11 months ago.
We moved to new unified forum. Please post all new support queries in our New Forum