Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 21 total)
  • Author
    Posts
  • arckoo Friend
    #169157

    Hello,

    Where do I change the logo in JA Rave? I thought it was in templates/ja_rave/images but since nothing is changing in the frontend… 😛

    TomC Moderator
    #415978

    <em>@arckoo 271836 wrote:</em><blockquote>Hello,

    Where do I change the logo in JA Rave? I thought it was in templates/ja_rave/images but since nothing is changing in the frontend… :P</blockquote>

    Perhaps this tutorial (from within the JoomlArt Tutorials Section) might be of assistance . . .

    HOW TO CHANGE TEMPLATE LOGO

    😎

    arckoo Friend
    #416046

    Thanks! I’ll give it a try 😉

    TomC Moderator
    #416079

    <em>@arckoo 271927 wrote:</em><blockquote>Thanks! I’ll give it a try ;)</blockquote>

    Just wanted to follow-up to see if the tutorial method worked for you.

    arckoo Friend
    #416086

    Hey Tom,

    Yes, it worked perfectly.. thanks! I do have two others questions about this though:

    1) how do you change the link behind the logo. Now it’s default is set to link to the homepage. what if I want to link to another page?
    2) how do you remove the logo completely and consequently: if I also disable the search module, how do I remove the white space that stays behind, so the slideshow moves up towards the top menu?

    TomC Moderator
    #416090

    cHey Tom,

    Yes, it worked perfectly.. thanks! I do have two others questions about this though:

    1) how do you change the link behind the logo. Now it’s default is set to link to the homepage. what if I want to link to another page?

    Perhaps you could try it the following way (NOTE: the url is used for example purposes only) . . . .. . . . .

    { background-image: url(http://static.joomlart.com/t3/logo/t3_logo_light.png); }

    Replace the current url within the above example with the url/link you are wanting to use – as well as the path to your image.
    Then, cut-and-paste it into the css you identified above.

    make sense?

    TomC Moderator
    #416099

    <em>@arckoo 271968 wrote:</em><blockquote>
    2) how do you remove the logo completely and consequently: if I also disable the search module, how do I remove the white space that stays behind, so the slideshow moves up towards the top menu?</blockquote>

    So you do not want a logo at all ??

    If so, then what you would need to do is remove the div altogether – which is likely located within a header.php file within your core structure.

    For example, I worked a bit with a JA RAVE J1.5 site, and the code controlling the logo is found within the following path:

    plugins/system/jat3/base-themes/default/blocks/header.php


    <?php
    $app = & JFactory::getApplication();
    $siteName = $app->getCfg('sitename');
    if ($this->getParam('logoType', 'image')=='image'): ?>
    <h1 class="logo">
    <a href="index.php" title="<?php echo $siteName; ?>"><span><?php echo $siteName; ?></span></a>
    </h1>
    <?php else:
    $logoText = (trim($this->getParam('logoText'))=='') ? $siteName : JText::_(trim($this->getParam('logoText')));
    $sloganText = JText::_(trim($this->getParam('sloganText'))); ?>
    <div class="logo-text">
    <h1><a href="index.php" title="<?php echo $siteName; ?>"><span><?php echo $logoText; ?></span></a></h1>
    <p class="site-slogan"><?php echo $sloganText;?></p>
    </div>
    <?php endif; ?>

    Now, if I wanted to remove the logo div/function altogether (not likely reommended in the long run), I could simply delete the above code from the header.php file.

    The easier/safer way would be to remove the background image for the logo css rule …. and then, after you disable the search module, adjust the header css to reduce it’s height parameter.

    arckoo Friend
    #416104

    Absolutely makes sense… thanks. Only… where can I find this code { background-image: url(http://static.joomlart.com/t3/logo/t3_logo_light.png); } ? In template.css?

    arckoo Friend
    #416107

    Great… thanks again! Since I’m only a bit familiar with html, I wouldn’t have figured this one (removing the logo all together) out without your help. But where/in what file do I adjust the header css to reduce it’s height parameter?

    And why wouldn’t you recommend to remove it in the long run? It’s not that I don’t want to have a logo, it’s only that the logo I’ve made is too large to fit in that space (I can make it fit now but it doesn’t look right). So I was thinking about moving the logo to the bottom right corner of the template. I still have the home-button in the menu, so that pretty much solves the whole issue then 😉

    TomC Moderator
    #416109

    <em>@arckoo 271987 wrote:</em><blockquote>Absolutely makes sense… thanks. Only… where can I find this code { background-image: url(http://static.joomlart.com/t3/logo/t3_logo_light.png); } ? In template.css?</blockquote>

    I only used that particular code as an example, not as the actual code replacement solution.

    So, you would need to change the above to fit YOUR intended link and logo path – for example . . .

    url(http://yoursite.com/templates/ja_rave/images/yourlogo.png);

    . . . and then insert THAT into the background image parameter for the css for the logo

    make sense?

    arckoo Friend
    #416114

    <em>@TomC 271982 wrote:</em><blockquote>The easier/safer way would be to remove the background image for the logo css rule …. and then, after you disable the search module, adjust the header css to reduce it’s height parameter.</blockquote>

    Like you say: with some trial and error I managed to get it the way I like. I had a small problem with the image being removed, but the link was still visible once I moved my cursor over it. By making the space smaller that too dissappeared 🙂

    Thanks for your help in this matter!

    TomC Moderator
    #416120

    <em>@arckoo 271997 wrote:</em><blockquote>Like you say: with some trial and error I managed to get it the way I like. I had a small problem with the image being removed, but the link was still visible once I moved my cursor over it. By making the space smaller that too dissappeared 🙂

    Thanks for your help in this matter!</blockquote>
    That’s what we’re here for . . . Keep up the good work with your continued site development !!

    😎

    frodojrr Friend
    #416126

    <em>@TomC 271840 wrote:</em><blockquote>Perhaps this tutorial (from within the JoomlArt Tutorials Section) might be of assistance . . .

    HOW TO CHANGE TEMPLATE LOGO

    :cool:</blockquote>

    Honestly, I did this. My logo is still the JA Purity logo.

    Cleared my cache twice on two browsers.

    http://host.enewspf.com/~quality/index.php

    I am stumped.

    TomC Moderator
    #416129

    <em>@arckoo 272013 wrote:</em><blockquote>Thanks! Adjusted the height parameter to zero and now it looks exactly the way I want it… great!</blockquote>

    As I have always said . . . a little trial-and-error can go a very long way.

    With each step you take, and each new technique you learn/discover, you enrich your own personal knowledge and skill in working with not only JoomlArt products, but with various PHP and CSS web development techniques. EXACTLY how I started.

    KEEP UP THE GREAT WORK !!!

    😀

    arckoo Friend
    #416130

    <em>@TomC 272003 wrote:</em><blockquote>That’s what we’re here for </blockquote>

    Yeah… but I can imagine people like me are really testing your patience haha 😉

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 21 total)

This topic contains 21 replies, has 3 voices, and was last updated by  TomC 13 years, 1 month ago.

We moved to new unified forum. Please post all new support queries in our New Forum