-
AuthorPosts
-
phicts Friend
phicts
- Join date:
- June 2011
- Posts:
- 85
- Downloads:
- 0
- Uploads:
- 10
- Thanks:
- 26
- Thanked:
- 3 times in 1 posts
November 8, 2011 at 9:56 am #170495Where do i put specifically the Yahoo tracking code manually in my ja template (i’m using ja_social for Joomla 1.7) so that all my pages and articles will be crawled/tracked by Yahoo.
I have already added the Google analytics code using a plugin but I can’t find a reliable one for Yahoo so i want to put it manually for now. I’ve read it should be placed in the template’s index.php while some say it should be in the header.php.
Where are those files in ja-templates? Please provide some links or example code to set these.
Lastly, can Bing and other analytics/tracking codes be put in the same file?
Thanks in advance.
khoand Friendkhoand
- Join date:
- February 2011
- Posts:
- 4500
- Downloads:
- 0
- Uploads:
- 179
- Thanks:
- 169
- Thanked:
- 1166 times in 1060 posts
November 8, 2011 at 10:13 am #423654You the code into /templates/your-template/blocks/head.php file. If file is not available, you copy /plugins/system/jat3/jat3/base-themes/default/blocks/head.php file to /templates/your-template/blocks/ and edit it.
1 user says Thank You to khoand for this useful post
phicts Friendphicts
- Join date:
- June 2011
- Posts:
- 85
- Downloads:
- 0
- Uploads:
- 10
- Thanks:
- 26
- Thanked:
- 3 times in 1 posts
November 8, 2011 at 11:18 am #423659Thank you very much khoand. I’m doing it now and will report back. You are very good.
phicts Friendphicts
- Join date:
- June 2011
- Posts:
- 85
- Downloads:
- 0
- Uploads:
- 10
- Thanks:
- 26
- Thanked:
- 3 times in 1 posts
November 8, 2011 at 12:29 pm #423665I only have header.php, not head.php on my ja_social template for J1.7. Are the files the same?
I am not sure where exactly to put the meta / code. The content of my header.php is,
[PHP]<?php
/*
* ————————————————————————
* JA Social Template for J17
* ————————————————————————
* Copyright (C) 2004-2011 J.O.O.M Solutions Co., Ltd. All Rights Reserved.
* @license – Copyrighted Commercial Software
* Author: J.O.O.M Solutions Co., Ltd
* Websites: http://www.joomlart.com – http://www.joomlancers.com
* This file may not be redistributed in whole or significant part.
* ————————————————————————
*/
?><?php $this->genBlockBegin ($block) ?>
<?php
$app = & JFactory::getApplication();
$siteName = $app->getCfg(‘sitename’);
if ($this->getParam(‘logoType’, ‘image’)==’image’): ?>
<h1 class=”logo”>
<a href=”index.php” title=”<?php echo $siteName; ?>”><span><?php echo $siteName; ?></span></a>
</h1>
<?php else:
$logoText = (trim($this->getParam(‘logoText’))==”) ? $siteName : JText::_(trim($this->getParam(‘logoText’)));
$sloganText = JText::_(trim($this->getParam(‘sloganText’))); ?>
<div class=”logo-text”>
<h1><a href=”index.php” title=”<?php echo $siteName; ?>”><span><?php echo $logoText; ?></span></a></h1>
<p class=”site-slogan”><?php echo $sloganText;?></p>
</div>
<?php endif; ?><?php if($this->countModules(‘search’)) : ?>
<div id=”ja-search”>
<jdoc:include type=”modules” name=”search” />
</div>
<?php endif; ?><?php $this->genBlockEnd ($block) ?>[/PHP]
Thanks again.phicts Friendphicts
- Join date:
- June 2011
- Posts:
- 85
- Downloads:
- 0
- Uploads:
- 10
- Thanks:
- 26
- Thanked:
- 3 times in 1 posts
November 9, 2011 at 9:14 am #423783Bentle bump. up for this thread. I wish to get your feedback if i did it properly or correctly. I tried putting the code to header.php but i get errors. So i put it in below <jdoc:include type=”head” /> of the head.php file found in /plugins/system/jat3/jat3/base-themes/default/blocks/head.php as you can see below and it appears now in all of my pages.
