-
AuthorPosts
-
November 3, 2008 at 1:58 am #135018
I am doing some testing on a new site and have been working with JA_Teline II…
Can someone tell me what the parameters are that allow the grey “Read More” button to appear on Section and Category pages in Joomla 1.5?
I have selected the parameter in the JA NEWS module to show “read more” but it does not appear.
Thanks.
Sherlock FriendSherlock
- Join date:
- September 2014
- Posts:
- 11453
- Downloads:
- 0
- Uploads:
- 88
- Thanks:
- 221
- Thanked:
- 2478 times in 2162 posts
November 3, 2008 at 7:26 am #277873I should have added that I do have the article manager parameters set to show “read more” and still it does not work.
I have also checked the blog_item.php file (modules/mod_janews/tmpl) but didn’t see anything unusual… here it is – let me know if this looks correct:
[PHP]<?php
//get Itemid of category
if ($catorsec) {
$catlink = JRoute::_(ContentHelperRoute::getCategoryRoute($rows[0]->catslug, $rows[0]->sectionid));
}else{
$catlink = JRoute::_(ContentHelperRoute::getSectionRoute($rows[0]->sectionid));
}$cattitle = ($catorsec) ? $rows[0]->cattitle:$rows[0]->sectitle;
$catdesc = ($catorsec) ? $rows[0]->catdesc:$rows[0]->secdesc;$cls_sufix = trim($params->get(‘blog_theme’,”));
if($cls_sufix) $cls_sufix = ‘-‘.$cls_sufix;
?>
<div class=”jazin-boxwrap jazin-theme<?php echo $cls_sufix;?>”>
<div class=”jazin-box”>
<?php if ($showcattitle) : ?>
<div class=”jazin-section clearfix”>
<a href=”<?php echo $catlink;?>” title=”<?php echo trim(strip_tags($catdesc));?>”>
<span><?php echo $cattitle;?></span>
</a>
</div>
<?php endif; ?>
<?php
$i = 0;
while($i < $introitems && $i<count($rows)) {
$row = $rows[$i];
$link = JRoute::_(ContentHelperRoute::getArticleRoute($row->slug, $row->catslug, $row->sectionid));
$image = modJANewsHelper::replaceImage ($row, $img_align, $autoresize, $maxchars, $showimage, $img_w, $img_h, $hiddenClasses);
//Show the latest news
?>
<div class=”jazin-content clearfix”>
<h4 class=”jazin-title”><a href=”<?php echo $link;?>” title=”<?php echo strip_tags($row->title);?>”><?php echo $row->title;?></a></h4>
<?php if ($showimage) : ?>
<?php echo $image; ?>
<?php endif; ?>
<?php
if($maxchars > strlen($row->introtext1)) {
echo $row->introtext;
} else {
echo $row->introtext1;
}
?>
<?php if ($showreadmore) : ?>
<a href=”<?php echo $link; ?>” class=”readon” title=”<?php echo JText::sprintf(‘Read more…’);?>”><?php echo JText::sprintf(‘Read more…’);?></a>
<?php endif; ?>
</div>
<?php
$i++;
}if (count ($rows) > $i) {
echo “<strong class=”jazin-more”>More:</strong>n”;
echo “<ul class=”jazin-links”>n”;while (count ($rows) > $i) {
$row = $rows[$i];
$link = JRoute::_(ContentHelperRoute::getArticleRoute($row->slug, $row->catslug, $row->sectionid.”:testset”));
?>
<li>
<a title=”<?php echo strip_tags($row->introtext); ?>” href=”<?php echo $link; ?>”>
<?php echo $row->title; ?></a>
</li>
<?php
$i++;
}
echo “</ul>n”;
}
?>
</div>
</div>[/PHP]questbg Friendquestbg
- Join date:
- May 2008
- Posts:
- 1912
- Downloads:
- 0
- Uploads:
- 1
- Thanks:
- 146
- Thanked:
- 339 times in 197 posts
November 3, 2008 at 7:31 am #277874A very basic question … have you actually placed the ‘Read More’ code into the articles?
mfcphil Friendmfcphil
- Join date:
- September 2007
- Posts:
- 2866
- Downloads:
- 3
- Uploads:
- 218
- Thanks:
- 211
- Thanked:
- 388 times in 133 posts
November 3, 2008 at 8:25 am #277882You may have to turn off your editor while you enter your read more code
November 3, 2008 at 4:17 pm #277921questbg: Fair question. Yes the code is in the articles and appears as <hr id=”system-readmore” />
November 3, 2008 at 4:19 pm #277922mfcphil: By default, I have the editor turned off in Global configuration
November 3, 2008 at 8:49 pm #277952Any other suggested parameters or code I should look at?
questbg Friendquestbg
- Join date:
- May 2008
- Posts:
- 1912
- Downloads:
- 0
- Uploads:
- 1
- Thanks:
- 146
- Thanked:
- 339 times in 197 posts
November 4, 2008 at 4:45 am #277983Did you install the Quickstart with Demo articles? This is what I did and everything worked like the demo of the template (including the Read More) and then I customised the site from that. May be worth installing the demo site to see if that works.
November 4, 2008 at 6:21 pm #278063Yes, originally, but I also did some integration with Community Builder (which is going pretty well) but I suspect that I did something somewhere to knock off the “Read more” text and I can’t figure out at this point what parameters or code would effect the section and category pages this way. Suggestions welcome.
November 4, 2008 at 6:24 pm #278064By the way questbg, your site looks fantastic!
mfcphil Friendmfcphil
- Join date:
- September 2007
- Posts:
- 2866
- Downloads:
- 3
- Uploads:
- 218
- Thanks:
- 211
- Thanked:
- 388 times in 133 posts
November 4, 2008 at 7:53 pm #278067This is an old thread….it may help
http://www.joomlart.com/forums/topic/solved-but-forgot-the-no-wysiwygthe-read-more-button/
questbg Friendquestbg
- Join date:
- May 2008
- Posts:
- 1912
- Downloads:
- 0
- Uploads:
- 1
- Thanks:
- 146
- Thanked:
- 339 times in 197 posts
November 5, 2008 at 6:21 am #278120Hi chicorp
<em>@chicorp 89366 wrote:</em><blockquote>By the way questbg, your site looks fantastic!</blockquote>
Many thanks, my first attempt at a Joomla site! 🙂
<em>@chicorp 89077 wrote:</em><blockquote>I have selected the parameter in the JA NEWS module to show “read more” but it does not appear.
</blockquote>Very strange. On my site I’ve set this to “Hide” but it works just fine in the category and section pages:
I think the only other way of ‘globally’ switching off the Read More is in the Article Parameters. If you go to Article Manager, then click on the Parameters icon on the top right.
Check that the ‘Read more… Link’ field is set to ‘Show’.
Maybe you could try copy my settings above and see what happens!!
Good Luck
Chris -
AuthorPosts
This topic contains 13 replies, has 4 voices, and was last updated by questbg 16 years ago.
We moved to new unified forum. Please post all new support queries in our New Forum