[PHP]<?php
/**
* ————————————————————————
* JA T3 System plugin for Joomla 1.7
* ————————————————————————
* Copyright (C) 2004-2011 J.O.O.M Solutions Co., Ltd. All Rights Reserved.
* @license – GNU/GPL, http://www.gnu.org/licenses/gpl.html
* Author: J.O.O.M Solutions Co., Ltd
* Websites: http://www.joomlart.com – http://www.joomlancers.com
* ————————————————————————
*/
?>
<script type=”text/javascript”>
var siteurl='<?php echo JURI::base(true) ?>/’;
var tmplurl='<?php echo JURI::base(true).”/templates/”.T3_ACTIVE_TEMPLATE ?>/’;
var isRTL = <?php echo $this->isRTL()?’true’:’false’ ?>;
</script><jdoc:include type=”head” />
<meta name=”y_key” content=”298b4d7efc58f148″ />
<meta name=”google-site-verification” content=”bPN0S-IRDFn7Hm_GT3sz4K6Mv0WfIP7KE_Tf5M1sRKg” />
<meta name=”alexaVerifyID” content=”PRAXzWvjIhtN8B9GdKvqyBsH_TY” />
<meta name=”msvalidate.01″ content=”CD12562640A45E7907E852233B17EE26″ /><?php if (T3Common::mobile_device_detect()==’iphone’):?>
<meta name=”viewport” content=”width=device-width; initial-scale=1.0; maximum-scale=1; user-scalable=1;” />
<meta name=”apple-touch-fullscreen” content=”YES” />
<?php endif;?><?php if (T3Common::mobile_device_detect()):?>
<meta name=”HandheldFriendly” content=”true” />
<?php endif;?><link href=”<?php echo T3Path::getUrl(‘images/favicon.ico’) ?>” rel=”shortcut icon” type=”image/x-icon” />
<?php JHTML::stylesheet (”, ‘templates/system/css/system.css’) ?>
<?php JHTML::stylesheet (”, ‘templates/system/css/general.css’) ?>
[/PHP]Is this the correct way to do it? Do i still have to copy the head.php file from the plugin folder to location in the template folder?
I am also now confused if these keys or codes are only verification codes or will also serve as the tracking codes so that my pages will appear on the search engines.
Please explain or clarify the correct or proper way to do this. Thanks a lot.
khoand Friendkhoand
- Join date:
- February 2011
- Posts:
- 4500
- Downloads:
- 0
- Uploads:
- 179
- Thanks:
- 169
- Thanked:
- 1166 times in 1060 posts
November 9, 2011 at 3:24 pm #423821Is this the correct way to do it? Do i still have to copy the head.php file from the plugin folder to location in the template folder?
Yes, it is. But, you should copy head.php to /templates/ja_social/blocks/. Because if you update JA Framework, it may override /plugins/system/jat3/jat3/base-themes/default/blocks/head.php.
I am also now confused if these keys or codes are only verification codes or will also serve as the tracking codes so that my pages will appear on the search engines.
I don’t understand what you mean clearly. But I haven’t used Yahoo analytics/tracking code and I have no experience of SEO. I just know where code is added into.
1 user says Thank You to khoand for this useful post
phicts Friendphicts
- Join date:
- June 2011
- Posts:
- 85
- Downloads:
- 0
- Uploads:
- 10
- Thanks:
- 26
- Thanked:
- 3 times in 1 posts
November 11, 2011 at 1:28 am #424132OK, i will copy the file to the template’s folder. Now I know the reason why it should be copied. Sorry about my confusion, just forget it. I hope I can find a tutorial for it and will share with you if you’re interested.
Thank you very much khoand.
1 user says Thank You to phicts for this useful post
December 21, 2011 at 7:39 pm #430731Once I edit this where exactly does the file go and is okay when I put the file in it’s new place that it will overwrite the existing file
-
AuthorPosts
This topic contains 8 replies, has 3 voices, and was last updated by livingwellmagazine 12 years, 11 months ago.
We moved to new unified forum. Please post all new support queries in our New Forum